Poopli FAQ for AVS - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 193 Old 10-21-2004, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
MaxH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by gambit0
1) I don't understand what are Poopli points, even thought I clicked around the Poopli site to try and find out?
2) I am getting addicted to Foreign shows and I can't seem to get enough of them. So, far I get about six or seven shows on my ReplayTV and every time so far that I did a check, Show Data Base on Poopli, it only comes up with the shows that I have saved on my ReplayTV. What would be a good way to find foreign shows/films even with subtitles that I could leech and share?

To expand a bit on Tony's fine explanation, newbies start out listed like this:

gambit0(0/0)

If you've sent 9 shows to others and received 20 yourself, you'll appear like this:

gambit0(9/20)

So if I sent you a show, you would have one added to the second number and I would have one added to the first number, hence my sig. The numbers are only incremented once the show is marked complete.

This tells people not only how much you use Poopli, but how often you send vs. how often you receive. BTW, "leech" is usually used on Poopli not as a verb but as an adjective for people with no sends and more than 10 or 20 receives, although sends in the single digits and receives in the triple digits is not usually considered any better.

For foreign shows, I recommend you post something in the Show Talk forum on the Poopli Forum. Someone else just did something similar, asking "Will you be my TiVo?", referring to TiVo's feature of recommending new shows based on what you already record. Tell people what shows are getting you excited about foreign shows, and ask people what they'd recommend along those lines. And maybe see if there are discussion boards at sites that specialize in content, like www.TVTome.com, and find an old thread or start a new one about foreign shows.

Oh, and you are correct about what I call looping back a show as a manual recording, but that's usually too much trouble for most people. I do it to create short segments of shows that I might want to send to others, like my test clip and The Screen Savers segment on Poopli.

Psst, I got yer TV shows right here, buddy.
MaxH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 193 Old 10-21-2004, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
gambit0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles California
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I'm afraid of becoming one of those people, receiving 233 shows and sending 3. I seems like the shows I like are not the shows that other would want. Si Fi and foreign shows are my viewing passion because they are like a mini vacations and they broaden my mind/vision, like Two Thousand Acres of Sky, EastEnders, Waiting for God, As Time Goes By, Keeping Up Appearances, Fawlty Towers and Danish, Spanish, French, Arab, Chinese, Japanese, French, Northern & Eastern European films and shows where the people are really are down to earth, diverse and complex and occasionally a good documentary. I'm not sure why you recomended Tivo but I'm having difficulty finding the Show Talk Forum or the Poopli Forum.

Chronic Electronic/Computer/Techno Challenged. "Warning, do not underestimate my degree of ignorance"!
gambit0 is offline  
post #123 of 193 Old 10-21-2004, 08:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Norbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Show Talk Forum on poopli.com http://www.poopli.com/forum/forumdis...?s=&forumid=10

Norbert in Elk Grove
Host - Totally Cool Tech Podcast
http://www.totallycooltech.com
Norbert is offline  
post #124 of 193 Old 10-21-2004, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhargr03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know people much more knowledgeable than me have said you can only receive one show via IVS per RTV at a time, and I don't doubt them...I'm just wondering why when you select the 'Received' category it gives you the option of 'Pause Transfers'?
mhargr03 is offline  
post #125 of 193 Old 10-21-2004, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adone36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28
You can receive several. They go into a queue. When 1 finishes it starts taking the next. If Person #1 who is sending goes off line, your unit will start on Person #2 sending to you. When it finishes that it goes back to the first.

Sometimes if the 1st stops at 80% and then it switches to #2, I'll pause #2 and resume #1 so as to finish the first d/l and not keep the first guy's machine waiting to get it's chance again.

Tony
adone36 is offline  
post #126 of 193 Old 10-23-2004, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhargr03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gotcha...thanks!
mhargr03 is offline  
post #127 of 193 Old 10-25-2004, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mpsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 3,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Cable Modem and IVS was OK, but has anyone noticed that it now takes a very long time for a 2 hour show?

I also do not have myreplaytv set up as poopli wants as my IVS replay has stuff on it that we watch and delete.
mpsan is offline  
post #128 of 193 Old 10-26-2004, 11:25 AM
Newbie
 
PeteyBoy23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just sad that it won't work for my 5504. I had no idea before I ordered it, and wish I wouldn't have. Oh well.
PeteyBoy23 is offline  
post #129 of 193 Old 11-09-2004, 10:14 PM
Senior Member
 
BassKozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so I understand my RPTV 5080 can only receive one show at a time, but can send multiple shows (which is kinda stupid, but oh well ) ...

My question is this, what happens when someone trys to send you a show while you are already in the process of receiving another show from someone else ?

Does it not allow the transfer to go thru, and shoot back an error to the sender, or does it add it to a que ?
BassKozz is offline  
post #130 of 193 Old 11-10-2004, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhargr03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This question was answered if you scroll up about 4 posts
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...03#post4542003
mhargr03 is offline  
post #131 of 193 Old 11-10-2004, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
BassKozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oops thanx mhargr03

sorry
BassKozz is offline  
post #132 of 193 Old 11-13-2004, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
spydermonkey311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are their any security concerns when giving Poopli your username/password of you Myreplaytv.com account? Can any harm be done if someone got ahold of your RTV Key (not ID)?
spydermonkey311 is offline  
post #133 of 193 Old 11-27-2004, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
spydermonkey311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can I tell if IVS is down? I cant seem to connect to my RTV doing the IVS test connection. How can I tell if IVS itself is down, or its my RTV thats the problem?
spydermonkey311 is offline  
post #134 of 193 Old 11-27-2004, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhargr03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.lhaven.net/ivstest/

Look at the icon right above the IVS number input field. It says IVS Status is: ____. The thumbup icon means it is working.
mhargr03 is offline  
post #135 of 193 Old 11-27-2004, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
spydermonkey311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by mhargr03
http://www.lhaven.net/ivstest/

Look at the icon right above the IVS number input field. It says IVS Status is: ____. The thumbup icon means it is working.

Yep, thats the one i tested it out with.

I have never changed anything on my setup, and I have recieved shows before.

I cant get it to work know, I keep getting

500 Can't connect (connect: timeout)

If anyone has any suggestions, please post them.

My router is setup to forward the port to my Replay. Like I said, it worked before, and stopped working earlier this week.
spydermonkey311 is offline  
post #136 of 193 Old 11-29-2004, 05:58 PM
Member
 
jespring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Poopli Setup Frustration
I've been trying to get AVS to work on my 5040 all day with no luck.

My ReplayTV is connected to a Linksys BEFSR41 router. I have setup port forwarding correctly on the router (port 42999 is forwarding both TCP and UDP requests to 192.168.1.102), and have verified that the ISN (00004-54831-71947) is correct. I then did a 243-Zones to netconnect to make sure that IVS has my current IP, but I still get the following message back from the IVS test server:

Quote:


Asked ReplayTV server about unit at ISN 00004-54831-71947.

Found on Replay server.

The IP for your ReplayTV is 69.143.31.119
The Port for your ReplayTV is 42999
Unable to contact ReplayTV unit.
500 Can't connect to 69.143.31.119:42999 (connect: timeout)
Check your port forwarding settings.

I've checked and rechecked the port forwarding on my router by checking the "Ethernet" tab in the "System Information" menu, and have triple-checked the ISN info in the "Internet Identity and Address Book" tab.

I have Comcast cable internet... is this problem because I don't have a static IP? Any help would be appreciated... "Desperate Housewives" failed to record last night because Fox pushed "The Simpsons" back an hour, and I predict that my wife will commit spousicide if I don't get this show downloaded from Poopli soon.

Thanks!

jespring

EDIT: I've changed the port being forwarded to 29000 on the ReplayTV. Now when I type "http://192.168.1.102:29000/ivs-IVSGetUnitInfo" I get this:

Quote:




It seems like its working ok, at least within my LAN. Could it be because my Linksys router is sitting behind a Vonage Motorola router?

EDIT 2: Yup, Vonage was the culprit. The information in this thread helped me sort it out.

I love it when I have conversations with myself.
jespring is offline  
post #137 of 193 Old 11-29-2004, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
spydermonkey311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im having some trouble. Im using Poopi Updater, but when I click on "My SHows" under Account settings, I dont see any shows. Are there any settings Im suppose to configure to get this to work?
spydermonkey311 is offline  
post #138 of 193 Old 12-08-2004, 09:52 AM
Newbie
 
Tiggyboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a bunch, Heather. As a brand new ReplayTV network user (my first transfer is in progress as we speak) I can say that your post answered a whole slew of questions in one pass - some of which I'd already bludgeoned my way through, some of which were new to me.

Thanks again,
Al
Tiggyboo is offline  
post #139 of 193 Old 12-20-2004, 06:05 AM
Newbie
 
nord24601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First of all, thanks to all who contributed substantive info to this faq, you've helped tremendously.

My question, which I'm certain I've seen addressed before, is this:

What does it mean when the status line says "received x% of -1MB"?

A reference to the original post would suffice.

Also, what is this poopli updater business and what does it do?

Thanks,

Nord

"...we have tamed the lightning, and used it to teach sand to think..."
nord24601 is offline  
post #140 of 193 Old 01-09-2005, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
spydermonkey311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I have more than 1 transfer at a time recieving or sending?
spydermonkey311 is offline  
post #141 of 193 Old 01-09-2005, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhargr03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can be sending up to 15 I think at a time...you may only be receiving 1 at a time.

nord - go to the forums at www.poopli.com and you should find out all about the Poopli updater...but in short it polls your unit(s) and reports what shows you have available for sharing
mhargr03 is offline  
post #142 of 193 Old 01-18-2005, 05:41 AM
Member
 
elisherer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK... I've read through the 8 pages of this post, and I'm not sure if I actually saw something that applied to me.

I have IVS sharing set up "properly". I have my Internet ID, 00004-54831-54220 and have the port open (My Replay says it's 06443, but the Linksys router insists it's 6443.... does thia matter)?

Went to the IVStest site and pinged the box and got a positive response. Then I asked someone to send me a test clip.... and they "said" they did, but next morning... there was nothing there.

So let me ask: Should I see their clip right away? Or does it take more than 6 hours to even show up in my Received Shows menu.

Do I have to accept the show before the clip is sent (the sender says that his machine said it was sent successfully)?

Any other ideas why if my address is right, the test is right and therefore the port is apparently open, that I'm not getting things in my Received menu?

BTW - I have a RTV5040, modified with a 300 mb hard drive....
elisherer is offline  
post #143 of 193 Old 01-20-2005, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
HonestLeeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Skillman, NJ
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi-I'm new to ReplayTV just having acquired my 5040 last weekend. Would like to thank you for first for your great FAQ; then the troubleshooting favor--can u give me some help with getting Poopli working???

I keep gettting the following error on Larry Chen's "Lunatic Haven Page" when trying the test page:

Asked ReplayTV server about unit at ISN 00004-54832-37432.
Found on Replay server. IP does not match your PC, not revealing IP and port detail.

Unable to contact ReplayTV unit.

500 Can't connect to xx.xx.xx.xx:yyyyy (connect: timeout)
Check your port forwarding settings.
Useful Links:

I've got a Linksys BEFW11S4 V.4 set up w/port forwarding trying on external ports both "29000 to 29000" (per FAQ on ReplayTV) and "01024 to 01024" (this is the port setting my ReplayTV indicates for Port Incoming tho I didn't set it this way), and have confirmed I've got the right15 digit ID code as well as right IP address (192.168.1.65). I"ve also enabled and made sure either only TCP or both boxes are checked but nothing seems to work!!! Any advice or help would be really appreciated...Big Thx.

p.s. I've got DVArchive working so I know the PC and Replay TV are talking and they are hard wired together
HonestLeeD is offline  
post #144 of 193 Old 01-21-2005, 09:26 AM
Senior Member
 
clambert11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's working now.

-- Craig
clambert11 is online now  
post #145 of 193 Old 01-22-2005, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
HonestLeeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Skillman, NJ
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Finally, after much struggle got a successful test message from IVSTester as follows:

Asked ReplayTV server about unit at ISN 00004-54832-37432.
Found on Replay server.


The IP for your ReplayTV is 138.88.78.20
The Port for your ReplayTV is 11111
Successfully contacted ReplayTV unit.
The ReplayTV says:

ISN: 00004-54832-37432
Nickname: Honestleed
Your IVS settings appear to be correct

IN REALITY, IP ON RTV IS 192.168.1.89 so is this going to work? OR am I correct in assuming I'm somehow being read, but under wrong IP? Thx.
HonestLeeD is offline  
post #146 of 193 Old 01-22-2005, 10:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
MaxH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The IVS tester is giving you your WAN IP, the address needed to find your home network from the Internet. 192.168.x.x is a LAN IP, assigned by your router just for use on your home network. Lots of people probably use 192.168.1.89 in their homes, but no one else has 138.88.78.20.

In other words, this is all as it should be.

Psst, I got yer TV shows right here, buddy.
MaxH is offline  
post #147 of 193 Old 01-22-2005, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
HonestLeeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Skillman, NJ
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thx; fyi-re: IPOD when clicking on links for referral I get can't find page
HonestLeeD is offline  
post #148 of 193 Old 01-22-2005, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
HonestLeeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Skillman, NJ
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If someone sent something to me strating 6 hours ago (1 hour med quality show), and I'm showing ) 0% progress is it still transferrring or DOA--appreciate it may take awhile (tho I've got DSL)...yet this is my first download and so I'm clueless as to how to ascertain whether/if anything actually going on--can also see RTV unit name of sender in my DVArchive page as new folder but no content yet

any tips on quicker downloads?
HonestLeeD is offline  
post #149 of 193 Old 01-22-2005, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
MaxH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, nice way for the moderators to tell us they don't want us posting our referral links. Thanks for the heads-up, guys.

Psst, I got yer TV shows right here, buddy.
MaxH is offline  
post #150 of 193 Old 01-22-2005, 04:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
MaxH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by HonestLeeD
If someone sent something to me strating 6 hours ago (1 hour med quality show), and I'm showing ) 0% progress is it still transferrring or DOA--appreciate it may take awhile (tho I've got DSL)...yet this is my first download and so I'm clueless as to how to ascertain whether/if anything actually going on--can also see RTV unit name of sender in my DVArchive page as new folder but no content yet

any tips on quicker downloads?

It completely depends upon the sender's upload speed and whether their network is even up. First thing to do is use The Dreamer's IVS test page to test your IVS number for that Replay. Then you can go to this page AFTER you're already logged into Poopli, find the other person's IVS number, and test that. If both are OK, then the next thing I'd do is reboot the Replay. If the transfer starts, and especially if it stops again after a day or three, I'd suggest you read up on the double IP bug.

Psst, I got yer TV shows right here, buddy.
MaxH is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off