VideoLAN VLC with CA support - alpha1 release - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 83 Old 08-09-2004, 11:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've released first version of my implementation of VideoLAN VLC 0.7.2 with Commercial Advance support. This is a client to play ReplayTV mpegs or stream them directly from your RTV(s) to your PC via DVArchive with Automatic Commercial Advance capability.

For lack of a better place to put it you can find a zip file at:
http://replayguide.sourceforge.net/vlc/

This zip file contains the entire win32 distribution, the README-replaytv.txt file reproduced below, and a patch tar file containing all source code modifications.
NOTE: I also placed the patch tar file by itself at the above location for those just looking for source code.

If you try this out please give me some feedback - good or bad.

The README-replaytv.txt file reads as follows:
Code:
VideoLAN vlc-0.7.2 ReplayTV custom version

=======================
ReplayTV customizations
=======================
1. Automatic Commercial Advance (CA) support added when playing ReplayTV files
   or when streaming directly from ReplayTV (both 4K and 5K series supported).

   Hotkey F9 is setup to toggle CA on and off as desired. Note that by
   default CA is automatically enabled on startup, so if you want to turn
   if off you can press the F9 key to toggle it off. Press F9 to re-enable.

   Hotkey F10 is setup to display any CA time points that were computed
   and will be used during playback. The list of points will be displayed
   for about 10 seconds before dissapearing. NOTE: There is a limitation
   of 9 lines of display text over video in VLC, so if there are more
   than 18 commercials (not likely) the remaining ones won't show up. Also,
   showing so much text slows down video rendering... I probably need to
   come up with a better way of showing commercial points via the GUI.

2. AVS Forum FlipFlop's changes as outlined in thread:
   http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=410394
    - Improved the time position indicator so it doesn't jump all over the place.
    - Changed the -10 second skip to -7 seconds
    - Changed the +10 second skip to +30 seconds
    - Made the short skips respond quickly (i.e. now they actually work)
    - Made the stream playback begin immediately, instead of reading 4MB,
      discarding and starting over
    - I also changed +/- 5 minute skips to +/- 3 minute skips since
      most commercials are in 3-4 minute range.

AUTHORS
Kevin Moye (moyekj) - CA implementation
Philip Van Baren (FlipFlop) - All other customizations

THANKS TO
Lee Thompson, Agent X and others (for replaypc & evtdump code)
Gerry Duprey (for DVArchive interface)
AVS Forum j.m. (for pointing me in the right direction)
Countless others at AVS Forum

CA Implementation Notes
------------------------
- Note that computation of commercial points relies on
  the presence of .ndx file (and .evt file for 5K series) in the
  same directory as the .mpg file you are playing. If those
  files are not present in same directory, CA will not work.

- CA support for files streamed directly from RTV only works
  using DVArchive 3.1. The implementation currently relies on
  DVArchive for obtaining the .evt/.ndx files from the RTV
  in order to compute commercial points.

- The commercial points are marked in terms of their file
  positions instead of time points so will work properly even though
  VLC may display the wrong elapsed/remaining time of the stream.

- When a commercial skip happens a ">>> mm:ss" swish is displayed
  so that you know how long (in minutes and seconds) the skip was.

- My testing shows the CA skip points match the RTV ones very
  closely. However as most RTV users can attest for certain
  shows CA does not work reliably and so this implementation
  is subject to the same problems.

==========
OS SUPPORT
==========
This customized version of VideoLAN VLC was developed using
Windows XP and was also tested on Linux RedHat. I did not
test any other OS, so it may be possible some OS-specific
source code tweaks are needed to support other platforms,
however it should be possible to get this compiled on any
platform supported by VLC.

==================
WIN32 INSTALLATION
==================
No self-installing executable is provided, but the installation
is very simple:

1. Unzip the vlc-0.7.2-replaytv-alpha1.zip file in a fresh folder.
   The main executable resides in <path>\\vlc\\vlc.exe.
2. Setup your DVArchive 3.1 installation to point at the
   the above vlc.exe:
     - File -> DVArchive Properties...
     - Under General tab use the above vlc.exe for
       both "MPEG Video Player" and "Streaming MPEG Video Player"
       settings.

======================
NON WIN32 INSTALLATION
======================
For all other platforms you will have to build vlc from source.
I am providing a source code tar file containing all the files I
modified in the code tree to implement the replayTV specific
enhancements.

1. The main VideoLAN 0.7.2 VLC source code can be obtained here:
   http://download.videolan.org/pub/vlc...c-0.7.2.tar.gz
   NOTE: This does NOT include many 3rd party software that
   is used by VideoLAN VLC in conjunction with it's own code.

2. Uncompress and untar the source into a fresh directory.

3. Untar my source code path file (vlc-0.7.2-replaytv.patch.tar)
   in directory: <install-dir>/vlc-0.2

4. Follow the OS-specific instructions for compiling VLC at:
   http://developers.videolan.org/vlc/

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 83 Old 08-10-2004, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plyons10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Moyekj... I'll try to check it out when I'm home tonight or tomorrow.

Peter
plyons10 is offline  
post #3 of 83 Old 08-10-2004, 11:47 AM
Member
 
octavian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very cool Moyekj!

I can hardly wait to get home and try it :D

octavian
octavian is offline  
post #4 of 83 Old 08-10-2004, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
j.m.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A couple of suggestions:
1) Is it possible to only retrieve the .evt and .ndx file once? Currently, any time you manually skip around in a stream, it re-retrieves/parses the .evt and .ndx files. This slows things down a bit. Since the .evt and .ndx presumably won't change, you should be able to do this only one time and then use the stored markers on future skips.

2) If the VLC API allows it, I suggest adding Bookmarks (see the Settings | Bookmarks menu) for the CA markers. This would a) allow one to easily skip around segments (similar to Show|Nav) and b) would solve some of the problems with the F10 display of detected markers (the text of which overlaps on my PC).

Great job so far!

j.m.'s ReplayTV Tools
Home of WinDVA, the Win32 DVArchive launcher
j.m. is offline  
post #5 of 83 Old 08-10-2004, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by j.m.
A couple of suggestions:
1) Is it possible to only retrieve the .evt and .ndx file once? Currently, any time you manually skip around in a stream, it re-retrieves/parses the .evt and .ndx files. This slows things down a bit. Since the .evt and .ndx presumably won't change, you should be able to do this only one time and then use the stored markers on future skips.

2) If the VLC API allows it, I suggest adding Bookmarks (see the Settings | Bookmarks menu) for the CA markers. This would a) allow one to easily skip around segments (similar to Show|Nav) and b) would solve some of the problems with the F10 display of detected markers (the text of which overlaps on my PC).

Great job so far!
Thanks for the feedback.
Yeah on 1) this happens only when streaming directly from RTV via DVA. A skip actually forces DVA to stop current stream and start another at given offset. I've already got a fix for this problem which should speed things up as you mentioned. I'll make it available in next release.

2) sounds like a great suggestion. It would be nice to be able to easily skip around similar to Show|Nav. A downside to that approach is the length of the commercial skips would be unknown up front (which serves as good sanity checking). i.e. It would be logical to only include the commercial end markers as bookmarks since it wouldn't be very useful to include commercial start points as bookmarks. I'll look into this and leave the F10 hotkey there for now too. Also, in the bookmark menu it shows time as well as position, so not sure (without having looked at that code) if the time indication actually needs to jive with what VLC calculates as elapsed time - hopefully only the file position really matters in which case this should be easy to add.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
post #6 of 83 Old 08-10-2004, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by j.m.
2) If the VLC API allows it, I suggest adding Bookmarks (see the Settings | Bookmarks menu) for the CA markers. This would a) allow one to easily skip around segments (similar to Show|Nav) and b) would solve some of the problems with the F10 display of detected markers (the text of which overlaps on my PC).
Turns out this is pretty trivial to add and the good thing is the name of the bookmark can be anything you want, so I can include the details of each commercial block in each bookmark description. I think this obsoletes the poor F10 hotkey implementation so I'm just going to pull that out completely. Thanks again for the suggestion and keep them coming.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
post #7 of 83 Old 08-10-2004, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wrecks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Land of Awes
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I run it on a show that's already downloaded, VLC dies with an error almost immediately. The same thing happens when I run ReVue, but that program has an error trap that allows me to continue anyway.

Don't sweat petty things, and don't pet sweaty things.
Wrecks is offline  
post #8 of 83 Old 08-10-2004, 10:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just posted alpha2 release to the same location:
http://replayguide.sourceforge.net/vlc/
(alpha1 release is in alpha1 directory)

Updated readme file is here:
http://replayguide.sourceforge.net/v...E-replaytv.txt

Essentially this fixes the problem j.m. described of multiple downloads of .evt/.ndx files when skipping around a stream directly from DVA. As a result the skips in stream mode are much faster now.
Also replaced the F10 hotkey with j.m. idea of bookmarks. Great idea j.m, thanks!

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
post #9 of 83 Old 08-10-2004, 10:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by Wrecks
When I run it on a show that's already downloaded, VLC dies with an error almost immediately. The same thing happens when I run ReVue, but that program has an error trap that allows me to continue anyway.
Please provide a few more details on your environment. Also, with regular version of VideoLAN VLC 0.7.2 does it play that show without crashing? If so, please put your .ndx & .evt & .xml files for that show in a zip file and email to: moyekj@yahoo.com

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
post #10 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Clay Schneider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed, and pointed dvarchive [3.1] at it, but it didn't seem to do anything regarding CA beyond just playing the vid. If I looked at preferences, F9 and F10 were mapped to CA functions, but they didn't seem to do anything 'ca-wise' -- for either previously downloaded files or files still on my 5040. Is there some other magic I'm missing? Thanks.
Clay Schneider is offline  
post #11 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by Clay Schneider
I installed, and pointed dvarchive [3.1] at it, but it didn't seem to do anything regarding CA beyond just playing the vid. If I looked at preferences, F9 and F10 were mapped to CA functions, but they didn't seem to do anything 'ca-wise' -- for either previously downloaded files or files still on my 5040. Is there some other magic I'm missing? Thanks.
Hmm that is a mystery. If you are using alpha1 and the F10 key does indeed show something then it should be skipping through the range of commercials identified. Note that there is an alpha2 release now where identified commercials show up as bookmarks. Try using that release and see if you can at least get the bookmarks to work. i.e. select a bookmark and see if it jumps to that spot in the stream. If that also doesn't work then there is something really fundamental going wrong.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
post #12 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So far I only have confirmation this is working for one person other than myself (j.m.). Anyone else tried this and got it working at all? I'm curious because it is working quite well in my environment now.

I want to work on correcting the elapsed and total time displayed when streaming 4K streams which are always about 1.5x too high - i.e. a 30 minute show is always shown as 45min by VLC. For my 5K streams the displayed elapsed/total times are pretty close to correct.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
post #13 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wrecks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Land of Awes
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Please provide a few more details on your environment. Also, with regular version of VideoLAN VLC 0.7.2 does it play that show without crashing?
I did some checking, and figured out that this only happens when I play the show from the DVArchive interface. If I drag a show over to VLC to play it this does not happen.

I presume this to mean that there is some weird interaction between VLC and Java on my system that has nothing to do with your programming.

It doesn't bother me anyway, because I can use ReVue to watch already downloaded shows. As I mentioned before, it does the same thing, but it has some kind of error trap that allows me to continue and watch the show.

Don't sweat petty things, and don't pet sweaty things.
Wrecks is offline  
post #14 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wrecks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Land of Awes
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Something else: On my Windows XP system, sometimes when I would press F10 it would display the commercial times, sometimes it would highlight the "File" item on the menu bar. I could never find a pattern to it.

Since you are taking that out of the software I guess it doesn't matter anyway.

Don't sweat petty things, and don't pet sweaty things.
Wrecks is offline  
post #15 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 02:53 PM
Member
 
octavian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by moyekj
So far I only have confirmation this is working for one person other than myself (j.m.). Anyone else tried this and got it working at all? I'm curious because it is working quite well in my environment now.
Alpha 1 worked great for me. I am going to try alpha 2 when I get home and I'm betting it works even better.;)

octavian
octavian is offline  
post #16 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
plyons10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alpha 2 rocking along for me great!!

Nice baby!!!!!

Peter
plyons10 is offline  
post #17 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 03:27 PM
Member
 
bslayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Worked great for me!

thank you!

B.
bslayton is offline  
post #18 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
waynethedvrguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Kevin and Phillip (et al)! Nice job right out of the box. Alpha 2 is running like a champ.

Regards,

Wayne

Go Ahead.....
Take a look at MY POOP

MY POOP don't stank!!!
waynethedvrguy is offline  
post #19 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 07:34 PM
Member
 
twisted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alpha2 worked out of the box for me (Win2000 Pro). This is the same setup that crashes ReVue every time. Thanks.
twisted is offline  
post #20 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 08:15 PM
Member
 
noppers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried alpha1 last night and it was working pretty well for me (WinXP Pro). This addition to VLC is great, thanks for the effort you put into it. I'll be trying alpha2 now!
noppers1 is offline  
post #21 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 08:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Clay Schneider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by moyekj
Hmm that is a mystery. If you are using alpha1 and the F10 key does indeed show something then it should be skipping through the range of commercials identified. Note that there is an alpha2 release now where identified commercials show up as bookmarks. Try using that release and see if you can at least get the bookmarks to work. i.e. select a bookmark and see if it jumps to that spot in the stream. If that also doesn't work then there is something really fundamental going wrong.
Alpha2 works like a champ. Not sure why I was having a problem with the first [though I am running xp sp2].

Thanks! Clay
Clay Schneider is offline  
post #22 of 83 Old 08-11-2004, 11:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Great, thanks for the feedback all... will try and work on the 4K series wrong elapsed/total time display next.

Also need to find a proper location to put the release and perhaps get some help to generate some pre-compiled binaries for different OSs. I did a Linux RedHat 8.0 install from scratch - it was pretty painful getting all the 3rd party software compiled and installed in order to be able to compile VLC, but it does work - in fact the Linux version is much more responsive compared to the win32 version for me, even on a machine with half the CPU speed of my windows box.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
post #23 of 83 Old 08-12-2004, 05:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
madSkeelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm planning on building this for OSX this weekend. Doesn't look like it'll be too bad. Are you using one of vlc's available code snapshots, or are you just sucking down from svn as-needed?

--
-mS
madSkeelz is offline  
post #24 of 83 Old 08-12-2004, 07:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Grab all 3rd party and VLC source code from the following page:
http://videolan.org/vlc/download-sources.html

Download and compile each 3rd party tar ball in order given. Make sure when using "configure" scripts to specify --prefix=<path> and use the same install path for all the libraries. So that's:

1. configure --prefix=<path> (path without the angle brackets)
2. make
3. make install

NOTE: Make sure you set the CC and CXX environment variables to use -I and -L options pointing to where you are installing all the libraries:
CC=gcc -I <path> -L <path> (without angle brackets of course)
Similaraly CXX=g++ -I <path> -L <path>

A couple of them don't have a configure script so need to be handled differently. ffmeg installation I found particularly hard to deal with and learned that several configure options need to be used so that all the options needed by VLC are installed. I'll see if I can dig up the options I ended up using.

When all 3rd party software is installed now you can attack the VLC code.

Untar the VLC source code

Then apply my tar file patch to the VLC tree. (You may want to skip this step for now and try building the raw VLC tree first and then applying my patch later).

configure --prefix=<path>; make; make install

I'll probably go through the whole exercise again for building on Linux and take some good notes and then document them since it's not very trivial to get everything right.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
post #25 of 83 Old 08-12-2004, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wrecks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Land of Awes
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This software could be the answer to those who have been wanting a "thin client" to play ReplayTV shows in other rooms. Take your old computer, put DVArchive and this version of VLC on it and you've got a streaming client you can watch in your bedroom. With automatic commercial advance and everything!

I'm even thinking of creating a large font interface that my RF wireless mouse remote can use to select and play shows for me.

Don't sweat petty things, and don't pet sweaty things.
Wrecks is offline  
post #26 of 83 Old 08-13-2004, 12:53 AM
Senior Member
 
JenEric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dude! Nice job! I think I went from watching no shows on my PC to watching most of them from it. I was thinking similar things to Wrecks about the "thin client." How long before this mod shows up for the XBox?
JenEric is offline  
post #27 of 83 Old 08-13-2004, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by Wrecks
This software could be the answer to those who have been wanting a "thin client" to play ReplayTV shows in other rooms. Take your old computer, put DVArchive and this version of VLC on it and you've got a streaming client you can watch in your bedroom. With automatic commercial advance and everything!

I'm even thinking of creating a large font interface that my RF wireless mouse remote can use to select and play shows for me.
Yeah, this was my motivation to get CA working in a streaming thin client - since I have a mixed 4K/5K series environment that all can't stream to each other and sometimes I am relegated to a room without a replayTV I do stream many RTV shows to my wireless 17' widescreen laptop and was tired of manually skipping through commercials. This solution takes care of the 4K/5K incompatiblity.

An aside humorous side effect is this also adds CA capability to 5.5K series owners who haven't hacked the box to support it.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
post #28 of 83 Old 08-13-2004, 02:21 PM
Member
 
jfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
... I do stream many RTV shows to my wireless 17' widescreen laptop...
Wow :D

-Jason
jfunk is offline  
post #29 of 83 Old 08-13-2004, 06:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
madSkeelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I'm in over my head. :) I'm going to see if fink can help get most of the dependency packages built and installed, then I can muck about with vlc itself.

--
-mS
madSkeelz is offline  
post #30 of 83 Old 08-14-2004, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just released alpha3. This one fixes the elapsed/total times displayed by VLC for 4K series streams, which were totally wrong (by a factor of about 1.5x). I just applied a simple scale factor to make the correction and while it's not perfect it's much closer to the right times than before.

I'm working on fixing a strange crash for a 6 hour olympics recording (downconverted HDTV recording) which refuses to start streaming - VLC crashes before the stream starts. Don't know yet if it's related to my changes in any way.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Closed Thread ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off