Worried about my RTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-29-2007, 06:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
forgop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed a new Seagate hdd about a month ago and put the patch/software on the hdd. From the initial install, the initial "Please wait" screen never appeared. Instead, it shows a black screen and then goes to the next screen(One moment please). That's no so much the concern.

Last night I was watching a show that caused the screen to go black and then the RTV was totally unresponsive except for rebooting from the power button. It did this 3 times in the span of less than 20 minutes.

Is this generally a sign of bad things to come?
forgop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-29-2007, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikeyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: S. Dartmouth, Ma.
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by forgop View Post

I installed a new Seagate hdd about a month ago and put the patch/software on the hdd. From the initial install, the initial "Please wait" screen never appeared. Instead, it shows a black screen and then goes to the next screen(One moment please). That's no so much the concern.

Last night I was watching a show that caused the screen to go black and then the RTV was totally unresponsive except for rebooting from the power button. It did this 3 times in the span of less than 20 minutes.

Is this generally a sign of bad things to come?

I assume you have a 5000 or 5500 recorder. You will only see "Please wait" when connected to the TV by A/V or super video cables. When using RF out, it's normal for the cable signal to bypass until the One Moment screen pops up as the bootup sequence progesses.

Locking up 3 times in 20 minutes is a problem. The drive you choose may not be compatible with the 5000/5500, defective, or you simply forgot to perform the Patch Target Drive step during the upgrade.
Mikeyboy is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-29-2007, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
forgop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeyboy View Post

I assume you have a 5000 or 5500 recorder. You will only see "Please wait" when connected to the TV by A/V or super video cables. When using RF out, it's normal for the cable signal to bypass until the One Moment screen pops up as the bootup sequence progesses.

Locking up 3 times in 20 minutes is a problem. The drive you choose may not be compatible with the 5000/5500, defective, or you simply forgot to perform the Patch Target Drive step during the upgrade.

The Seagate is an 8 MB cache and from what I've read, should have been compatible. I don't think it had ever done it up until last night after a month of operation. I completed the entire program when I did the patch.

As far as the connection, I'm almost positive I'm using A/V cables out and no RF's.
forgop is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-29-2007, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by forgop View Post

The Seagate is an 8 MB cache and from what I've read, should have been compatible.

Barracuda firmware series is apparently the determining factor for compatibility, regardless of cache size.

What model Seagate is it?

(411 zones)
KenL is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-29-2007, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
forgop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenL View Post

Barracuda firmware series is apparently the determining factor for compatibility, regardless of cache size.

What model Seagate is it?

(411 zones)


ST3400832A
forgop is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-29-2007, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's 7200.8 which is compatible, so good there. Cross that off the list of possibilities.

If you are entirely sure it was patched correctly, then it's back to pick Mikeyboy's brain as to what else it might be. If the drive itself isn't just flaking out.

Is this the one you bought on fleabay? New or used?
KenL is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off