Programming Remote Control - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-12-2007, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JOLiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased a Hannspree 32" LCD television, and I would like to use one remote to control both my ReplayTV and the television. Is there any way to get the ReplayTV remote control to work with this TV? Alternatively, is there a universal remote control out there that can control both units?

Thank you!
JOLiu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 02-13-2007, 02:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UEI doesn't show any codes for Hannspree televisions yet.
They are the world leader in remote controls.

Also nothing on the Logitech Harmony site.

Any learning remote should take care of both for now.
sixt7gt350 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 02-13-2007, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JOLiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixt7gt350 View Post

UEI doesn't show any codes for Hannspree televisions yet.
They are the world leader in remote controls.

Also nothing on the Logitech Harmony site.

Any learning remote should take care of both for now.

What is a learning remote control and could you give me examples of companies that make learning remote controls?

Would you recommend that I wait until Logitech has a code for it and then purchase a Logitech Harmony?
JOLiu is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 02-13-2007, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOLiu View Post

What is a learning remote control and could you give me examples of companies that make learning remote controls?

Would you recommend that I wait until Logitech has a code for it and then purchase a Logitech Harmony?

Oh my.....

Well, let's start things out with an easy to find learning remote at Best Buy.

The Logitech Harmony remotes are much more expensive and advanced. I would say having to explain a learning remote would rule out the Harmony. I'd stick with the basics. You can walk into RadioShack, Best Buy, or even WalMart, to ask for a learning remote. Just make sure you clearly state "learns from existing remotes" because they won't be able to tell you whether Hannspree is in the remote's code library. You can, of course, get a Harmony model that learns. I'm not familiar with them, though.
sixt7gt350 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 02-13-2007, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
The Robman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chicago, IL (from London, UK)
Posts: 3,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have it on good authority that there isn't a code for the Hannspree in the ReplayTV remote (but just FYI, the code is TV/1348), so it would need to be added as an upgrade using JP1 if you want to continue using the Replay remote.

Later, Rob

Select a link for questions on: Remotes, JP1, JP1 Forums
I prefer emails to PMs, my email is rob1 (at) rockabilly (dot) net
The Robman is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 02-13-2007, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JOLiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Robman View Post

I have it on good authority that there isn't a code for the Hannspree in the ReplayTV remote (but just FYI, the code is TV/1348), so it would need to be added as an upgrade using JP1 if you want to continue using the Replay remote.

Thanks. I just saw something on the boards about JP1. I'll read up on it and see if I can figure out how to do the upgrade.

Thanks to everyone for their help.
JOLiu is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 03-01-2007, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JOLiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for all the replies. I did a little searching, and the Harmony remotes are simply too expensive for my taste, particularly because I only have the Hannspree TV, a ReplayTV, and a DVD player.

Because I have a Dell 700m laptop, I don't have any inputs other than USB inputs. The JP1 USB cable costs $35, whereas the universal learning remote that was linked above costs $26 at Best Buy (but less than $15 at other online retailers). For my intended uses, it would appear that a universal learning remote would work best for my needs.

Is there any reason why one would recommend the JP1 over the universal learning remote? Remember that I would use the JP1 with my existing ReplayTV remote control.

Thanks.

John
JOLiu is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 03-01-2007, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Horsham, PA, USA
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOLiu View Post

Is there any reason why one would recommend the JP1 over the universal learning remote? Remember that I would use the JP1 with my existing ReplayTV remote control.

The only one I can think of is if the learning remote doesn't have enough memory to learn all of the buttons that you need to learn. A jp1 update takes far less memory than learning does.
Murphy is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 03-13-2007, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JOLiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again for all of the input. I bought the PMDVR8 off a seller on eBay (about $12), and I was able to get it to work with both my ReplayTV and Hannspree TV. Thanks again for all of your help.
JOLiu is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 03-17-2007, 01:54 AM
Newbie
 
gqlewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try these codes (11348 11351 11352) to control your Hannspree television from your universal remote.
gqlewis is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 03-24-2007, 12:29 AM
Newbie
 
Unkel_Slam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Hannspree XV32 TV, along with several other components, DVD player, Dish DVR, AIWA receiver, 100 Disc changer, an RCA Component HD switcher, and a HTPC.
I use a cheap Sony RM-VL600 learning remote to control all of it. I have not run into a piece that it will not control. $25 at Wally-world.
Unkel_Slam is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off