OT: New X10 Universal Remote MX950 clone? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2007, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
X10 has a new hard/touch remote that looks much like the very high-end MX950.

I can't believe it really has a high resolution color touch screen and all the other doo-dads touted by X10.

I found nothing on the JP1 forums or RemoteCentral about it.

Anyone here seen or used one?

X10 page for IconRemote
sixt7gt350 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2007, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UPDATE: I found that it is a rebadged Philips SRU8010.

No reviews for that at RemoteCentral, either.
Philips showed the 8010 at CES 2007.
How in the world would X10 have gotten a rebadge out before Philips launched theirs?!?!?
sixt7gt350 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correct that "touch screen" description.
The keys next to the icons perform the functions.
sixt7gt350 is offline  
 
Old 03-11-2007, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's weird.
X10 deleted its entire Iconremote Wiki entry.

I hope this doesn't mean my order won't come through.
Deleting discussions and help pages doesn't bode well for support.
At least I know it's a Philips SRU8010, if needed.
(That is, IF I receive my order.)

When I told my wife about it, she groaned, "ANOTHER REMOTE!?!?!?!"
When I showed her, she was lots more supportive. (but still miles away from being a remote geek)
The RCA RCU810 came close to being our "end all" remote, but too many buttons had to be programmed to functions that were nowhere close to the button label.
We ended up using the Kenwood THX receiver remote for everything but Replay and the Replay 5XXX remote for Replay use. (JP1 extended to control both Replay units and TV functions)
If we were watching Replay shows, it was the Replay remote.
If watching movies, it was the Kenwood remote.

I'm hoping the SRU8010 will solve that issue. (and I sadly doubt it will have JP1 capability)
sixt7gt350 is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
dvasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dvasco is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
dvasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There aren't any close up shots of the navigation buttons on that page.

the www.gbpvr.com advocate
dvasco is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found why a Philips remote at CES would be on X10 first:

"We are developing the remote for an OEM."

Philips is a HUGE company. I'm not sure what "developing" means. I didn't find that link until after I ordered. Had I found it first, I likely would have waited for the version with X10 RF built in. (and some other sources for the Philips as a pricing comparison)

Links to pics that were in the Wiki:





sixt7gt350 is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
dvasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lol. his and hers. I would rather have seperate remotes, which we already do. Even with the close up I don't understand the menu navigation buttons. Is it like a wheel or donut like one of the OFA remotes? Hopefully not as bad if it is. X10 RF integration would have been very nice.

the www.gbpvr.com advocate
dvasco is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 05:08 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, poop.

No remote geeking for me.
They cancelled my order because of a backorder.

I guess I'll have to wait for the RF version from X10 or see whether the Philips price is better than X10 was asking for being on the bleeding edge.
sixt7gt350 is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Clay Schneider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
backorder? I suspect no stock [ever] -- at least at that price -- was the real cause.
Clay Schneider is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 12:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
dvasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not a bad price compared to other high end remotes.

the www.gbpvr.com advocate
dvasco is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 05:49 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Isn't cross-linking forums fun?

Found on the X10 community forum.

Someone actually received one.
His review makes it sound the like they were a bit buggy.

Hmmm. Maybe I lucked out this time.
sixt7gt350 is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 07:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WaltA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvasco View Post

X10 RF integration would have been very nice.

I would have put it that X10 RF should have been a requirement.

It seems like something is rather drastically wrong, for X10 to come out with a new top-of-their-line remote, that doesn't support their own X10 RF protocol !!!

All the universal remotes I have purchased, were either X10's, or Radioshack's Plug n Power. And all because these remotes supported X10's RF protocol.

If I didn't value having X10 RF, there are many, many other brands of remotes I would certainly consider first.

Oh why, X10, did you abandon your own long time supporters by not incorporating your own X10 RF ????
WaltA is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 07:24 PM
 
DirtySanchez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apparently on the X10 forums they stated that the RF will be added to this remote in the future it just doesn't have it now. Besides you can use an IR543 with the remote as it is now.

D Sanchez
DirtySanchez is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 05:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WaltA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtySanchez View Post

Apparently on the X10 forums they stated that the RF will be added to this remote in the future it just doesn't have it now. Besides you can use an IR543 with the remote as it is now.

"They" who? I haven't seen anything from X10 Inc making such a claim. Just because some wishful X10 Forum users hope it might happen, doesn't always make come true.

I have tried using the, very old, IR543 in the past. It is a kluge that doesn't work very well and therefore not a real alternative.
WaltA is offline  
Old 03-25-2007, 12:13 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IconRemote wiki page back up.

The code database is freaking HUGE! It includes such rare items as Olevia LCDs and Curtis DVD players.

Given the burn the first order around, I'll wait until someone on this forum, JP1, or RemoteCentral has one in hand before I take another stab.
sixt7gt350 is offline  
Old 03-27-2007, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received a "back in stock" e-mail this morning.
A quick internet search finds lots of "user comments" that all seem to be saying the same thing and just as curious, all have links to the wiki and home page.

Do ya think X10 might have a few shills employed?

Crap. It looks like they've successfully sucked me into being a shill. (unpaid, even)
sixt7gt350 is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 12:28 PM
Newbie
 
kevin02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sixt7gt350,
I developed the firmware for the product -- If you have any questions about the remote or its operation I could answer them. I won't comment on business relationships, and I'll leave the guerilla marketing of links to others.

I'm hardly an unbiased source, but this is one of the cooler products I've done in a while...
kevin02 is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 2,535
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaltA View Post


I have tried using the, very old, IR543 in the past. It is a kluge that doesn't work very well and therefore not a real alternative.

What wrong with the IR543? I've used one for years and it works perfectly.
gweempose is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
The Robman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chicago, IL (from London, UK)
Posts: 3,459
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 18
It appears that X10 has launched a bunch of marketers out into forum land to post lots of "oh the iconremote is so great" type of posts, so don't automatically assume everyone loves it just from the posts.

For example, in this thread user "Sven Gaudy" claims to be looking for a new remote and is considering the IconRemote....
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=827243

... yet in the following post in a different forum he claims to already have the remote and loves it...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/vi...?p=55643#55643

both posts were made today.

Here are some more threads with suspicious posts ...

RC X10 forum
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...hread.cgi?4369 (Pogi, hamiltonjim)

RC What remote to buy? forum
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...thread.cgi?416 (KaiA, Pogi, illuminati)
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...thread.cgi?428 (KaiA, illuminati)
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...thread.cgi?427 (KaiA)

AVS Remotes forum:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=827243 (Sven Gaudy)
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=826268 (KaiA)

HIFI-REMOTE:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=7984 (Sven Gaudy)

Later, Rob

Select a link for questions on: Remotes, JP1, JP1 Forums
I prefer emails to PMs, my email is rob1 (at) rockabilly (dot) net
The Robman is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 06:17 PM
Newbie
 
kevin02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd love to hear any comments on the icon remote from users or those considering use, pro or con... Or in traditional forum fashion, anyone with 2 cents to chip in...
kevin02 is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 09:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Largo, Florida
Posts: 1,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well Kevin, you seem pretty much a straight shooter, so I hope you will stick around till the "stink" from your bass ackwards marketing department is over. It's nice to have somebody from the inside on the boards to answer the tough questions.

Ed Qualls - Just Add Power
nded is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 10:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
The Robman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chicago, IL (from London, UK)
Posts: 3,459
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Indeed, on behalf of the AVS moderators, let me also extend a welcome.

Later, Rob

Select a link for questions on: Remotes, JP1, JP1 Forums
I prefer emails to PMs, my email is rob1 (at) rockabilly (dot) net
The Robman is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 12:08 PM
Newbie
 
kevin02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the welcome. I've lurked on avsforum for a few years now, mostly in the projector areas.
kevin02 is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My IconRemote is on its way.

I should be able to give a non-biased review from a remote junkie in a day or two.
sixt7gt350 is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 08:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
dvasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cool

the www.gbpvr.com advocate
dvasco is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Remote in hand.

Size and weight are the same as RS 15-2104. No sculpting, so it feels a bit larger.
Button layout is also similar. Where the 15-2104 has a "dead zone" at the bottom for holding the remote while still reaching the transport buttons, this remote's buttons go almost all the way down. (a bit of thumb contortion to reach lowest buttons) The screen is as sharp and bright as the ads. The icons for the channels are VERY good. (Sci-Fi, Versus, and Comedy Central already added to my favorites) Mute button seems oddly placed between numbers and transport buttons, instead of near volume.

Neither the Curtis DVD nor Olevia TV codes matched. Must have been old ones. I have the 537 Olevia. (I tried the Syntax TV code, also.) (Our DVD player for rentals is an upconverting, cheapie Curtis. -works great for under $40!)
Sony DVD jukebox, Kenwood CD jukebox, and Kenwood THX receiver found quickly.
Replay code mapped "return to live" to bottom right button, which should have been the counterpart ("Quickskip") to "Instant Replay." Otherwise, Replay mapping was fine. Since my Replays have unit codes and my remote is JP1-enabled for the unit codes, I had to learn EVERY Replay command for both. (I wouldn't expect unit code ability out of the box in any universal remote.) For those still power swapping multiple Replays, the remote should be great. "Input" is mapped to the input button, so I learned commercial advance to a screen button. (along with Zones and Channel Guide) I don't remember whether the guide button pulled up the replay guide or the channel guide before I rewrote everything with learning.

With so much learning, I was able to experience the SLLLLOOOOWWW learning process. It's straightforward, but switches in and out of learn mode for every key.

One very cool feature for those with multi-input monitors is the punchthrough function. Every device can have volume, transport functions, and channel buttons mapped from ANY other device. In other words, if you have a projector, you can punch the volume from your audio receiver and channels from your HD receiver, and transport functions from your Replay. I haven't tested this out fully to see what all buttons go with transport functions. Another neat idea for this function is to set up your TV for regular viewing and DVD viewing. (Just set up the TV again under another device, with the punchthrough enabled accordingly.)

Very important: WAF (wife acceptance factor) I received an "ooooh" from her. She hates using buttons that aren't labeled for their actual function. The LCD screen can go three screens deep with advanced functions on every device.

I haven't messed with macros, but it asks about adding a learned function to a macro after every learn. (part of the SLLLOOOWW learn process)

Initial reaction is very positive. Once I've fiddled around some more, I'll have more to say.
sixt7gt350 is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 08:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
dvasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice. Thanks for the detailed info.

the www.gbpvr.com advocate
dvasco is offline  
Old 04-07-2007, 12:57 PM
Newbie
 
hamiltonjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I opened the battery compartment of the iconremote and found a USB port connection. I plugged it into my computer but Win2000 didn't find the proper drivers. I have emailed X10 if there are any. Anybody know anything more?
hamiltonjim is offline  
Old 04-07-2007, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sixt7gt350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere north of coherence
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamiltonjim View Post

I opened the battery compartment of the iconremote and found a USB port connection. I plugged it into my computer but Win2000 didn't find the proper drivers. I have emailed X10 if there are any. Anybody know anything more?


Someone already hooked it up...

Also, I have it on good authority that using the USB port will require a piece of hardware between the remote and your PC. (a la JP1) The BIG question is whether or not my source or anyone else ever lets the cat out of the bag for us to fiddle around via USB.

I finished my IconRemote programming. (ReplayTV input mapped to screen buttons for unit codes 1 & 2, via RCU810 programmed with JP1)
I can say that I've successfully used it as my only remote for a couple days.
One thing I changed pretty quickly was learning TV power to the power button for Replay modes and learning Replay power to screen buttons. I found that the remote is almost always in 1 of 3 modes: TV, Replay1, or Replay2. Since the first (and last) action with the remote is TV power, it was kind of a given. (especially since I almost never turn off my Replay units)

A couple small complaints remain: (now that the remote's biggest weakness, learning, has been finished and I only have to worry about daily use)
1. I wish the Quickskip and Replay buttons were higher on the remote. It's also clear they aimed this remote at TiVo more than Replay, given the "thumbs up/down" buttons between them.
2. I wish the "info" button was another "guide" button, so I could have Replay Guide and Channel Guide at the same level. (like the 5040 remote) I suppose I could have learned the Replay Guide to the menu button and menu to a screen button, but that would have confused my wife. I learned the Replay Guide to the guide button and learned the Channel Guide to a screen button. Another nod to TiVo was the menu button having TiVo Central written above it, supporting the logic of learning Replay Guide there. Time will tell.

In a moment of shower thinking, I wondered "what if" they had a button that enabled the screen and switched the cursor control buttons to selecting screen functions. It would have simplified hardware (fewer buttons) and made the screen buttons more flexible. This change would have made this remote more of a "one-hander." I find myself using a second hand for the screen buttons.
sixt7gt350 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off