Panasonic Replay + Direct TV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-28-2001, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kevin44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: ca
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to buy a Replay, but I have one question. When connecting this to my Directv is it true that PPV channels 100-199 won't show up on the Replay menu? I would have to have each connected to it's own input on my TV?
kevin44 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 11-28-2001, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
theedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: --- Lockport, NY ---
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes and no...

The channels come up, but the title only says "Pay Per View" There are no schedules for them...

When you scroll through the channels, the DSS Program guide on top shows the movie after the ReplayTV display clears off the screen... its a bit of a pain.. but not terrible.

Dish Network XM Sirius? Talk about a no-win situation.
theedge is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-28-2001, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kevin44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: ca
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Theedge- Thanks for responding. So , if I understand correctly PPV's title/description eventually show up with Replay. If you turn the power off to the Replay will the signal bypass it, so you can use your Direct TV receiver? I don't don't have any free inputs, but I would like to be able to watch the Satellite without the Replay.
kevin44 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 11-28-2001, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
 
ChampaignWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: champaign,IL
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What you can do is let it pass thru your replay (with it on) but use your sat remote. Replay will think you are on the same channel, but that doesn't matter. The one problem with viewing the sat receiver guide while it goes thru the replaytv box is that there is a lag as the receiver signal gets digitally encoded in the replay box and then decoded before getting pumped to your tv. So moving around in menus can be a little tiresome.

I started with a 3060. Later sold it and replaced it with a 4k and later added 2 5k units. Still love 'em and am resisting HD.
ChampaignWalt is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-28-2001, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kevin44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: ca
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ChampaignWalt- Any idea if you turn off the Replay if it would pass the signal on to the TV?
kevin44 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-28-2001, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
ChampaignWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: champaign,IL
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The replay box never really powers down. The video ouput gets turned off when it's "powered down". Unplugging it is the only way I know to turn the unit off entirely.

In short, no, it won't pass the signal thru to the tv.

I started with a 3060. Later sold it and replaced it with a 4k and later added 2 5k units. Still love 'em and am resisting HD.
ChampaignWalt is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-28-2001, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kevin44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: ca
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks ChampaignWalt. I appreciate your help. I have one more question. Is it possible to still use the IR Blaster to record shows on my VCR if I have a Replay connected? I record movies and TV shows that I keep on tape. I would think the satellite timer would take over if it was used.
kevin44 is offline  
Closed Thread ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off