Add 12 volt trigger to prosound amp? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2008, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mauiguy100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any electronics gurus want to help me add a 12volt trigger to my berringer 2500 amp? I am looking for a way to automaticly turn it on when my AVR turns on. I'm guessing I could use a relay in place of the power switch but am worried about adding ground loop noise. Yes I know it will void my warranty but hey that's what diy is all about right?
mauiguy100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-11-2008, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV Doogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 2,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauiguy100 View Post

Any electronics gurus want to help me add a 12volt trigger to my berringer 2500 amp? I am looking for a way to automaticly turn it on when my AVR turns on. I'm guessing I could use a relay in place of the power switch but am worried about adding ground loop noise. Yes I know it will void my warranty but hey that's what diy is all about right?

A simple solution is to put together an electrical outlet in a job-box with a 12 volt relay providing the power switching to the outlet. I assume that you have a useable trigger output from your AVR or preamp.

You can make this little relay controlled outlet for about $20. I can supply a schematic if you need one. Or additional information.

My Home Theater Site:

DJ-Theater
AV Doogie is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 09:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mauiguy100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good Idea AV Doogie. Gets the job done without cracking into the brand new amp. Could you post a parts list and schematic please?

I used the link to check out your theater. Looks really nice. Those seats look comfy and the built in rack is killer.
thanks
mauiguy100 is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 06:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Marbles_00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
http://sound.westhost.com/project118.htm

Instead of connecting it to a computer, you connectorize it to connect to your AVR. I use this in my music-server to shut the peripherals off when the computer goes into sleep mode. Works pretty good.

My web-o-information:
http://sites.google.com/site/maycreates/
Where I discuss the following projects
-DIY multi-zoning music distribution
-HTPC
-MediaPVR
-UnRAID Server
-and other projects
Marbles_00 is offline  
Old 09-15-2008, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV Doogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 2,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauiguy100 View Post
Good Idea AV Doogie. Gets the job done without cracking into the brand new amp. Could you post a parts list and schematic please?

I used the link to check out your theater. Looks really nice. Those seats look comfy and the built in rack is killer.
thanks
I don't have an exact parts list handy... but most of the parts can be found at a local radio shack or electrical parts house.

1 - job box to house the relay and duplex outlet
1 - DPST or DPDT relay (12 volt coil with contacts rated for 125v at 15 amps)
1 - duplex outlet with ground (same as used in your house)
1 - three conductor power cord with plug (length to be determined by you)
1 - two conductor control wire (length tbd by you) this plugs into your 12V trigger from the AVR or processor. You may need a one-eighth inch phono plug if the AVR has a one-eighth inch plug attachment.
1 - soldering iron and solder
1 - a few feet of 14AWG stranded wire to connect the relay and outlet within the job box

 

relay.pdf 15.1689453125k . file

My Home Theater Site:

DJ-Theater
AV Doogie is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 02:21 PM
 
ChrisWiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
you could also just buy a triggered outlet too
ChrisWiggles is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV Doogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 2,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisWiggles View Post

you could also just buy a triggered outlet too

Do you know of any retailers or sources for triggered outlets?

My Home Theater Site:

DJ-Theater
AV Doogie is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Marbles_00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeah here's one:
http://www.shopwiki.com/detail/d=110...jumpToFirst=t/

But where's the DIY joy in that? Not to mention if you have most parts (or know someone who does), it is far cheaper to build a triggered AC outlet than buy it...$50 - $60 for one triggered outlet, or $40 in parts (including powerbar) for multiple triggered AC outlets...for future proofing.

My web-o-information:
http://sites.google.com/site/maycreates/
Where I discuss the following projects
-DIY multi-zoning music distribution
-HTPC
-MediaPVR
-UnRAID Server
-and other projects
Marbles_00 is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV Doogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 2,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marbles_00 View Post

Yeah here's one:
http://www.shopwiki.com/detail/d=110...jumpToFirst=t/

But where's the DIY joy in that? Not to mention if you have most parts (or know someone who does), it is far cheaper to build a triggered AC outlet than buy it...$50 - $60 for one triggered outlet, or $40 in parts (including powerbar) for multiple triggered AC outlets...for future proofing.


I agree , but I have never seen a 'cheap' triggered unit....not that I have really looked!

My Home Theater Site:

DJ-Theater
AV Doogie is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamZX11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 20
WilliamZX11 is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 12:26 AM
Newbie
 
DarrenBarrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

Wonderful info guys....The list of apps looks great.....and i thank u....


staffingpower dot com

sentersoftech dot com
DarrenBarrow is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 07:06 AM
 
duvetyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Use a Solid state relay with zero cross switching.
duvetyne is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV Doogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 2,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by duvetyne View Post

Use a Solid state relay with zero cross switching.

Huh?

My Home Theater Site:

DJ-Theater
AV Doogie is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 07:15 AM
 
duvetyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
A solid state relay is a relay that uses a Triac or inverse parallel SCR's as the switching element. Some have trigger circuits that switch the load at the zero cross, for smooth, RF free, load control.
duvetyne is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV Doogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 2,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by duvetyne View Post

A solid state relay is a relay that uses a Triac or inverse parallel SCR's as the switching element. Some have trigger circuits that switch the load at the zero cross, for smooth, RF free, load control.

Zero crossing switching is needed in this situation because?

My Home Theater Site:

DJ-Theater
AV Doogie is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 07:52 AM
 
duvetyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Why would you want to switch at the peak?
duvetyne is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV Doogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 2,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
With this type of equipment....why does it matter? The inrush is manageable.

The only place we use zero cross switching is for power applications where capacitive loads are switched for power factor correction.

My Home Theater Site:

DJ-Theater
AV Doogie is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 12:19 PM
 
duvetyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
We use it whenever we switch a large load, it doesn't add much to the cost, and allows the load to power up smoothly, without the burst of RF usually associated with it.

BTW, no-one said it was needed, it was suggested.
duvetyne is offline  
Old 09-02-2011, 08:35 AM
Member
 
KK20's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reviving this thread as I built a 12v switched 20A outlet with a solid state relay.

It works, however, the amp is humming, similar to a ground loop hum. The hum actually comes from the amp, not through the speakers.

I tried a different (same model) relay with the same issue.

Do I need some transistor/capacitor or something across the 12v side or ???

All suggestions are welcome!

KK20
KK20 is offline  
Old 09-03-2011, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Sounds like the "solid state" relay is doing something nasty to the AC waveform.
Sometimes it's called DC offset.

Do you have an O-scope?
What is the relay's part number?

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 12:04 AM
Newbie
 
findlaypc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For starters, I've been lurking here for years. Haven't had a need to post, yet, because so far just searching the forums has always been able to answer my questions.

I'm adding a 12v trigger to the old Ashly FET-1000 that currently drives my subs. I've ordered a 25A solid-state relay to do the job, along with a heatsink (since it didn't add much to the cost), and it seems like a straight-forward thing to integrate it into the amplifier itself (there's lots of room inside the chassis).

My question is this: Once in awhile, I pull the Ashly out to do actual pro-sound things. And in that world, 12V triggers just don't happen: You show up, plug the amps in, turn them on at the appropriate time, and that's that. Meanwhile, at home, I really would rather have the amp (and its noisy fan, and the power draw) off when not in use, hence the 12V trigger from my AVR.

In order to do both things, I intend to use the Ashly's existing front-panel switch to bypass the SSR. Logically, it will do exactly what I want (it's just an OR gate), but in terms of practicality I'm just not sure since I've never played with SSRs before.

It seems to me that the SSR will always see either 120 or 0 volts across its output terminals, regardless. And to that end, it seems that it will be happy (ie: not catching itself on fire) in any configuration.

But I just want a second opinion before I wire the thing up.
findlaypc is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV Doogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 2,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When you refer to the SSR (Surround Sound Reciever) output terminals, are you referring to the audio output or a set of power outlets on the rear of the SSR?

My Home Theater Site:

DJ-Theater
AV Doogie is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 07:54 AM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
When you refer to the SSR (Surround Sound Reciever) output terminals,

He's referring to a Solid State Relay.

Quote:
It seems to me that the SSR will always see either 120 or 0 volts across its output terminals,

Yes, like any switch.
SAM64 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off