Wall mount LCD in bedroom, where to put Sat Box? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-12-2010, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
spyd4r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
does anyone have any good suggestions for a place to install the Satellite box if you dont have a closet close by to hide it in.

I am looking for a really clean install, and dont really want my sat box just sitting around in my bedroom.
spyd4r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-12-2010, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
drvnbysound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about something like...

http://www.peerlessmounts.com/dyn/Pr...categoryID/392

Can be had on B&H Photo for $48.50 (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ent_Shelf.html)
drvnbysound is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-12-2010, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
spyd4r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
that actually does look pretty nice, its just a shame to have the satellite box stick out so far from the wall.
spyd4r is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 03-12-2010, 10:09 AM
Member
 
GirkMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Get a DirecTV HR24 or H24. They can be wall-mounted flat against the wall and will have a smaller form factor.
GirkMonster is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-12-2010, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
drvnbysound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another option I can think of is to mount the STB vertically behind the TV and add an IR extender so it can still receive commands from your remote.
drvnbysound is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-12-2010, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
spyd4r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GirkMonster View Post

Get a DirecTV HR24 or H24. They can be wall-mounted flat against the wall and will have a smaller form factor.

not an option, i am in canada on bell expressvu. :/
spyd4r is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-12-2010, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
spyd4r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by drvnbysound View Post

Another option I can think of is to mount the STB vertically behind the TV and add an IR extender so it can still receive commands from your remote.

i was thinking abouta vertical mount... my sat box is probably too big though.
spyd4r is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-15-2010, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Morrisville, NC USA
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by GirkMonster View Post

Get a DirecTV HR24 or H24. They can be wall-mounted flat against the wall and will have a smaller form factor.

Actually, the H24 is pretty small, but the HR24 is quite a bit bigger.



Do you have a dresser? Why not just put the box in a drawer, or even underneath it. If you have an RF remote, you are good to go. IF it is IR, you can always do a repeater. Depending on the construciton of the dresser and drawers, you might also need to add a small fan in there.

XBOX Live: SheriffTruman

Do you want a nice Keystone Jack panel behind your TV with HDMI, and Toslink? Check This Thread at AVS
Lee L is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-15-2010, 07:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
spyd4r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am thinking the Dresser is the only way to go since we don't have any sort of small sat box for HD in Canada.
spyd4r is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-15-2010, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sebberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Another perfect example of why CableCARD and a similar, compatible Satellite card would be of great use in Canada.

With so many wall-mounted TVs in bedrooms, etc.. not everyone has a place for a big cable/satellite box. The small boxes are crappy because they don't stack nicely in a component rack.
sebberry is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 03-30-2010, 12:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Leroy_Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I'm understanding your request correctly, the link provided below should solve your issue in spades. I have this present mount in my kitchen which provides mounting for my LCD and shelves for DVD player, sat box, etc.

Hope this helps!!

http://www.omnimountpro.com/pro/Prod...5-bc85ea50b5c8

To Infinity and Beyond!!!
Leroy_Haynes is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 03-30-2010, 03:04 PM
Newbie
 
fiercetimbo17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most cable/sat boxes are small enough to wedge behind the TV between the mount. The mounts typically need to be a tilt mount with a little bit of tilt on them but it always works for me. Matter of fact thats how my master bedroom is done.
fiercetimbo17 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 04-01-2010, 11:28 AM
Member
 
GirkMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Depends on how much you want to fish wire. I have an hdtv in my bedroom fed via Component from a sat box in the basement. I used mini RG59 because it was small and easy to fish five cables. The total run is about 70 feet.

I have a bathroom hdtv fed via a 35 foot component cable I bought from monoprice, fished straight up through the wall from the basement to a wall plate.

I have an hdmi wall plate in my garage fed from the same receiver that drives the bathroom, 35' hdmi cable runs to it. All of my sat receivers also run in sd through a D/A to every tv in the house. I have an I/R repeater/emitter system run through the D/A. So, two sat boxes sit in the unfinished basement, nowhere near any of the tvs that I use (but there is a tv there).

There is no reason that the receiver needs to be in your bedroom. The tv doesn't care. Put it in a closet, basement, wherever. As long as you run the cable correctly, you'll be just fine.
GirkMonster is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 04-03-2010, 09:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
39CentStamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the remote have RF capabilities? Some cable and satellite boxes will allow you to use RF to communicate with them and still output IR for control of the TV. This would save you from buying an IR repeater or RF remote.

As far where to put the box.. what sort of furniture is in the room? There has to be some place you can hide it. If you are putting it inside a drawer be sure that you vent it with some holes out of the back or top of the dresser.

What room is on the other side of the bedroom? Could you put a small cabinet against the wall in one of the adjacent rooms and put the receiver in there? Any closets around the outside perimeter of the bedroom in adjacent rooms?

Custom Installation Blog: http://www.wiremunky.com
User Interface Design Blog: http://www.guijaboard.com
39CentStamp is offline  
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off