Help wiring cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-24-2010, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tom-p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am switching from just cable to cable/ internet and phone package. Currently the cable enters from the outside into my living room. The cable is split and one run goes to the bedroom and the other stays in the living room as seen below



I need to wire cable through the wall to the back bedroom where the Computer is located. I was planning on splitting where it enters and then spit again to run a line for the computer. as seen below



Should I just do a 3 way split at the point where it enters and run three separate cables? Also a friend suggested a signal booster since It will be a long cable run. Should the booster be placed in front of the 2 or 3 way? Thanks for any help.
tom-p is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 04-24-2010, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Of those options, an unbalanced 3-way splitter with the hot leg feeding the cable modem would be better. Should not need an amp.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 04-25-2010, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tom-p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you
tom-p is offline  
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off