Buying my First Home(townhouse).. Best way to get Ethernet/Wire Living Room - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-12-2010, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mwaarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All,

I am in the process of starting to close on my very first home.
It is a town house with 3 full bedrooms upstairs...

There is carpet upstairs and the very first thing I plan on doing is painting/ripping out the carpet.

BUT here is my question to you guys..
What is the best way to run Ethernet to all bedrooms?
I will only need it upstairs in the 3 bedrooms and into the living room hub with my tv/etc...
Should I run it under the new hardwood flooring I plan on putting down?

Also what is the best way to run speaker cable for all 5 speakers?
I want to get the wire hidden somehow..

Also anything else that I should do before moving in??

Equipment I will have in the house:
Bedrooms:
2 Full Desktops
2 HD TV's
UVerse from ATT
1 Xbox 360's
Boxee Box (once its released)

Living Room:
2 NAS's (Ethernet gigabit required)
Popcorn Hour - Media Streamer
1 HD TV
5.1 Surround Setup with Pre-Amp/AMP
Wii
PS3

Thanks for your help in Advance

-Matti
mwaarna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 10-19-2010, 09:37 AM
Senior Member
 
justtaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To get you started:
Do you have a basement? How about an attic?
Where are you setting up your network (where will the cables start from that are going to these three bedrooms)?

This question has been asked a lot, have you taken a look at past responses in case there is a situation similar to yours?

I would always prefer to run cables in walls whenever possible. You can also hide it behind molding, cable raceways, etc.

Tom
justtaint is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 10-21-2010, 01:20 PM
Member
 
jibjib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SE of Seattle
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The first thing I did was figure out how to get from the upstairs to the downstairs. Once you can do this, assuming you have an accessable attic and a basement, it's easy to wire in the walls; down from the attic and up from the basement.

In my home, I was able to do it through a closet. I put the panel in a 2nd floor closet and ran a decent sized conduit down through the first floor closet into the basement with no cutting of drywall, except for j-boxes.

Jack
jibjib is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 10-28-2010, 01:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
abaazov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
don't mean to hijack this post, i have the same question, different configuration. i want to wire 3 bedrooms, living room and kitchen with ethernet cables, starting from basement. the home is a 4500sq.ft. home (basement included). can anyone give me an idea of cost?
TIA
amnon
abaazov is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 10-29-2010, 07:30 PM
Member
 
RAWAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Surrey BC
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://netgear.com/products/home/powerline-and-coax/high-performance/default.aspx



I was in the same boat!
I used one of these with 2 other add on modals as my network would not reach to the spots in my finished house.

Hope this helps
RAWAC is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-01-2010, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Cost is often $100 per drop, for a retrofit.

But, it will depend on how much time it takes for each run.

Plus the cost of any drywall repairs and painting, if any.

Price ranges from $50 to $300 per drop.

All prices are approximate, depending on the quality of the work expected and labor needed.

You can do it yourself for much cheaper, but it will take time to learn how.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-27-2010, 08:02 AM
Newbie
 
zgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WI
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Run smurf tubing in the walls/above the ceilings where you can.... More so future proofing. In 5 years that cat5e now needs to be cable xyz. If you don't to the wiring yourself it also cuts down on the installer costs if it's put in ahead of time as it saves them time.
zgamer is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-28-2010, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Katy, TX USA
Posts: 2,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Here ya go, fellas. Same principles can be applied to any kind of wiring project.

In-Wall Wiring for your Home Theater

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt




Wayne A. Pflughaupt is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-01-2010, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Wayne, that write-up is incredible.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-03-2010, 11:15 PM
 
nikicruise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks
nikicruise is offline  
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off