Does anyone know what this is called - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 03-11-2012, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
edleevm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all please forgive me if i am posting this in the wrong place I need help.

Setup
I currently have a Salamander Synergy and my cable management is ugly
but then I saw these at best buy. These racks rail looking things on the rear of the unit, I asked and the sales guy couldn't find them on the salamander. I am thinking they are probably ordered from somewhere else but I cant seem to find the name or part number

anyone have a clue where I might be able to find these





Rack rail
back rails?
cable management rails

If anyone has an idea where i can get these or what they are called I would really appreciate it

Thanks all

Ed
edleevm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 03-11-2012, 06:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
dharel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Try Mid Atlantic racks or maybe Monoprice and/or Parts Express.
dharel is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 03-12-2012, 03:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 78
They're called lacer bars or lacing bars.

The ones pictured are L-shaped. Round are also available, and cheaper. They come in straight, and offset sizes. The MA lacer bars come in packs of 10, but can occasionally found as singles on eBay.

You need rear rack rails, of course, to use them.

Search at remotecentral.com for cable management pics and tips.

Buy rolls of Velcro One Wrap, black, from Home Depot.

http://www.middleatlantic.com/rackac/cablem/cablem.htm

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 03-12-2012, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
edleevm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Neurorad;21766451]They're called lacer bars or lacing bars.

The ones pictured are L-shaped. Round are also available, and cheaper. They come in straight, and offset sizes. The MA lacer bars come in packs of 10, but can occasionally found as singles on eBay.

You need rear rack rails, of course, to use them.

Search at remotecentral.com for cable management pics and tips.

Buy rolls of Velcro One Wrap, black, from Home Depot.



alright thanks so much you guys are so great love the wealth of Knowledge on this forum
edleevm is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 03-24-2012, 02:36 PM
Newbie
 
Phillip@4lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lacer bars. Altex electronics has them on the shelf if you are in Texas if not you can mail order from them too. And you can buy them in singles. Altex also has the Velcro much cheaper than home depot. They are the only store I've ever seen that has racks and rack accessories on the shelf.
Phillip@4lee is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 03-25-2012, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gizmologist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
If you don't want to order the more expensive machined lacing bars all you need is to go to HD or Lowe's and by a piece of aluminum 1/4" rod stock, cut to the correct length to span the rack rails or the cabinet sides and flatten the ends by pounding them flat with a hammer. Drill a hole in the flattened area and insert a screw into the rack or cabinet.

Rack rails are tapped for a 10/32 thread.

Cheap but effective and relatively easy.
Gizmologist is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 03-25-2012, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Hey, Gizmologist, long time.

Good tip.

Gizmologist, OT, but ever use cage nuts with a MA rack? I see them as an option on the MA site, on some racks, but no specs.

How often do the 10/32 screw holes get stripped?

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-05-2012, 04:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Having unthreaded rack holes means never having to deal with thread stripping. That and it makes the rails a lot less expensive to make. No need to thread holes that may never get used. Just pop on a cage nut and you're good to go.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-05-2012, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Unfortunately, the MA Slim5 can't be configured for cage nuts.

And, haven't seen a WRK 26" deep on eBay for 3 mos.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-06-2012, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gizmologist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I prefer the pre-tapped rails but as an old timer, one thing I do is give the screws a touch of vaseline before insertion. It does not evaporate like thinner oils (WD-40) and allows the screw to be easily loosened if required years after insertion.
Thxtheater likes this.
Gizmologist is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-06-2012, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Thanks for the petroleum jelly tip, G.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off