RG6 for subwoofer cable. 2 runs or split one? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2012, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CanadianZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have used RG6 cable with an F to RCA connector on the end for a number of installs. I wanted to wire my new install theater with 2 locations for my subwoofer. Either to have one at the best of two locations or to run two subs in the future.

Can I use a regular cable splitter at the first location and continue the run after the splitter to second location??

---1st Sub
Line from receiver -------------------[splitter
----------------2nd sub

Thanks, Tony
CanadianZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-02-2012, 05:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Depends on what you mean by "regular cable splitter".

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CanadianZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, what kind of splitter should I get or what specs should I lookfor??

Will there be any signal loss or delay to the second sub??

Tony
CanadianZ is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 08:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Well you could use something like this for RCA connectors:

http://www.audioadapter.com/cgi-bin/...&preadd=action

http://www.audioadapter.com/cgi-bin/...&preadd=action

The type of "splitter" used for TV type signals is NOT what you are looking for.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
jackbuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
"The type of "splitter" used for TV type signals is NOT what you are looking for."

Just wondering, if a RG6 cable can send AV signals all around the city to homes, be split and deliver an acceptable signal, what would be lost content wise if someone substituted a TV splitter for typical Y splitter, on a sub cable using RG6?
jackbuzz is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 11:44 AM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:


what would be lost content wise if someone substituted a TV splitter for typical Y splitter, on a sub cable using RG6?

The loss would be 100% since an RF splitter generally has a high pass filter at 50MHz, and audio tops out at 20KHz.
SAM64 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Why would you daisy chain, and not run both cables back to the equipment? Running both cables back gives you the option in the future to use 2 amps.

With both cables run back, use the splitter at the equipment.

Also, consider other locations where you may ever want a sub, and run cable there too, unterminated behind the drywall. Take pictures.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off