Cross country on a Harley... Need help hard wiring phone charger to a Fatboy - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 06-29-2012, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a motorcycle mechanic and have done all kind of custom wiring to bikes but there is one part of this project that got me scratching head... the 12v to 5v step down.. i search and saw a thread about a guy trying to power a blue tooth on a boat for ipad but didnt get the clear answer I'm looking for.
I am riding cross country in a week, new your to grand canyon then to Santa Monica then back to NY the northern route through the Rockies.
I have all my maps laid out in Google maps which is sync with my android phone so i will have my phone mounted to handle bars for navigation, music, and uploading to my blog ( therapyon2wheels.com if anyone wants to see the pictures from the road starting 7/6/12) ..anyway i need to have the phone pluged in at all times for all this and space is tight, heres what i got going on..
I got male and female Deutsch plugs with all the fixings from wirecare.com to make quick connect at front of bike behind headlight... one side comes from the 12v fused source on bike the other side will be the phone charger so i can take it all off when not needed and just have a plug behind headlight. Phone takes a mini usb connection at 5v power... i took apart an old car charger i had for the phone and saw a circut board in the cig lighter plug part of the charger that has a USB outlet and the coiled wire that leads to phone plug.... I'm guessing this is where the 12v to 5v step down takes place??
I am also wiring a USB and Cig lighter hub into my saddle bags... I'm hoping the stepdown electronic are all in the body of the hub so i can just cut of cig plug and replace with female end of my Deutsch connector... should be right??