Is this an adequate surge protector/power conditioner for my HT? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-25-2012, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
m3ki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I currently have a FURMAN PST-8 PST-6 as my power conditioner and looking to upgrade it.

My setup is:
Marantz-7005 Receiver
Outlaw 7500
Xbox360
PS3
Sharp LC70LE847U
Wii
Klipsch Synergy Sub
And going to add a mac mini

Is this a good power conditioner?
10 Outlet Home Theatre Power Center w/ Data and Video Protection - 3500 Joules

If possible I would not want to spend more than 200$...

Any suggestions are greatly welcome!
m3ki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-25-2012, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ralarcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3ki View Post

Hi,
I currently have a FURMAN PST-8 as my power conditioner and looking to upgrade it.
My setup is:
Marantz-7005 Receiver
Outlaw 7500
Xbox360
PS3
Sharp LC70LE847U
Wii
Klipsch Synergy Sub
And going to add a mac mini
Is this a good power conditioner?
10 Outlet Home Theatre Power Center w/ Data and Video Protection - 3500 Joules
If possible I would not want to spend more than 200$...
Any suggestions are greatly welcome!

I recommend;" whole home" surge protection or grounding equipment. May be offered for a ,nominal monthly fee ,by your electric company, or can be installed by an electrician.

Cheers.
Ralarcon is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-25-2012, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
m3ki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Thank you for prompt reply and the suggestion but unfortunately whole home is not an option since this is a rental apartment and these kind of modifications are not permitted by the landlord frown.gif

Ig
m3ki is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 07-25-2012, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ralarcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3ki View Post

Hi,
Thank you for prompt reply and the suggestion but unfortunately whole home is not an option since this is a rental apartment and these kind of modifications are not permitted by the landlord frown.gif
Ig

Your electrical company can install the equipment for your apartment for a fee. In our area its called "Zap Cap" and its installed at the point of entry into your apartment. Our electrical Co. is TECO. This is installed in their equipment which is not the landlord's property, it's their property.

Cheers
Ralarcon is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-25-2012, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3ki View Post

Hi,
I currently have a FURMAN PST-8 as my power conditioner and looking to upgrade it.
What are you looking for in an upgrade? Why do you think the monoprice unit is an upgrade?

FWIW either should do as a point-of-use surge protective device.
Colm is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-26-2012, 05:06 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
m3ki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well my Furman only has 5 outlets which is not enough. Monoprice one has more and also it is rackable smile.gif
m3ki is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-26-2012, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3ki View Post

Well my Furman only has 5 outlets which is not enough.
That is strange. Every PST-8 I have seen has eight.
Colm is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-26-2012, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
m3ki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
(facepalm) I meant PST-6 is the one I have :S redface.gif
m3ki is offline  
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off