Low Profile TV's & Recessed AC Boxes - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-29-2012, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Audioplus93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NorthWest
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone attempted carving up a Power Plug on a low profile TV? I just installed a Samsung PN64D7000 set and used a low profile wall mount. Used a Leviton recessed 110 outlet and you can't get a square peg in a round hole?
Any comments on why manufacturers would create this kind of issue?
I've attached sample pics of what we have to deal with. I believe the client would go balistic if we started carving up a round power plug permanantly attached to the TV? Samsung TV Power Cord.jpg 4k .jpg file Recessed AC Outlet.png 16k .png file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Samsung TV Power Cord.jpg (4.3 KB, 54 views)
File Type: png Recessed AC Outlet.png (15.8 KB, 46 views)
Audioplus93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-29-2012, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Seems pretty obvious that it is not intended for use with a recessed receptacle, but rather to minimize the amount it sticks out from a flush receptacle. The latter would be more useful to most folks. If you are doing custom installation, it is time to customize. And who knows, perhaps the manufacturer offers the kind of line cord you need as an option.

FWIW I would not try "carving up" the existing plug. I would replace it with an more appropriate one for the situation.
Colm is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-29-2012, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
cshepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
cshepard is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-30-2012, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 77
A 6" extension cord is a good work-around, if you don't want to change out the recessed box to a double or triple gang.



The double gang recessed outlet is often combination LV/line voltage, one side for power and the other side for your LAN category cable connection and coax.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-30-2012, 05:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 77
This is another option, if your small cable box (mounted behind TV) and surround bar also need power.


Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-30-2012, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I used a 4-gang combination LV/line voltage box from Arlington for my last TV. Divider can be moved.





I should have used this one, with the open back for the LV side:



The back plates on the right are 'knocked out' for use.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-30-2012, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Audioplus93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NorthWest
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought I had it covered with one of these, but there was 5/8" drywall & 3/4" plywood backing for the TV mount above fireplace mantle.
back box 72k .jpg file
I would just think it's a whole lot easier fo a major manufacturer of low profile TV's to use a standard AC plug?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SM-RBX-WH-A.jpg (72.0 KB, 26 views)
Audioplus93 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-30-2012, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 77
That last 4-gang combo Arlington box I pictured above can be mounted to 4" thick drywall - before installation, the cover plate is attached to the box. The cover plate is then fastened to the drywall with screws (4 corner holes in cover plate). The "wings" aren't required.

At least I'm pretty sure, that's what I remember from research; didn't use that one, but should have.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off