New electric projector screen-can you switch the side the power cord is on? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-07-2012, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ascinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't been able to find much info about this and the "manual" that came with this screen, but I rember seeing somewhere that it is possible to switch the side of the screen that the power/control cord falls on. Any guides out there on this, is it only on certain screens, etc. I tried searching but came up with nothing.
Ascinder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-07-2012, 12:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,323
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked: 1148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ascinder View Post

I haven't been able to find much info about this and the "manual" that came with this screen, but I rember seeing somewhere that it is possible to switch the side of the screen that the power/control cord falls on. Any guides out there on this, is it only on certain screens, etc. I tried searching but came up with nothing.

I've replaced the screen on a motorized projection screen, and have probably done most if not all of the steps required.

BTW you may have to remove the screen from the roller along the way.

My first reaction is that what you want to do is a lot of work for any good that you might obtain.

If you want to see the parts of the screen to help you work out your strategy, here is a drawing showing them all:

http://www.da-lite.com/products/parts_pdfs/299.pdf
arnyk is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-07-2012, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ascinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Huh, thanks for the info. I thought I remembered coming across some instructions for switching the side the cord was on and it seemed very easy. Almost like: just remove the endcaps and swap the power control circuit board from one side to another. Since mine has motors on both sides, the power is already run across. I can't for the life of me remember where I saw those instructions though. I just don't want to grenade a brand new screen because I missed something simple.
Ascinder is offline  
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off