mounting 75lb plasma tv - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-01-2013, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chrisg9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to mount my 75lb plasma tv on the wall. It's above the fire place and there are no studs. I've drilled a hole to take a look. There is 1/2 inch drywall followed by 1/4 inch plywood. 1 and 1/4 inches further there is concrete (therefore a 1 and 1/4 inch gap between the plywood and drywall). I can fit 3/16 toggle bolts in that gap, but would that hold?? I want to do this properly, but of course the easiest way too. Cheers
chrisg9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-01-2013, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chrisg9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
also want to tilt it. should have mentioned that.
chrisg9 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-01-2013, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
petern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No studs at all? What's the plywood secured to? That 1.25" gap between the plywood and concrete block makes it sound like there are some 2x4 or 1x3's attached horizontally. Can you get a wire coat-hanger into your small hole and probe around with that?

If you want to do it very securely, I would recommend cutting out a square of drywall and plywood behind the TV area, attaching wood to the concrete blocks with tapcons, and then putting the cut-out pieces back in place and attaching the TV mount to that. Or you could replace the area you cut out with plywood and then paint that the same color as the wall.

On the other hand, 1/4" is pretty thin for plywood but if you are using multiple bolts, the wall is firm otherwise, and you are only using a tilt mount (not a cantilever mount where the TV is on a swing arm), I don't think you'll have an issue.
petern is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-01-2013, 10:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chrisg9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you are right. with more probing (using wire) and a lot of small screw holes (ha!) i have determined that there are thicker sections of wood 6 inches apart horizontally. So I will just move the mount so that i am screwing directly into the wood.
That seemed pretty simple. thanks for the quick response.
Cheers.
chrisg9 is offline  
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off