Cat 6 Phone Lines - keystone port and jumps? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 05-23-2013, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
total noob here. newly built house, i wired up a leviton media enclosure with the cat 6 24 port twist and mount patch panel, phone panel, etc - have 16 ethernet runs and 8 phone runs (ethernet runs are cat 6a, phone runs are cat 6).

question - i want to use keystone jacks (leviton). how to jump phone lines off the first cat 6 to another line next to the bed, desk etc? connect blue pairs, i know, but how EXACTLY?

thanks, any help is appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 05-23-2013, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
B-cons...

Make a tee with one leg coming from the panel, one going to the first jack, and one going to the second jack.
post #3 of 5 Old 05-25-2013, 11:42 AM

Liked: 10
Do you have room for a few more jacks in the panel? If so, you can take a few jacks, and wire the blue pair in parallel through each one. That way when you plug a live line into any of those, the rest will be active as well, and can be patched out to any phone run to want. If that's not clear, I can explain further.

Fixed typo, thanks SAM64
post #4 of 5 Old 05-28-2013, 02:12 PM

Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
and wire the blue pair in series through each one.

Don't wire it in series, wire it in parallel, otherwise it won't work wink.gif
post #5 of 5 Old 05-28-2013, 07:34 PM

Liked: 32
RJ-45 Keystones will accept RJ-11 male plugs. You can also get RJ-45 to RJ-11 adapters, that plug into the jack, so you can connect a phone to the jack. The choice is really yours in how you do it. Personally I prefer one base station phone with remote cordless handsets on charger bases, than a bunch of tethered phones all over the house. Figure a phone in the Kitchen, one in the office, one in the Main bedroom, and maybe another in the living room.