Having problem with DIYgene - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-18-2013, 02:23 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Sceptic21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just ordered a complete pre amp from DIYgene. There should be 4 inpunts on this amp, including a balanced one. And now I have just bought me a balanced cable that I need to connect to this input. However I cannot get this input to work. The sound is absent and I dont know where to connect the balanced socket to the print board. It seems to me that this amp has balanced outputs but not inputs!

I have e-mailed DIYgene concerning the problem. But all they have to say is that all inputs should be balanced, even the RCA`s. I dont want to change the connections on the cable because I am not shure what good it would do. Inside the amp I can see where the balanced inputs are placed, but I just cant figure out where the input goes.Can anyone help me with this matter?

Thanks in advance

Kenneth Engebretsen

Here is an image of the amp:



Sceptic21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-18-2013, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Not a particularly clear photo but it looks like a typical differential input op-amp with an inverter for differential output circuit. Just hook the two signal pins of the XLR connector to the PCB where the RCA leads are currently connected. The third lead (the shield) can either be connected to the chassis or ignored.
olyteddy is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-23-2013, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Sceptic21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now I have done my soldering. Coupling the single ended wires to the balanced inputs with my shield to the chassis. But I cant get any sound at all. I am wondering if you could tell me what I have done wrong. Here is a few pictures of how it turned out:


Sceptic21 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-24-2013, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
It's hard to tell , but it looks like you have a wire (badly) soldered to pin 3 and taped to the paint on the chassis...why?
Pin 3 carries the inverted signal. Pin 1 should be ground.
Don't you have a schematic for this thing?
SAM64 is offline  
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off