Using RCA instead of Banana Plugs - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 06-16-2014, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Using RCA instead of Banana Plugs

I am building a built-in 5.1 surround and I purchased a recessed panel that fits Power outlet and 1 more plate insert of my choice. I want to find a more compact banana plug alternative
I am thinking to buy ONE 6 RCA wall plate and use 5 RCA's to connect to my speakers and 1 RCA that will run to my sub(+1 Sub wall plate).
I don't really want to go with 2 plates of Bananas (5 speakers- 10 connectors! + sub) - it is larger than I want and I would have to replace my recessed panel.
This is the panel example: http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-Component...qid=1402948566

I am not a sound pro and decided to check if there are any complications with RCA connectors (that bananas don't have)

IMHO connector is a connector and it should not make any difference (besides the look and maybe audio 'standards')

please advise.

Last edited by rayzak; 06-17-2014 at 09:12 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 06-16-2014, 02:36 PM

Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Are you planning on using normal speaker cable attached to these RCA plugs, or the single conductor + shield normally using with RCA plugs?

I don't think you can connect speaker wire (14 or 16 ga) to an RCA plug. It's designed for much smaller wire sizes.
post #3 of 8 Old 06-16-2014, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter

Liked: 0
post #4 of 8 Old 06-17-2014, 02:39 AM

Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
That's designed for UTP (Cat5e/Cat6) cable. You won't be able to get a decent gauge speaker wire into them.
post #5 of 8 Old 06-17-2014, 04:51 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayzak View Post
I am building a built-in 5.1 surround and I purchased a recessed panel that fits Power outlet and 1 more plate insert of my choice.