Getting Netflix to work with my surround sound receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-11-2014, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Getting Netflix to work with my surround sound receiver

Hello All - Looking for some help on how I can get surround sound from Netflix. I pulled my old receiver out of retirement to hook up to my new Sony TV. I get tv sound but no netflix. Wondering if an Optical cord would work or if my receiver is too old. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Here are a couple photos of my tv and receiver
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-2.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	97.2 KB
ID:	207913  
nsb318 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-11-2014, 02:24 PM
Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Are you streaming Netflix on the TV itself? How do you have the TV and receiver connected? Some TVs (like my LGs) don't do ARC for apps (like Netflix), only OTA. So you need an optical cable from the TV to the receiver in addition to the HDMI cable.
FlyingDiver is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-23-2014, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsb318 View Post
Hello All - Looking for some help on how I can get surround sound from Netflix. I pulled my old receiver out of retirement to hook up to my new Sony TV. I get tv sound but no netflix. Wondering if an Optical cord would work or if my receiver is too old. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Here are a couple photos of my tv and receiver
While something is playing on Netflix, press the down button. Might have to do it twice to highlight the Audio and Subtitles icon. If you get no sound with Surround Sound selected, you may have to select Stereo.

I went through the exact same thing when my Onkyo died and I had to revert back to an old Sherwood.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-30-2014, 05:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Is that the back of the Roku box?
If you have set the Roku in setting / Netflix for surround then you will need the spdif optical cable.
If stereo then it will come from one of those stereo pairs.
What connections a're on the AVR?
SMHarman is offline  
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off