Car front/rear camera switch - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 02-09-2017, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Car front/rear camera switch

Hey guys,

I currently have a media player in my car, and I'm thinking of installing a front camera to avoid scraping on curbs when parking in a lot. My dillema here is that after some reading, I'm not sure exactly how the actual wiring of the switch will be, as I'm also unfamiliar with the internals of an RCA cable. I opened up an extra cable, and saw that there was indeed a shield, with a wire in the middle.

To achieve what I want, can I use a DPDT switch? If my layout is like this on the switch

1 2
3 4
5 6

Would the shield on one cable go on say "1" and the middle wire inside the cable go to "2"?

Aaaaand in case you're wondering why bother with all this work and not buy an RCA switch... I only need the video lines to be switched, not the audio, so I don't need something bulky. The set up I have in mind will also allow me to place the switch in an inconspicuous location, such as the lower dash. Thanks in advance!
jimmyfu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-13-2017, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I wouldn't use a relay for the video wire. It's possible it'll work just fine, but more than likely you're going to pick up a lot of noise when you break the cable geometry (especially in a relay where the coil is magnetic). You're going to want a really small 1x2 switch that accepts a 12V trigger. Automotive suppliers will likely give you a small device that hardwires to IGN and GND. The harder part might be finding something with a built in 12V trigger.

James Babin - System designer (http://www.myeasytek.com).
Like us on facebook!
JT Babin is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-14-2017, 07:39 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Connector the monitor input to '3', connect one source to '1' and the other source to '5'. Connect all shields together.
adam64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off