help with rats nest of wiring. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-28-2017, 05:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dasailr03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
help with rats nest of wiring.

Good Morning

I'm in need so some serious help. I got a rats nest of wires I want to get under control. What do you recommend I can do? What equipment, guides, services, etc can I employ to help me with cleaning up my setup.

One of my biggest annoyances is I have several pieces of equipment that uses odd size & shapes of bricks to the ac adapters which means I can only plug in a few of the electronics to a particular power strip. Some of them are so odd shaped and size that they take up 2 outlets on a power strip. So any advice you can give me would be great.

My current setup involves: modem, router, SFF desktop, printers, portable hdd, soundbar, flat screen tv.

Here is my setup as of now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170528_075252.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	276.7 KB
ID:	2159418  

Last edited by dasailr03; 05-28-2017 at 05:55 AM.
dasailr03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-28-2017, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Step 1, determine what wire goes where. A signal generator and sniffer works for this role. Like from Fluke.
Step 2, label it (dymo wire labeler)
Step 3, put it in a spreadsheet
Step 4, determine what wires you need, and to what devices.
Step 5, Build your rack with equipment. We typically will put higher heat devices (amplifiers) in the top of the rack for convection, and UPS on the bottom. Blank plates to separate higher heat devices.
Step 6, Cut / reterminate connections to make them nice if necessary.
Step 7, Install power strips and plan on UPS / Conditioning / Surge suppression as necessary for each device type.
Step 8, If you need WallWarts, you can put them on 6 inch power extenders. Since many devices are 12 volt...we tend to put a large power supply (like from Altronix) and wire each device directly to individually fused 12 volt feeds. This is a bit easier to clean up the low voltage side and to put a UPS on all of them.
Step 9, power it up piece by piece and test
Step 10, post bragging rights pics on this forum!!

Good luck.

Last edited by smoothtlk; 05-31-2017 at 07:30 AM.
smoothtlk is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-31-2017, 04:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothtlk View Post
Step 1, determine what wire goes where. A signal generator and sniffer works for this role. Like from Fluke.
Step 2, label it (dymo wire labeler)
Step 3, put it in a spreadsheet
Step 4, determine what wires you need, and to what devices.
Step 5, Build your rack with equipment
Step 6, Cut / reterminate connections to make them nice if necessary.
Step 7, Install power strips and plan on UPS / Conditioning / Surge suppression as necessary for each device type.
Step 8, If you need WallWarts, you can put them on 6 inch power extenders. Since many devices are 12 volt...we tend to put a large power supply (like from Altona) and wire each device directly to individually fused 12 volt feeds. This is a bit easier to clean up the low voltage side and to put a UPS on all of them.
Step 9, power it up piece by piece and test
Step 10, post bragging rights pics on this forum!!

Good luck.
What do you use for your 12V power distributor? Anything rackmount?

James Babin - System designer (http://www.myeasytek.com).
Like us on facebook!
JT Babin is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 05-31-2017, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 45
http://www.altronix.com/products/pro...p?name=AL175UL

As one example.

We haven't used one rack mount, but that's not a bad idea.
smoothtlk is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-31-2017, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dasailr03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
wanted something more simpler.

I was looking for something more generic. I don't have the option of mounting anything permanent. I want something to hide the wires. I was thinking more along the lines of enclosure, mounts, ties, etc.
dasailr03 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-01-2017, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 45
smoothtlk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off