Power conditioner - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
  • 2 Post By olyteddy
  • 2 Post By AV Doogie
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 06-04-2017, 06:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Power conditioner

IS a power conditioner really needed or can one use a very good power surge ?
Asgard1an is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 06-05-2017, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
kjfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dennison IL, just across the state line from Terre
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 73
A surge protector will not filter EMF/RFI. It only provides protection for large surges and spikes. It only provides protection and won't help to improve sound quality.
kjfalls is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 06-05-2017, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I was debating whether to get the panamax MR400 for $199 at bestbuy or something better?
Asgard1an is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 Old 06-05-2017, 11:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgard1an View Post
I was debating whether to get the panamax MR400 for $199 at bestbuy or something better?
Better value with battery backup.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0..._al_bw_c_x_2_w

Cheers
ralarcon1 is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 06-05-2017, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralarcon1 View Post
Better value with battery backup.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0..._al_bw_c_x_2_w

Cheers
Can you tell me why it's better? That thing looks like a beast size wise
Asgard1an is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 06-05-2017, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Bestbuy does pricematch newegg.com. So this would be a good deal.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...-021-_-Product
Asgard1an is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 06-05-2017, 05:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV Doogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 2,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjfalls View Post
A surge protector will not filter EMF/RFI. It only provides protection for large surges and spikes. It only provides protection and won't help to improve sound quality.
A surge suppressor can indeed suppress EMI/RFI within the electrical system. You merely need to look for a high quality unit which provides that capability. On the other hand, a UPS or voltage regulating power supply should not be used as your main defense against surges- they make for terribly expensive surge suppressors when they give up the ghost. Install a high quality TVSS/SPD at the main service entrance panel and you will not have to worry about the majority of the electrical vagaries from outside/inside your residence.

My Home Theater Site:

DJ-Theater
AV Doogie is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 06-06-2017, 08:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgard1an View Post
Can you tell me why it's better? That thing looks like a beast size wise
Not expensive at all, you can use them forever, if you replace the batteries, which last years. If you own a projector, a cable or satellite box, it insures that your recordings will not be interrupted , rebooted, because of momentary lapse of power. Is just as good or better power conditioner, dysplays all kinds of Data, and can be computer controlled. And yes I also have a power company surge suppressor at the box, but it is insufficient.

Cheers

Last edited by ralarcon1; 06-06-2017 at 08:22 AM.
ralarcon1 is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 06-10-2017, 09:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,540
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 536 Post(s)
Liked: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjfalls View Post
A surge protector will not filter EMF/RFI. It only provides protection for large surges and spikes. It only provides protection and won't help to improve sound quality.
And neither will a "Power Conditioner" IMHO.
Speedskater and Snoogleheimer like this.

🔥🔥🔥 Sent from my Samsung Note 7 Using Ove Glove™ 🔥🔥🔥
olyteddy is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 06-10-2017, 09:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1556 Post(s)
Liked: 849
agree, what does it do again? i just make sure i have enough plugs/outputs...tv/avr on one outlet and subs/rest of crap on another...probably should dedicate subs, but i have each one on different outlet.

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5 Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is online now  
post #11 of 21 Old 06-12-2017, 04:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
kjfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dennison IL, just across the state line from Terre
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post
And neither will a "Power Conditioner" IMHO.
A power conditioner doesn't "improve" sound, only provides a clean background without static, hum and pops for better clarity. Obviously this isn't as sought after as in the past, evidenced by the new popularity of turntables.
kjfalls is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 06-14-2017, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV Doogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 2,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjfalls View Post
A power conditioner doesn't "improve" sound, only provides a clean background without static, hum and pops for better clarity. Obviously this isn't as sought after as in the past, evidenced by the new popularity of turntables.
Unless you buy AV equipment with really *****ty power supplies, any incoming EFI/RFI and voltage imperfections within the power supply tolerance range will be mitigated by the power supply. A well made, regulated power supply does not allow much to pass into the downstream electronic components.
CruelInventions and olyteddy like this.

My Home Theater Site:

DJ-Theater
AV Doogie is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 06-14-2017, 07:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
kjfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dennison IL, just across the state line from Terre
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Doogie View Post
Unless you buy AV equipment with really *****ty power supplies, any incoming EFI/RFI and voltage imperfections within the power supply tolerance range will be mitigated by the power supply. A well made, regulated power supply does not allow much to pass into the downstream electronic components.
I have good AV equipment with good power supplies. Are you telling me you've never heard a pop or click when an air-conditioner, washer/dryer or a refrigerator's compressor turns on? Anyone in your area have a CB radio? I've even heard the clicking of spark plugs when a car drove down the lane next to my house. Most filtering in power supplies is to take ripple out of the rectified incoming voltage. Unless the unit has an EFI/RFI filter in its power supply, you could benefit from a power conditioner.
kjfalls is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 06-14-2017, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV Doogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 2,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjfalls View Post
I have good AV equipment with good power supplies. Are you telling me you've never heard a pop or click when an air-conditioner, washer/dryer or a refrigerator's compressor turns on? Anyone in your area have a CB radio? I've even heard the clicking of spark plugs when a car drove down the lane next to my house. Most filtering in power supplies is to take ripple out of the rectified incoming voltage. Unless the unit has an EFI/RFI filter in its power supply, you could benefit from a power conditioner.
If you regularly hear pops and clicks from equipment starts in your residence, then you probably have other issues with your electrical service...such as undersized service, poor neutral-ground connections, missing or high impedance ground, incorrect overhead utility insulators, etc. I understand power supply basics very well as I am an electrical engineer and work in the power industry. Again, a high quality TVSS device will have EMI/RFI suppression, and the use of a power conditioner is generally not needed if the rest of the power supply chain is properly installed and working.

My Home Theater Site:

DJ-Theater
AV Doogie is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 06-18-2017, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
david8613's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: bloomfield nj
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I have an apc h15 power conditioner, and on hot days it shows me that it's picking up the slack when everyone in my neighborhood has there air conditioners on, I live in a very conjested area and the power company can't keep up. I'm glad I have this piece in my set up, I'm sure it's giving my system nice clean sufficient power.
david8613 is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 06-19-2017, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I ended up buying a Panamax 5300 and just finished plugging everything into it: receiver, Apple TV and cable box .

Question is, do I turn the Panamax off after use ?
Asgard1an is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 06-21-2017, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Dim the front panel?

I bought the panamax 5300. Can I dim the front panel? Those suckers are bright blue and in front when we watch movies.
Asgard1an is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 06-21-2017, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgard1an View Post
I bought the panamax 5300. Can I dim the front panel? Those suckers are bright blue and in front when we watch movies.
I found the answer in the manual. Front panel has a button that when pressed gives you various intensity options. See page 2 front panel

http://resources.corebrands.com/prod...-PM_manual.pdf
Asgard1an is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 06-23-2017, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
david8613's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: bloomfield nj
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Dont ever shut it off, i dont. Now unless im going to be away for more than 2 weeks, i unplug everything from wall, to be safe, but i do that with everything in my house, except fridge.
david8613 is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 06-24-2017, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by david8613 View Post
Dont ever shut it off, i dont. Now unless im going to be away for more than 2 weeks, i unplug everything from wall, to be safe, but i do that with everything in my house, except fridge.
I leave it for but turn the high powered outlets off. On the 5300 the buttons the left side turns banks 3-5 I believe off
Asgard1an is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 10-15-2017, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dave-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Arlington, Va.
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 250
I live in a condo and the town was testing the electricity last week and tripped the power 3 times in 10 minutes, my furman elite 15pf-i tripped all three times. If i did not have my equipment protected I would have been screwed. The power is always cutting in and out because someone is always doing work in there place and trips the building power, it is really annoying. i live in Arlington vA. just 3.5 miles away from the White House.
Dave-T is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off