Maximum VGA cable length? Cat5 for video? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-08-2003, 10:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MentatYP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm setting up a projector that will require a looooong VGA cable. I haven't measured how long exactly, but I know it will be at least 50 feet.

Does anybody know the maximum run length for VGA cable? Is there a better option to carry a signal from a laptop's VGA-out to a projector's DVI-in?

Second issue: I also need to run cable for the RCA video-in on the projector, same cable length as the VGA cable above. I've heard of RCA-to-Cat5 converters that allow longer runs of video signal in this manner. Are there any significant disadvantages to this method?

Thanks for the help.
MentatYP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-12-2003, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MentatYP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody? Should I post this in a different area?
MentatYP is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-12-2003, 04:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
NizZ8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I'm using a 50' VGA cable from my PC to my Projector with no problems.. i didn't make it myself though, i purchased it off ebay.. pM me if you want more info on it. it cost me a total of 30$ including shipping and all..

The VGA-> Cat 5 soution is pretty expensive from what i've heard.. unless you tlaking about just carrying Component signal over cat 5, i've heard that max with that is around 25' or so..

More Setup Pix / Pix of Setup
Hardware - Sony XL3: Win7sp1 x64 / Q6700 CPU / 120GB SSD (OS) / 2x2TB TV / 8GB Ram / Radeon HD 7700LP / Ceton ETH6 Tuner

Extenders: 3x Xbox360's, 2x Roku 3's

Software: MediaBrowser / MyChannelLogosXL / RecordedTV HD / Plex

NizZ8 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 08-13-2003, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MentatYP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, so we know that 50' will work okay. Does anybody else have any experience running longer lengths or know for sure what the theoretical max is before you need a signal repeater?
MentatYP is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-14-2003, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I think good quality shielded VGA is actually going to be better than Cat 5. It is designed for high bandwidth analog signal. I have heard of VGA working at up to 100 feet, but I have not done this. It will depend on 1) Source 2) cable quality and 3) projector. I would not try this at 1600x1200 resolution at 100 Hz refresh, but 1024 x 768 at 60 Hz, it should be OK - but then I only run 30 feet.
lespurgeon is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-14-2003, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mikedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Good VGA cables can and are run at 1000'. You would not use a signal repeater but a video line driver such as an Extron 202 xi or equivalent. Make sure you get yourself a very good quality cable with proper terminations to avoid ringing or loss. Usually you can do 50' to 75' with no noticable loss on a good cable. Drop by the CRT forum and the guys there can hook you up with some cables I'm sure. I have never used CAT 5 but Ihave done/seen many high end installs and I have yet to see this done.

Mike
Mikedd is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-14-2003, 09:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
shokunin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are number of Extran VGA cables of good quality on ebay. There are other online vendors such as markertek, have inc, and avcable.com that sell good quality VGA cables using Canare, Belden, Gepco cables. 50' of composite RCA cables can easily be ordered from these same places. I would not go the Cat-5 route.
shokunin is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-15-2003, 12:16 PM
Member
 
radubinsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sending video/audio balanced over cat5 is usually for long runs (several hundred feed or more). +-50' is not a very long run. just make sure the cable has adequate shielding. if need be, you can always add a video amp at the equipment location later.
radubinsky is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-16-2003, 12:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MentatYP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the info!

What about the longest run of regular composite cable? I have to run VGA and composite in parallel, because we'll be using some computer output and some plain RCA composite output from devices like VCRs.
MentatYP is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-16-2003, 08:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
mysphyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Midland, MI, USA
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are details on making your own CAT5 video cables here.

My experience has been shielded CAT5 works great for up to 50', unshielded up 30-40', longer at lower resolutions.

It's tough to beat 5 quality RG-6 cables (like Belden 1694A or Canare) for RGBHV connections or three for component.
mysphyt is offline  
Closed Thread Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off