Mounting a 55" Samsung to a wall. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-07-2017, 05:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Mounting a 55" Samsung to a wall.

Looking for opinions on mounting a 33.1lb 55" Samsung LCD... My walls are 1/2 sheet rock directly on top of plaster/lath walls (very very thick walls). I would be using a very basic flat mount that does not extend or tilt and hangs like a picture. Since its pretty hard to locate the studs under all that wall and I'd basically be measuring out 16" centers and guessing, would a toggle be sufficient? Was looking at the snap toggle anchors. They are rated to support to 256 lbs in sheet rock alone.

Does anyone have any experience with these?
Michael Anthony is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-08-2017, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 307
I don't like the idea of mounting TV's without studs. The plaster/lath changes things, but I'm not sure I'd do it there either.

You can find studs in walls, just may take some exploring (cutting) : Or an existing outlet, switchplate, etc as a peek hole. HVAC ducting?

I see guys on this forum that will cut out a section of drywall and replace with a section of 3/4" plywood, for weird stud spacing issues. I'd consider that, perhaps in your case.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-09-2017, 07:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Hard to tell without more hands on, but I think you will be fine.

It's not really that heavy of a TV, and you have apparently a good thick wall. Just get the anchors in well.

And you could put 3/4 ply in front of the wall with multiple attachment points to the wall, and then screw the mount to the ply.
smoothtlk is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 08-09-2017, 01:14 PM
Member
 
woodgieroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 33
USUALLY a receptacle or light switch should be mounted to a stud. If you calibrate your stud finder a few inches away from a light switch, it should be able to pick up when there's a stud as you move it closer to the switch.
woodgieroo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off