how long for rca cable? quality - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-23-2003, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrisintx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How long is good to build a RCA cable for video and audio before loosing video or sound quality?
chrisintx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-23-2003, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WD-40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: PNW
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't answer your question, but I can say that if you use good quality coax cable, you'll have better results than a cheap wire pair cable.

- David

... when I bought my first pair of CRT projectors, nobody ever told me they worked like rabbits!
WD-40 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-24-2003, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
philba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suspect you could make the pretty long will no ill effects. I have a component set and composite that are 44 ft long. I also have several runs in my home's AV dist system that are 100+ ft . no problems at all. I used RG6quad. One run from a camera is about 300 ft and that needs a booster amp.
philba is offline  
Closed Thread Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off