How to make your own HDMI Cables - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 46 Old 12-10-2011, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,905
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Is it possible? Yes. Can it be done reliably? No, especially for long runs. It's hard enough getting factory-made cables to work. The splices will introduce signal 'reflections'.

But, it's a cool project. Nice job.

I think RapidRun and/or AudioQuest had some field-terminated HDMI connectors available, in the past, but I don't they're made anymore; might have something to do with HDMI licensing.

http://www.audioholics.com/news/indu...es-hdmi-cables

Edit - looks like BTX Technologies also offered/offers this field termination technology.

http://www.cepro.com/article/how_to_..._in_the_field/

----------------------------------------------
Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 46 Old 12-11-2011, 08:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Let this thread die PLEASE. It's insanity to attempt to make your own cables with tinny pins and burn ur fingers when perfectly good cables, neatly factory-made cables can be had for $10. U guys must have time to burn and/or make $5/hour.
MrBobb is offline  
post #33 of 46 Old 12-07-2012, 09:34 AM
Newbie
 
Lenny Burch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI cables are extremely difficult to make and requires expensive machinery. However, if you go to www.Cables.com, they can make you any length you need relatively cheap. I purchased a 40' HDMI from them for my laptop quite a few years back. The cable was only $39.99 + S&H, and it is a high quality cable. It works great on my laptop, my tablet, and my blu ray player. I have used it and dragged it around for about 4 or 5 years now and it stands up to abuse. The housing did move a little, but snapped right back on the connector and everything still works fine.
Lenny Burch is offline  
 
post #34 of 46 Old 05-02-2013, 07:34 PM
Newbie
 
jeff6times7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@KurtBJC - Can you clarify what you mean by "inconsistent twist rates"? If two twisted pairs have the same twist rates then the magnetic interference between the two pairs will increase over distance. By changing the twist rates, the magnetic interference between pairs is minimized. Right?
jeff6times7 is offline  
post #35 of 46 Old 05-03-2013, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Haven't seen Kurt around for a while, so I will answer in case he doesn't see your question

Kurt was referring to a quality control issue, the twist rate not being consistent within a single pair. That affects the geometry of the pair. Impedance is a function of dielectric constant and geometry. Any difference from nominal affects impedance and thereby return loss degrading the signal.

Using different twist rates for different pairs in the same cable is one way to minimize crosstalk. However, it increases interpair skew.
Colm is offline  
post #36 of 46 Old 10-26-2013, 01:18 AM
Newbie
 
Anthony Veaudry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anthony Veaudry is offline  
post #37 of 46 Old 10-26-2013, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,631
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 523 Post(s)
Liked: 912
Really doesn't look any more complicated than installing professional TV camera connectors. rolleyes.gif

🔥🔥🔥 Sent from my Samsung Note 7 Using Ove Glove™ 🔥🔥🔥
olyteddy is online now  
post #38 of 46 Old 10-26-2013, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NW Houston, TX
Posts: 10,500
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1216 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Hmmm... "1080p compatible up to 39 feet". At a $1.74 for the bare wire plus $27 for connectors, I think you're better off buying a pre-made cable.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is offline  
post #39 of 46 Old 02-14-2014, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
blk182atn7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
blk182atn7 is offline  
post #40 of 46 Old 02-07-2016, 07:54 PM
Newbie
 
themaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys.. I don't want to make a dvi cable!!!

I want to run a extension through my house to 2 wall terminals.. so am I understanding right that the best way to do this is cat6 or cat5e?

I was looking at this product/video..


I see it doesn't support 4k.. anything that does?
themaster is offline  
post #41 of 46 Old 02-08-2016, 01:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,768
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1360 Post(s)
Liked: 852
If you want to run an "HDMI" connection from one room to another you can easily do that with solid core CAT-6/7, non-CCS, and NOT CAT-6 ethernet patch cable. However, depending on the distance, you will have to terminate the cable with an active termination which is usually something like HDBT (HD Base-T) which is a bit pricey. If you are just going to extend an ethernet connection from one end of the house to another, then you can use the same solid core CAT-6/7 cable and terminate with a punch down keystone jack.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #42 of 46 Old 11-11-2016, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
bigrig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here's my question -

Our house has 7 RCA cables ran from the media cabinet to the TV area. Is it possible to splice on a HDMI connector on each side, and use the RCA cables as the HDMI cable wiring?

Edit - after reading bangs post it sounds like no, need 16 conductors. So - any chance one of these HDMI over Co-Ax adapters could work?
https://www.amazon.com/single-75ohm-...dp/B00HWIWEMU/

Thanks,
Matt

Last edited by bigrig; 11-11-2016 at 12:24 PM.
bigrig is offline  
post #43 of 46 Old 11-15-2016, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigrig View Post
Here's my question -

Our house has 7 RCA cables ran from the media cabinet to the TV area. Is it possible to splice on a HDMI connector on each side, and use the RCA cables as the HDMI cable wiring?

Edit - after reading bangs post it sounds like no, need 16 conductors. So - any chance one of these HDMI over Co-Ax adapters could work?
https://www.amazon.com/single-75ohm-...dp/B00HWIWEMU/

Thanks,
Matt
If your "RCA" cables are made from RG-6 it will work. RG-59, probably still. Mini Coax, there's a slight chance. It probably won't work at all over something twisted.

My personal favorite post in this thread is the HDMI spliced over Cat5. I think that's awesome. I think it could be topped by splicing across 7 RCAs while gathering together all of the shields and eliminating the unnecessary pins like the 19th ethernet pin, and ARC.

That's a science experiment though.... but I'd love to see it! If you want something that works, use HDMI over Coax but make sure you're at RG-6 otherwise there's a chance that it won't work and you'll have wasted your money.

Keep the thread alive!

James Babin - System designer (http://www.myeasytek.com).
Like us on facebook!
JT Babin is offline  
post #44 of 46 Old 11-16-2016, 11:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
bigrig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT Babin View Post
If your "RCA" cables are made from RG-6 it will work. RG-59, probably still. Mini Coax, there's a slight chance. It probably won't work at all over something twisted.

My personal favorite post in this thread is the HDMI spliced over Cat5. I think that's awesome. I think it could be topped by splicing across 7 RCAs while gathering together all of the shields and eliminating the unnecessary pins like the 19th ethernet pin, and ARC.

That's a science experiment though.... but I'd love to see it! If you want something that works, use HDMI over Coax but make sure you're at RG-6 otherwise there's a chance that it won't work and you'll have wasted your money.

Keep the thread alive!
Okay, mini coax with male RCA connectors. Don't think I'm going to try the splice!

"It's an invention, and it makes Non-Stop Rocking possible!"
bigrig is offline  
post #45 of 46 Old 11-17-2016, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I've never tried it on Mini Coax. If you buy it from somewhere that has a super liberal return policy it might be worth a shot. Technically, it shouldn't work, so not how reliable it will be. If it's a short run, which is sounds like it might be, it could possibly do it. You'll need to cut the RCA off both sides of one wire and put F-Connectors on it in order to give it a go.

James Babin - System designer (http://www.myeasytek.com).
Like us on facebook!
JT Babin is offline  
post #46 of 46 Old 11-28-2016, 09:30 AM
Member
 
jocanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just wanted to report my success on splicing HDMI. I accidentally broke the head off an HDMI cable. It was going to be a real pain to replace the cable because it ran through the wall. There would have been no way of pulling it through easily so I was dreading doing that. I spent the better part of two days meticulously soldering all 19 wires + ground to a 20 pin header pin male on the end of the cord coming out of the wall which goes to my projector hush box, and female on the end of a new HDMI cord I bought and then cut into. I was very pleased when I connected it and everything worked flawlessly! Now I have the HDMI cord inside the wall terminating into a wall plate so when I connect my AV receiver I now plug it into the wall plate instead of how it was before where the HDMI cord ran out of the wall and plugged directly into my AV receiver...this way if I ever break the HDMI cable again while moving the AV receiver, all I have to do is buy a new cable, but the one inside the wall is stationary so it won't break again.

A couple things I made sure of when I did the splice was one that all the wires were as close as I could make them to the same length. (However, the quote that says they need to be 1/20,000 of an inch is bogus, at least in my case, because there were a couple that I had bad sold joints on which I had to cut a few mm off the end of the wire and it still works perfectly.) Two, I was very careful to keep wires from shorting. I put really small heat shrink around all the bare wire inside the five shielded sets of three wires (I don't know what these are because they are not connected to ground, but I figured I better keep them from shorting to each other by heat shrinking each one). I then put slightly larger heat shrink around each of the 5 sets of 3 shielded wires so as to cover the end of the little heat shrink and bare wire. I did not worry about adding any more shielding to any of the separately shielded wires or the whole group of wires at all, I just kept the termination point as short as feasible but still giving enough exposed wire to solder onto the male and female headers. I also put little heat shrinks around each and every 19 wires + ground so that when I was done soldering everything to the header I pushed the heat shrinks all down to cover the solder points and blew them all with my heat gun...being very quick about it as not to melt the small wires or plastic header. Once done, I connected both female and male headers and wrapped everything in lots of electrical tape and secured the electrical tape with zip ties, then put it in the wall never to be seen or taken apart again (in other words, I didn't solder to male and female headers thinking I would ever unplug the splice, I only did that because it gave me something to solder to and keep the individual wires separate from each other). I plugged it in and fired up the projector and to my surprise, it worked! I was half expecting it not to work, so I was very relieved when it did.

Edit: I forgot to add, I had to use a voltmeter to map out the pin out for the HDMI cords. They were both made by GE but for some reason they used different color coding, one cord had one color while the other cord used a completely different color for the same pin. Once I had everything mapped out then I could connect the wires that applied to the same pins on the HDMI heads.

Last edited by jocanton; 11-28-2016 at 09:45 AM.
jocanton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off