How should I connect? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-09-2007, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Lungman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barnegat, NJ
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to be able to watch the tv with (7.1) or without (tv speakers) using the XR57.
I'm a noob so if more info is needed please let me know.
Also, after recommending a setup please let me know the cables i'll need to purchase. Assume I have none. I will be purchasing through monoprice.

My Stuff
Panasonic TH-42PD60U Plasma (EDTV)
--Input Terminals:
-Composite Video 2 (RCA)
-S-Video 2 (4-pin mini DIN)
-Component Video 2 (RCA x 3)
-HDMI Interface 1
-Stereo Audio In 4 (RCA L/R)

Panasonic XR57
-1 HDMI Input/Output Input & Output
-1 Video Output RCA
-S-Video Output(s) Yes
-Component Video Output(s) Yes
-Digital Input Yes
-Audio Input Yes
-Optical Digital Out No

Pioneer 640H
- Outputs
Component Video Output Yes
Dolby(R) Digital and DTS(R) Digital Output Yes
-Inputs
S-Video 1 Front Input/ 2 Rear Inputs
Lungman00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-09-2007, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
trekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: West of Mt Diablo
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Are you getting TV over the air or from a cable or sat box?

The fact that an opinion has been widely held is no evidence whatever that it is not utterly absurd.
-Bertrand Russell
trekguy is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-10-2007, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Lungman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barnegat, NJ
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As of now I have Comcast cable going directly into my plasma. In the future I hope to be getting digital cable.
Lungman00 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 Old 02-10-2007, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Lungman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barnegat, NJ
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump
Lungman00 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-11-2007, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
trekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: West of Mt Diablo
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The receiver manual implies that is does not transcode video, so component in=component out and HDMI in = HDMI out.

Receiver to TV - component video, and digital audio (coax or optical)

Pioneer to Receiver -- component video and digital audio (coax or optical)

TV audio out to Receiver -- digital audio and L/R analog stereo. Your TV may need a firmware upgrade to pass digital audio http://www.pasctraining.panasonic.co...downloads1.asp It can be DIY or call Panny service

Video to Pioneer (for recording)- S-video

The fact that an opinion has been widely held is no evidence whatever that it is not utterly absurd.
-Bertrand Russell
trekguy is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-11-2007, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Lungman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barnegat, NJ
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply.
When you say "Video to Pio for recording" Do you mean Video out from Tv to Pio DVR video in?
And with this setup am I hooking the Comcast cable directly to the Tv still or to the Pio DVR first then to the Tv?

Another thing that had me confused was the HDMI and I think you cleared that up for me... No sense in getting an HDMI cable since nothing going through Receiver is HDMI. Correct?

Just to make sure I got it.
I need:
2 sets of the 3 plug rca component cables
3 digital audio, coax or optical
1 set RCA for L/R analog stereo?
1 S-video

Thanks again I appreciate the time.
Lungman00 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-11-2007, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
trekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: West of Mt Diablo
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Sorry I was so driven by a sunny break in the weather that I had go and get in a few miles on my bike.
Quote:


When you say "Video to Pio for recording" Do you mean Video out from Tv to Pio DVR video in?
And with this setup am I hooking the Comcast cable directly to the Tv still or to the Pio DVR first then to the Tv?

I did not see a "cable in" for the Pioneer so I assumed that you were getting it from the TV. If it accepts cable directly it make sense to do that, and if it has an RF pass through (as most do) to connect that to the TV. So CC cable via coax to the Pio and on to the TV. If not use a splitter.
Quote:


Another thing that had me confused was the HDMI and I think you cleared that up for me... No sense in getting an HDMI cable since nothing going through Receiver is HDMI. Correct?

That's what the manual seems to say.

Quote:


Just to make sure I got it.
I need:
2 sets of the 3 plug rca component cables
3 digital audio, coax or optical
1 set RCA for L/R analog stereo?
1 S-video

Ok except the S -video may not be needed. The manual seems to say the the TVs video out from its on-board tuner is composit video. If that's true, and you want to use the TV Guide to run your recorder, then the S-vid cable is not needed. If you you are going to record directly from the cable, then you don't need any addtional cables.

The fact that an opinion has been widely held is no evidence whatever that it is not utterly absurd.
-Bertrand Russell
trekguy is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-11-2007, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Lungman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barnegat, NJ
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks so much for taking the time to help.
Lungman00 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-14-2007, 02:58 PM
Member
 
dantothe4thpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
all that decent gear, and you're running the coax feed directly into the plasma. tsk.

do yourself a favor. spring for the comcast hd package. and a dvr while you're at it the new models are better than the 6412.
dantothe4thpower is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-15-2007, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Lungman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barnegat, NJ
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LOL I know. The direct connection is just temporary. I'm remodeling the family room and the plasma will be wall mounted. And I will be getting the digital package, didn't want to pay for it until I can use it.
The Pio 640 is a DVR. But I'm waiting to complete the room before I hook it up. ;-)
Lungman00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off