connecting PC to TV - need help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-07-2007, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sweetverve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Total newbie here...hope you guys can help.
I am trying to connect my HDTV to my PC as a monitor. The TV has a VGA output, and I've successfully connected to my computer through that. However, I wanted to be able to have both my original PC monitor on and the TV on at the same time, sort of an "extended desktop" deal (mainly to be able to watch movies stored on my PC through the TV, which is not next to the PC but on the other side of the room).
I am currently trying the following set-up, and it's not working:
- I connected a VGA- to - VGA-and-DVI adapter/splitter to the VGA output on my PC
- to the VGA output of the adapter/splitter, I connected my original monitor
- to the DVI output of the adapter/splitter, I connected a DVI-to-HDMI cable
- then I connected the HDMI end of the cable to the HDMI output on the TV

The monitor is on, but the TV is showing "no signal." What am I doing wrong here?
sweetverve is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-07-2007, 03:10 PM
dbc
Member
 
dbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your adapter/splitter is probably analog only, so you would then be trying to make a VGA to HDMI connection, which won't work.

If I understand correctly, the TV has a VGA Input. Why don't you try a simple VGA split?
dbc is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-07-2007, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sweetverve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I connect the TV to my PC through VGA, I need a separate audio connection.
Although I suppose connecting DVI-to-HDMI needs a separate audio connection as well, right?
sweetverve is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 03-07-2007, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetverve View Post

If I connect the TV to my PC through VGA, I need a separate audio connection.
Although I suppose connecting DVI-to-HDMI needs a separate audio connection as well, right?

Yes, DVI is only video. Besides, as the previous poster mentioned, the digital TV input will not accept an analog signal from the video card.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-07-2007, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sweetverve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I do a VGA-to-component connection from my PC to the TV, instead of VGA-to-VGA, just so I wouldn't need a separate audio cable?
sweetverve is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-07-2007, 06:20 PM
 
Targus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No, only HDMI can carry audio as well as video.
Targus is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-07-2007, 08:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sweetverve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if my video card only has a VGA output, there's no way I can connect my computer to the TV via HDMI, correct?
sweetverve is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-08-2007, 06:56 AM
 
Targus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
correct, VGA is not HDMI
Targus is offline  
Reply Tweaks and Do-It-Yourself

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off