Sharp Releases New BD Recorders - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 10-30-2012, 09:43 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TeddyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: In Your Speakers
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sharp is set to releases three new AQUOS Blu-ray recorders in the Japanese market known as the BD-S520 (500GB), BD-W520 (500GB) and BD-W1200 (1TB). No word on global release dates. All three provide the same specification such as DLNA and Sharp Mobile Phone remote and App Support. The Sharp BD-W1200 and BD-W520 feature three TV tuners -- one for viewing and two for recording, while the BD-S520 offers only one TV tuner.

Quote:
the most interesting new update on these new models is Sharp new Thumbnail mode that will create for each show a slideshow of thumbnail helping you to skip a program to the right moment in your show. A nice little add-on that I am sure you will not be able to leave without once used to it!

There is no info on pricing at this time.



Get all your A/V news at: AVS Latest News
Like AVS Forum on Facebook
Follow AVS Forums on Twitter
Wanna join the AVS Forum news staff? Contact me!
.......................................................................................
TeddyP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 10-30-2012, 11:44 AM
Member
 
DigiHand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So...um. Is this a DVR? It sounds like a DVR. But what is the Blu-Ray part about? (Imagining a DVR that records content to Blu-Ray media) rolleyes.gif
DigiHand is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 10-30-2012, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeBlow74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vantuky, Washington
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I hope it can rip a BD.

X-Box Live name: OGgamer1974

If you want to be friends on through xbox network, just send me a request through X-Box Live and mention AVS in the request.

Cheers
JoeBlow74 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 10-30-2012, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
wyattroa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeBlow74 View Post

I hope it can rip a BD.
This is what I was getting out of it..

Sub build http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...et-r-done.html
Center - JBL LC2
Mains - JBL L820
Surrounds - JBL L820
Sub - Dual UXL'18 enclosures,iNuke6000dsp
wyattroa is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 10-30-2012, 02:03 PM
 
Lee Stewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 19,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Both Japan and Europe have these DVRs with BD recorders built into them. It allows programs to be offloaded from the DVR's hard drive onto a BD for archive purposes. These kinds of products are not available in the USA.
DigiHand likes this.
Lee Stewart is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 10-30-2012, 03:07 PM
Member
 
DigiHand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Stewart View Post

Both Japan and Europe have these DVRs with BD recorders built into them. It allows programs to be offloaded from the DVR's hard drive onto a BD for archive purposes. These kinds of products are not available in the USA.

Do they allow you to select the codec for output (DIvx, .Mp4 ect?) I would LOVE one of these. Do you think these will ever be brought to market in the US?
DigiHand is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 10-30-2012, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Sharp, Panasonic, JVC and Sony have released standalone BD recorders for quite a number of years in Japan. Why they never come to US/Canada is a question mark for me.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 10-30-2012, 03:18 PM
 
Lee Stewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 19,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiHand View Post

Do they allow you to select the codec for output (DIvx, .Mp4 ect?) I would LOVE one of these. Do you think these will ever be brought to market in the US?

Probably not because of the diverse amount of content delivery providers (CBL/SAT/TELCO). In Europe and Japan - just a few.
Lee Stewart is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 10-31-2012, 01:16 PM
Newbie
 
durangorob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDCP & DMCA
durangorob is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-10-2012, 08:08 AM
Member
 
value's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Toshiba BD recorder with a DVR. Also has a SAT decoder. Great to record with. I'm sure they won't allow them stateside because of the copyright rules and the movie studio's.
value is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-15-2012, 07:31 PM
Senior Member
 
fritzi93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by durangorob View Post

HDCP & DMCA

Yeah.

No way you'll be able to record off a cable/sat box in HD via HDMI. In SD maybe. And since there's been a concerted push in the last few years to close the analog hole, I have to wonder if these units will sport component inputs? They have tuners, so there must be cable input. I'm thinking OTA broadcast and ClearQAM channels would probably be all you'd get in HD.

Rip Blu-Rays? Not a chance.
fritzi93 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 11-16-2012, 12:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,475
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 253
I have a couple HTPCs that can record in HD and even burn a BD of the recordings. There is no official way to offload copy once content but all of my channels are copy freely except SHO.
olyteddy is offline  
Reply Latest Industry News

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off