Sherbourn Now Sells Direct to DIY Consumers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 Old 03-15-2013, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
VinnyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50

High-end AV processors and multi-room systems are most often available only from a dealer or custom installer, usually at a hefty markup. If you want to avoid that markup, and you're more interested in doing the installation yourself, you should know that Sherbourn has just announced it will now sell its highly regarded AV products directly to consumers, bypassing distributors and dealers and saving you a boatload of cash.

For example, check out Sherbourn's flagship AV processor, the PT-7030. It offers six HDMI 1.4a inputs with two HDMI outputs, one of which is compatible with ARC (Audio Return Channel). On the inside, a multiband parametric EQ allows precise room correction, each channel has its own adjustable crossover point, and a Genesis Torino video engine provides true 10-bit processing.

Outputs include a full set of 7.2 balanced and unbalanced line-level connections. For anyone wishing to add a little multi-room audio and video, the PT-7030 provides up to three additional zones of 2-channel analog audio and composite video. And here's something you won't find on most big-box store AV receivers: the RS-232 port and 12V triggers found mostly on CI (custom-installation) products.



Streaming from mobile devices is certainly a popular trend these days, and this processor delivers here as well, with a USB port to read media files from a USB drive. Or you can stream music from your phone directly to a USB Bluetooth dongle included in the box. The best part is you can order this unit on the Sherbourn website for roughly $1600.

The PT-7030 isn't complete without the backbone of the system, the PA 7-350. This fully discrete, high-current, 7-channel power amp puts out a whopping 350 watts RMS (20Hz-20kHz, <0.1% THD @ 8ohm) and 550 watts RMS (20Hz-20kHz, <0.1% THD @ 4ohm). It uses a short-signal-path class AB amplification with Soft Switch Optimized Class-H power-supply topology. With all it has going for it, the PA 7-350 should seriously rock the house.



For 15 years, Sherbourn has been well known and respected by custom installers and AV professionals. Now, it claims to be the first manufacturer of high-end AV products to sell direct to consumers. Won't that alienate its dealers? Not at all—Sherbourn plans to maintain good relationships with its entire dealer network. In fact, the company is offering incentives to its existing and new dealers who want to carry the company's products.


For more information, visit their website: www.sherbourn.com.

Get all your A/V News at: AVS Latest News

Like AVS Forum on Facebook
Follow AVS Forums on Twitter

AVSForum
Bringing the AV Community Together
********************************************************
VinnyS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 Old 03-16-2013, 04:08 AM
Member
 
BoblK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Where is the RS-232 port ? I don't see one.
BoblK is offline  
post #3 of 35 Old 03-16-2013, 05:44 AM
Senior Member
 
fschris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoblK View Post

Where is the RS-232 port ? I don't see one.

what is a rs-232 port for anyway... i have not used those since I was a tech configuring routers ...seems like most updates would be through USB...unless it offered some dbug options

FSChris
ASROCK H67 GE / HT
Core i3

Carver AV-705 5Channel AMP
Zaph 2.5MM TT'S DIY

Emotiva XPA3

Emotiva UMC 200

2 x MFW 15 Clones DIY

fschris is offline  
post #4 of 35 Old 03-16-2013, 05:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
VinnyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoblK View Post

Where is the RS-232 port ? I don't see one.

It's the "computer" port that you see that looks like an Ethernet port. It is strictly a communication port used for RS-232 codes. I had to double check as well...lol

Get all your A/V News at: AVS Latest News

Like AVS Forum on Facebook
Follow AVS Forums on Twitter

AVSForum
Bringing the AV Community Together
********************************************************
VinnyS is offline  
post #5 of 35 Old 03-16-2013, 05:57 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
VinnyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by fschris View Post

what is a rs-232 port for anyway... i have not used those since I was a tech configuring routers ...seems like most updates would be through USB...unless it offered some dbug options

RS-232 is mostly used today for control. You can hook up the processor to an automation system and control using touchscreen keypads or tablets/smartphones.

Get all your A/V News at: AVS Latest News

Like AVS Forum on Facebook
Follow AVS Forums on Twitter

AVSForum
Bringing the AV Community Together
********************************************************
VinnyS is offline  
post #6 of 35 Old 03-16-2013, 06:05 AM
Member
 
BoblK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you VinnyS. I thought it was an ethernet port too. I've never seen an RS-232 port like that one. I guess that shows how old I am!
BoblK is offline  
post #7 of 35 Old 03-16-2013, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
VinnyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoblK View Post

Thank you VinnyS. I thought it was an ethernet port too. I've never seen an RS-232 port like that one. I guess that shows how old I am!

When I read the manual, they said it comes with an RJ-45 to RS232 adapter. Why didn't they choose to go with a DB9 port instead?...no clue.

Get all your A/V News at: AVS Latest News

Like AVS Forum on Facebook
Follow AVS Forums on Twitter

AVSForum
Bringing the AV Community Together
********************************************************
VinnyS is offline  
post #8 of 35 Old 03-16-2013, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,962
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Huh, that SR-8100 actually looks pretty intriguing, but they have like zero details on it up at the moment.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #9 of 35 Old 03-16-2013, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
VinnyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post

Huh, that SR-8100 actually looks pretty intriguing, but they have like zero details on it up at the moment.

Yes, no manual to be found. I tried looking it up as well.

Get all your A/V News at: AVS Latest News

Like AVS Forum on Facebook
Follow AVS Forums on Twitter

AVSForum
Bringing the AV Community Together
********************************************************
VinnyS is offline  
post #10 of 35 Old 03-16-2013, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
VinnyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
BTW, Sherbourn offers 30 day trial for their products. So you can purchase it, try it out on your system and if your not satisfied with the components, you can call them up for a full refund.

Not only that, but they offer a 5 year warranty.

Get all your A/V News at: AVS Latest News

Like AVS Forum on Facebook
Follow AVS Forums on Twitter

AVSForum
Bringing the AV Community Together
********************************************************
VinnyS is offline  
post #11 of 35 Old 03-16-2013, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinnyS View Post

When I read the manual, they said it comes with an RJ-45 to RS232 adapter. Why didn't they choose to go with a DB9 port instead?...no clue.

RJ-45 connectors are great for RS-232 from a cabling point of view. But some people are likely to stick a live network cable in there and it could do some damage.

And where's the actual network port? The specs say it supports ethernet control.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #12 of 35 Old 03-16-2013, 12:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tank_PD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I'm not sure I believe their amp rating off a single 15A circuit.
Tank_PD is offline  
post #13 of 35 Old 03-16-2013, 04:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
jevans64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I was looking at the PA 7-350 before eventually getting an Emotiva XPR-5. Sherbourn is under the same parent company as Emotiva and they decided to use the same direct-sales model with Sherbourn. The XPR-5 and PA 7-350 share a lot of the same components but the asking price was too high for me at the time. The new pricing of the Sherbourn gear is a lot more affordable now.

Both the PA 7-350 and XPR-5 should have had two power cords like the D-Sonic stuff. Both of these amplifiers have a maximum power pull rating of 29 amps, which is impossible on even a 20 amp circuit, much less a 15 amp. I can run 30 amp into my A/V room but that would require the amp's circuitry be totally rebuilt using something like a NEMA L5-30P twistlock socket on the amps.

HD-DVD = 94
Blu-Ray = 120 ( 24 Warner red2blu )
jevans64 is offline  
post #14 of 35 Old 03-17-2013, 09:06 PM
Just add water and stir
 
zuluwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 461
zuluwalker is offline  
post #15 of 35 Old 03-18-2013, 08:49 AM
Member
 
swirl54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new receiver they make is very interesting too. I'd love to try it out.
swirl54 is offline  
post #16 of 35 Old 03-18-2013, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tank_PD View Post

I'm not sure I believe their amp rating off a single 15A circuit.

Maybe that is why the amp has a 20A plug? cool.gif

and from the manual:
Quote:
Note: We STRONGLY recommend that the PA 7-350 be attached to a dedicated power
circuit. Under real-world conditions, with typical loads, playing music, the
PA 7-350 will deliver full dynamic power when attached to a single dedicated
115 VAC 20 A circuit! If the PA 7-350 is to be used for demanding commercial
applications or under laboratory conditions, a dedicated 230 VAC 30 A circuit
is REQUIRED.

Remember, pro install gear not wall-mart stuff. biggrin.gif
bootman_head_fi is online now  
post #17 of 35 Old 03-18-2013, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
KingLeerUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

RJ-45 connectors are great for RS-232 from a cabling point of view. But some people are likely to stick a live network cable in there and it could do some damage.

And where's the actual network port? The specs say it supports ethernet control.

I didn't see in their specs where they claim Ethernet control protocols. The USB port on the back of the unit is for a Bluetooth dongle to allow content streaming from Bluetooth enabled devices, but the unit is not advertised with Internet radio or networking protocol support.

KingLeerUK is offline  
post #18 of 35 Old 03-18-2013, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 145
On their website (here, under Overview) it says "3-zone, ethernet control and RS232 remote with extensive driver set". But without a network port it's pretty obvious there is no ethernet control.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #19 of 35 Old 03-18-2013, 09:25 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 280
wse is offline  
post #20 of 35 Old 03-18-2013, 11:05 PM
Member
 
DrZaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The 7x350 has a 10 year warranty eek.gif

http://www.sherbourn.com/products/pa7350
DrZaus is offline  
post #21 of 35 Old 03-19-2013, 12:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tank_PD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by bootman_head_fi View Post

Maybe that is why the amp has a 20A plug? cool.gif

and from the manual:
Remember, pro install gear not wall-mart stuff. biggrin.gif

Ok, so not for houses.
Tank_PD is offline  
post #22 of 35 Old 03-19-2013, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tank_PD View Post

Ok, so not for houses.

Ok for houses with 120/20A lines (or even better 240/30A lines).

If you don't have any available, then yes, probably not the best amp choice for you.
bootman_head_fi is online now  
post #23 of 35 Old 03-19-2013, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 8,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Even if these Chinese made products have a great quality and performance vs. buck ratio, the fact still remains their products look butt-ugly. biggrin.gif

The chassis, especially for their receiver and pre-amp, look about as utilitarian as they come.

Their pre-amp costs look to be about the same as the Integra line up (even at direct-to-consumer prices). However, Sherbourn is lacking an upper pre-amp model with 11.2 audio outputs and full DTS Neo:X decoding. They also lack Audyssey calibration, which the Integra's offer.

I wonder which is the better buy and if Integra's pre-amps suffer from the same HDMI board problems plaguing their sister company, Onkyo. Hopefully, Sherbourn doesn't source their components from the same OEM supplier.

Listen up, studios! Just say "NO" to DNR and EE!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #24 of 35 Old 03-19-2013, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post

Even if these Chinese made products have a great quality and performance vs. buck ratio, the fact still remains their products look butt-ugly. biggrin.gif

The chassis, especially for their receiver and pre-amp, look about as utilitarian as they come.

Their pre-amp costs look to be about the same as the Integra line up (even at direct-to-consumer prices). However, Sherbourn is lacking an upper pre-amp model with 11.2 audio outputs and full DTS Neo:X decoding. They also lack Audyssey calibration, which the Integra's offer.

I wonder which is the better buy and if Integra's pre-amps suffer from the same HDMI board problems plaguing their sister company, Onkyo. Hopefully, Sherbourn doesn't source their components from the same OEM supplier.

Are most of the pro type installations usually in a rack hidden from view?
If so, there is your answer to the decisions behind the aesthetics. wink.gif
bootman_head_fi is online now  
post #25 of 35 Old 03-20-2013, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
VinnyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post

Even if these Chinese made products have a great quality and performance vs. buck ratio, the fact still remains their products look butt-ugly. biggrin.gif

The chassis, especially for their receiver and pre-amp, look about as utilitarian as they come.

Their pre-amp costs look to be about the same as the Integra line up (even at direct-to-consumer prices). However, Sherbourn is lacking an upper pre-amp model with 11.2 audio outputs and full DTS Neo:X decoding. They also lack Audyssey calibration, which the Integra's offer.

I wonder which is the better buy and if Integra's pre-amps suffer from the same HDMI board problems plaguing their sister company, Onkyo. Hopefully, Sherbourn doesn't source their components from the same OEM supplier.


Although Onkyo confirms that the HDMI problem has been resolved. I still hear of some of the Integra pre-pro still having the HDMI board issue. I don't believe they source their HDMI boards at the same place.

It's not an 11.2, but I don't suspect many people are even running 9.2 yet. 11 channels is another story and they would need to license DTS NeoX and that certainly brings up cost.

Get all your A/V News at: AVS Latest News

Like AVS Forum on Facebook
Follow AVS Forums on Twitter

AVSForum
Bringing the AV Community Together
********************************************************
VinnyS is offline  
post #26 of 35 Old 03-20-2013, 10:32 AM
Just add water and stir
 
zuluwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 461
I learned that since Sherbourn moved to direct internet sales that several local dealers in my area dropped the line. Not enough margin? Good for the consumer!

But is it fair to say that is used by Pro's anymore? Seems more like it is now mainstream. Don't get me wrong, I am more than happy to save $$$, but is the advertising correct anymore?



Pro would indicate "professionals" are involved. Not DIY.
zuluwalker is offline  
post #27 of 35 Old 03-20-2013, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
VinnyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by zuluwalker View Post

I learned that since Sherbourn moved to direct internet sales that several local dealers in my area dropped the line. Not enough margin? Good for the consumer!

But is it fair to say that is used by Pro's anymore? Seems more like it is now mainstream. Don't get me wrong, I am more than happy to save $$$, but is the advertising correct anymore?



Pro would indicate "professionals" are involved. Not DIY.

The advertising is simply stating that Sherbourn was solely sold through the CI channel (Custom Installation) and now consumers can purchase their Pro-Caliber products directly. Even though it is mainstream now, the product hasn't changed (for now anyways) and has many features that would only be found in CI products.

Get all your A/V News at: AVS Latest News

Like AVS Forum on Facebook
Follow AVS Forums on Twitter

AVSForum
Bringing the AV Community Together
********************************************************
VinnyS is offline  
post #28 of 35 Old 03-20-2013, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
KingLeerUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

On their website (here, under Overview) it says "3-zone, ethernet control and RS232 remote with extensive driver set". But without a network port it's pretty obvious there is no ethernet control.

Perhaps the implied functionality is that Ethernet control is accomplished via an Ethernet-to-serial control/command conversion on the RS-232 connected device (automation server, etc.) as the RS-232 implementation does not make mention of Ethernet control either.

The unit most certainly doesn't have an Ethernet port; dedicated or USB-dongle. I would surmise that their Spec Overview was mis-typed.

KingLeerUK is offline  
post #29 of 35 Old 03-20-2013, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Anyway to get dimensions on the cooling unit? I clicked on the manual and couldn't get it to open up.. thanks in advance..smile.gif

taxman48 is offline  
post #30 of 35 Old 03-20-2013, 08:18 PM
Just add water and stir
 
zuluwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinnyS View Post

The advertising is simply stating that Sherbourn was solely sold through the CI channel (Custom Installation) and now consumers can purchase their Pro-Caliber products directly. Even though it is mainstream now, the product hasn't changed (for now anyways) and has many features that would only be found in CI products.

Let's hope for that! Maintaining the integrity of this product is high on my wish list. I am very satisfied with the Sherbourn gear I own.
zuluwalker is offline  
Reply Latest Industry News

Tags
Sony Xm Sd22x 2 Channel 1200w Amp
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off