Logitech Harmony at CEDIA 2013 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 09-27-2013, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Wilkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 1185

 

More AVS CEDIA Coverage

See Scott Wilkinson in conversation with:

 

Joe Kane

Theo Kalomirakis

Anthony Grimani

Gregg Loewen

Dennis Erskine

Logitech

Bryston

Da-Lite

Onkyo

Screen Innovations

DVDO

Epson

Kordz

JVC

Darbee

CasaTunes

Harman

Monoprice

Laurie Fincham

David Abrams

Peter Vasay

Kevin Miller

Jeff Parkinson

Tributaries


Scott Wilkinson
AVS Editor
Scott Wilkinson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 09-28-2013, 09:51 PM
Newbie
 
lcjr71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Logitech Harmony Touch and was wondering if it also would be able to control my Grafik Eye? I was waiting to program it until I had my cable box installed in my home theater.

lcjr71 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 09-30-2013, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,797
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcjr71 View Post

I have the Logitech Harmony Touch and was wondering if it also would be able to control my Grafik Eye? I was waiting to program it until I had my cable box installed in my home theater.

Yes, via IR. You'd have to put an IR emitter on the front IR target if it is a traditional Grafik Eye. If it is a Grafik Eye QS the IR is hard-wired into the rear of the unit.
TMcG is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 10-01-2013, 11:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If the transport buttons were below the screen this thing would be almost perfect.

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 10-02-2013, 04:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Keith Mickunas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wylie, TX, USA
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBRSteve View Post

If the transport buttons were below the screen this thing would be almost perfect.

It's really a nice layout, it took me very little time to adapt to it, and I no longer have to think about which set of buttons my finger is resting on. Switching from the transport down to the d-pad is effortless.
Keith Mickunas is online now  
post #6 of 13 Old 10-02-2013, 06:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Mickunas View Post

It's really a nice layout, it took me very little time to adapt to it, and I no longer have to think about which set of buttons my finger is resting on. Switching from the transport down to the d-pad is effortless.
How does it compare to harmony one and 900 in regards to ergonomics?

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 10-02-2013, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Keith Mickunas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wylie, TX, USA
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBRSteve View Post

How does it compare to harmony one and 900 in regards to ergonomics?
I can't really say, I used an 890 before and it's worlds apart. It's hands down the best remote I've used. You should read up on it in the Remotes forum here. Most people that have bought one love it.
Keith Mickunas is online now  
post #8 of 13 Old 10-02-2013, 06:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,211
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBRSteve View Post

How does it compare to harmony one and 900 in regards to ergonomics?
There is the glaring omission of skip buttons, which I personally could not tolerate, as I use those hundreds of times per day. They have some clever work-arounds which are gestures or long button presses. But I'll wait for the next version, hopefully with real buttons.

Besides that, it's in a totally different league. You get long sequences (10 steps), smart-phone integration, native PS3 and Wii control, wi-fi updates, less bulk, higher resolution, better RF range, quicker response, etc. Logitech did a very good job on this model.
mdavej is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 10-02-2013, 06:41 PM
Member
 
JRoX85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Meh, think I'll be keeping my one.. no sense in killing my phone battery.. harmony needs to come out with voice activated activities then i will buy another..

It's all fun and games until my wife notices something new in the entertainment center
JRoX85 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 10-08-2013, 04:28 AM
sr
Senior Member
 
sr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The Ultimate has two major deficiencies - the backlighting is so poor, it is virtually useless in a totally dark room, and the button layout is less convenient as compared with the button layout on the Harmony One. However I will give it credit for improving the programming software and extended RF range as compared with the Harmony 900.
sr is online now  
post #11 of 13 Old 10-08-2013, 03:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Keith Mickunas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wylie, TX, USA
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I've never had a problem with mine in the dark, other than finding it since it's black. The backlight is more than bright enough and works well in all conditions for me. Also the button layout is very intuitive. I learned it within a few days, it's much better than any other remote I've used, having the separation between the transport buttons and other controls is good as it makes it less likely that you'll be confused about what button you are pressing when not looking at the remote.
Keith Mickunas is online now  
post #12 of 13 Old 10-08-2013, 03:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,211
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Sr may be confusing the Smart Control with the Ultimate. I don't see how you could miss the Ultimate in the dark.
mdavej is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 10-09-2013, 04:03 AM
sr
Senior Member
 
sr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
When you compare the screen and button brightness with that of the Harmony One or Harmony 900, it is easily half the brightness. Even tech support agreed with me. Their reasoning was that their design goal was to extend battery life. I do admit that my vision is not as good as it use to be...just one of the drawbacks of getting old. I wish that Logitech did not stop manufacturing the previous models, but rather improve them as they were the ideal remote for my setup. I am a big TiVo fan and the Harmony 900 has just about the same amount of hard buttons to match the TiVo's remote making it a perfect companion for my system.
sr is online now  
Reply Latest Industry News

Tags
Logitech Harmony Advanced Universal Remote 659 , Logitech Harmony One Advanced Universal Remote , Logitech , Cedia 2013

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off