Ready for Prime Time: Amazon Fire TV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Writer @ AVS
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 5,633
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1097 Post(s)
Liked: 2259

Today Amazon announced its latest piece of hardware, the Amazon Fire TV. It's a $99 set-top box that competes with the likes of Apple TV and Roku. The new device offers 1080p video along with Dolby Digital Plus surround sound from a large number of sources including Netflix, Prime Instant Video, Hulu Plus, WatchESPN, and more.

 

Amazon's Fire TV competes with Roku 3 and Apple TV at the $99 price point 

 

In addition to streaming video, Fire TV also supports video games. There is even a dedicated controller—the $40 Fire Game Controller. Fire TV launched with over 100 games, and Amazon promises that thousands more will be available shortly.

 

With its $99 price, the new box costs the same as a Roku 3 or Apple TV, and Amazon says the Fire TV has better specs and more features than the competition. That's true for the hardware—Fire TV features 2 GB of RAM, 8 GB of internal storage, a quad-core processor, a USB port, voice search, and an optical-audio output with Dolby Digital Plus.

 

Amazon's Fire TV offers the most features at the $99 price point when compared to Roku 3 and Apple TV

 

The Fire TV is available immediately. Amazon says that it outperforms the competition's offerings and that it's a panacea for budget-conscious gamers. Is that enough to convince you to spend $99 on yet another set-top box? I know I'm curious.

 


 

Like AVS Forum on Facebook

Follow AVS Forum on Twitter

+1 AVS Forum on Google+


Find out more about Mark Henninger at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
imagic is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Anyone know if will can do 24p for movies?
thrillcat likes this.
primetimeguy is online now  
post #3 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 03:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cryofax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No HBOGO? Will this allow sideloading of whatever I want or be a full locked down walled garden version of Android?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Oblivion media (including the home of Valk's Videos)
Fan Fiction (Home of Cryofax & Turin's Tales)
Dark Journeys (The Oblivion mod by the Guild Team)
Cryofax is offline  
post #4 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 04:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 1392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cryofax View Post

No HBOGO? Will this allow sideloading of whatever I want or be a full locked down walled garden version of Android?

Yes, you can sideload.

https://developer.amazon.com/sdk/asb/app-install.html

Tools to root it completely are probably already available.

Even if it doesn't do everything out of the box with stock software, it's going to be the most hackable streamer/game console ever made.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #5 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 50
It seems to be mostly redundant to the Roku, although gaming might be interesting for casual gaming. I'm glad they put an Ethernet port on there, that's the biggest failing of the Chromecast... if your 2.4ghz band is a mess, good luck getting good connectivity to the thing...
reddice likes this.
BiggAW is offline  
post #6 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
ahmedreda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Does it support an IR remote?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ahmedreda is offline  
post #7 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmedreda View Post

Does it support an IR remote?

nope

primetimeguy is online now  
post #8 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Is it safe to assume that any app/channel that works with the Chromecast will work with this? Or will they have to develope two versions of the same app?
HockeyoAJB is online now  
post #9 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
ahmedreda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Seems like a good device but this may be a deal breaker for me. I try to use devices I can control with my harmony.
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetimeguy View Post

nope


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ahmedreda is offline  
post #10 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 06:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 1392
Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyoAJB View Post

Is it safe to assume that any app/channel that works with the Chromecast will work with this? Or will they have to develope two versions of the same app?

 

I'm pretty sure chromecast doesn't run full blown android, so no. But just about anything available already on android should be an easy port, especially anything running on kindle fire. I expect the software library will grow exponentially over the next week or two.


Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #11 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Radio81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Pretty sweet and should run XBMC very well with those specs
Radio81 is online now  
post #12 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
DavidMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just ordered one to try out. Can anyone tell if it lets you stream video from your PC or network (NAS)?
DavidMP is offline  
post #13 of 132 Old 04-02-2014, 10:11 PM
Member
 
lament's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidMP View Post

Just ordered one to try out. Can anyone tell if it lets you stream video from your PC or network (NAS)?
Yes, via the Plex app.

oh hi.
lament is offline  
post #14 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 12:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tank_PD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by lament View Post

Yes, via the Plex app.

Does that include downloaded amazon video files or do you have to use their stupid Unbox player still?
Tank_PD is offline  
post #15 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 02:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
losservatore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Nice specs and features but just one last touch xbmc cool.gif.

Panasonic 65VT60 / Marantz SR7005 / Marantz UD7007 /PSA XS30 /Revel Performa3 F206 / Revel Performa3 C205 / Revel Surrounds/Sonos Connect/ Roku 3 / Amazon Fire tv / Xbox One / HTPC / Darbee 5000 /Sonos play:1 for bedrooms,kitchen,bathroom/Master bedroom Sonos sound bar/Sonos sub and Sonos play 1 surrounds.
losservatore is offline  
post #16 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 03:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, Not as far east as Vegas
Posts: 1,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 159
The question is will this stream Amazon better than a 50 dollar Roku 2. Also Dolby Digital Plus can't be sent over an optical connection but the optical connection has uses say for music streaming so you don't have to have the TV on all the time, which is why Apple TV's have them. Why Roku didn't add an optical out is a mystery.
Another thing that makes me wonder is lack of DLNA support. of this device. If this device was 50 dollars they have a winner at 99 dollars not so much so. Now if they has a deal with Prime and and a discounted box bundle that would change things.

"Bring out yer dead!".."Wait I'm not dead yet!"..(Sound Austrian here) "WRONG !!" (You know what happens next..)
tenthplanet is offline  
post #17 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 04:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Phrehdd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 98
This unit looks like a decent step for Amazon into the likes of Roku and ATV3 etc. For me it is a no go for some very simple reasons -

Does not support DTS or for that matter any HD audio. Between my TV, TiVo and Blu Ray player, I pretty much have a full line of net services such as Amazon Prime, Netflix etc. I don't fancy bluetooth remotes as I prefer the traditional IR or RF set ups.

I do how ever look forward to some intelligent reviews on this new item with a contrast and compare to devices already in the market (again Roku, Chromecast and ATV etc.). Amazon should consider unloading these at half price for those that have Amazon Prime to keep them in the Amazon eco system (just strategic marketing practice).
Phrehdd is offline  
post #18 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 04:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kluken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 103
I recently upgraded my 2 Rokus to Roku 3 and love them, but I still ordered a Fire TV to try it out.
kluken is offline  
post #19 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 04:03 AM
Member
 
shrktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St Louis, Mo
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i ordered one yesterday and should be able to mess with it tonight. Will let you know my hands on opinion tomottor
shrktank is offline  
post #20 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 04:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NetworkTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 15,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 418
The one missing feature that is most likely to push me away from this and toward the Roku 3 is the lack of the headphone jack on the remote control like the Roku 3 remote has. I've been looking for a device for my bedroom TV and being able to easily plug in headphones without cables or add on devices would be very welcome.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NetworkTV is offline  
post #21 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkTV View Post

The one missing feature that is most likely to push me away from this and toward the Roku 3 is the lack of the headphone jack on the remote control like the Roku 3 remote has. I've been looking for a device for my bedroom TV and being able to easily plug in headphones without cables or add on devices would be very welcome.
I recently bought wireless surround headphones (XP400 Turtle Beach, on sale) and a TOSLINK switcher, so I expect to plug in the Fire TV optical output into the switcher. The headphones have dual band wireless which works fine.
imagic likes this.

Greg Lee
GregLee is offline  
post #22 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmedreda View Post

Seems like a good device but this may be a deal breaker for me. I try to use devices I can control with my harmony.
The Fire TV remote uses bluetooth and the Harmony Ultimate is said to support bluetooth. So it might work.

Greg Lee
GregLee is offline  
post #23 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrehdd View Post

Does not support DTS or for that matter any HD audio.
We know that how? The spec says it does HDMI audio pass through up to 7.1.

Greg Lee
GregLee is offline  
post #24 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 06:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
bgarcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Waterloo, IL
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone seen any documentation / information to indicate whether IP Control is supported for this unit? Looks very interesting but I keep all of my devices in an equipment room and control it with my crestron system.

Thx
Bryan
bgarcia is offline  
post #25 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 06:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NetworkTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 15,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregLee View Post

I recently bought wireless surround headphones (XP400 Turtle Beach, on sale) and a TOSLINK switcher, so I expect to plug in the Fire TV optical output into the switcher. The headphones have dual band wireless which works fine.
One of my requirements is no add-on equipment (aside from the actual headphones). The Roku allows me to plug any headphones into the remote, right where I'm sitting. Further, if I'm not mistaken, the main audio mutes when you plug headphones into the remote, though I can't be certain on that one.

Plus, using wireless headphones means one more device to charge.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NetworkTV is offline  
post #26 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 06:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkTV View Post

. Further, if I'm not mistaken, the main audio mutes when you plug headphones into the remote, though I can't be certain on that one.

I can confirm that on the Roku 3. It does mute all other audio.

I don't really care for the earbuds that come with the Roku, but I have a good pair that works well with it.
snowcat is offline  
post #27 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

It seems to be mostly redundant to the Roku, although gaming might be interesting for casual gaming. I'm glad they put an Ethernet port on there, that's the biggest failing of the Chromecast... if your 2.4ghz band is a mess, good luck getting good connectivity to the thing...
Or simple 5ghz dual band antenna to the Chromecast would have fixed that. I already ordered this thing when I found out it has Ethernet and 5ghz dual band support.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #28 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 22
They say it will be the most hackable box. What about jailbreaking to install xbmc.? A quadcore box for xbmc would be awesome.
Paulo72 is offline  
post #29 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 08:19 AM
Member
 
yesnomaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would also like to know if this can run XBMC.

Thank You
yesnomaybe is offline  
post #30 of 132 Old 04-03-2014, 08:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 1392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo72 View Post

They say it will be the most hackable box. What about jailbreaking to install xbmc.? A quadcore box for xbmc would be awesome.

That's what I'm going to do as soon as it's available. I'm barely even concerned with its stock capabilities. XBMC supports everything, and even lowly mpeg2 decoding should be a breeze on this SoC.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
Reply Latest Industry News

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off