Ready for Prime Time: Amazon Fire TV - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2014, 03:58 PM - Thread Starter
Assoc. Editor @ AVS Forum
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 10,407
Mentioned: 150 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4683 Post(s)
Liked: 7829

Today Amazon announced its latest piece of hardware, the Amazon Fire TV. It's a $99 set-top box that competes with the likes of Apple TV and Roku. The new device offers 1080p video along with Dolby Digital Plus surround sound from a large number of sources including Netflix, Prime Instant Video, Hulu Plus, WatchESPN, and more.

 

Amazon's Fire TV competes with Roku 3 and Apple TV at the $99 price point 

 

In addition to streaming video, Fire TV also supports video games. There is even a dedicated controller—the $40 Fire Game Controller. Fire TV launched with over 100 games, and Amazon promises that thousands more will be available shortly.

 

With its $99 price, the new box costs the same as a Roku 3 or Apple TV, and Amazon says the Fire TV has better specs and more features than the competition. That's true for the hardware—Fire TV features 2 GB of RAM, 8 GB of internal storage, a quad-core processor, a USB port, voice search, and an optical-audio output with Dolby Digital Plus.

 

Amazon's Fire TV offers the most features at the $99 price point when compared to Roku 3 and Apple TV

 

The Fire TV is available immediately. Amazon says that it outperforms the competition's offerings and that it's a panacea for budget-conscious gamers. Is that enough to convince you to spend $99 on yet another set-top box? I know I'm curious.

 


 

Like AVS Forum on Facebook

Follow AVS Forum on Twitter

+1 AVS Forum on Google+

EmmaDarknet likes this.

Mark Henninger
imagic is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2014, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 4,423
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Anyone know if will can do 24p for movies?
thrillcat likes this.
primetimeguy is online now  
Old 04-02-2014, 04:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cryofax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No HBOGO? Will this allow sideloading of whatever I want or be a full locked down walled garden version of Android?
johnllc likes this.

The Rangers Guild

Oblivion media (including the home of Valk's Videos)
Fan Fiction (Home of Cryofax & Turin's Tales)
Dark Journeys (The Oblivion mod by the Guild Team)
Cryofax is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 05:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,700
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cryofax View Post

No HBOGO? Will this allow sideloading of whatever I want or be a full locked down walled garden version of Android?

Yes, you can sideload.

https://developer.amazon.com/sdk/asb/app-install.html

Tools to root it completely are probably already available.

Even if it doesn't do everything out of the box with stock software, it's going to be the most hackable streamer/game console ever made.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 440 Post(s)
Liked: 108
It seems to be mostly redundant to the Roku, although gaming might be interesting for casual gaming. I'm glad they put an Ethernet port on there, that's the biggest failing of the Chromecast... if your 2.4ghz band is a mess, good luck getting good connectivity to the thing...
reddice likes this.
BiggAW is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
ahmedreda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Does it support an IR remote?

My home theater
Speakers: 3 JTR 212HTR (LCR), 2 Jtr Single 8LP (S), 2 JTR Triple 12LF (SB)) , 4 Volt 10LX (Atmos)
Subwoofers: 4 Rythmik FV15HP , 5 Crowson Shadow 8 transducers, 3 Buttkicker LFE
Display: JVC RS400
FS: 4xRythmik FV15HP
ahmedreda is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 4,423
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmedreda View Post

Does it support an IR remote?

nope

primetimeguy is online now  
Old 04-02-2014, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,996
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 802
Is it safe to assume that any app/channel that works with the Chromecast will work with this? Or will they have to develope two versions of the same app?
HockeyoAJB is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 06:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
ahmedreda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Seems like a good device but this may be a deal breaker for me. I try to use devices I can control with my harmony.
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetimeguy View Post

nope

My home theater
Speakers: 3 JTR 212HTR (LCR), 2 Jtr Single 8LP (S), 2 JTR Triple 12LF (SB)) , 4 Volt 10LX (Atmos)
Subwoofers: 4 Rythmik FV15HP , 5 Crowson Shadow 8 transducers, 3 Buttkicker LFE
Display: JVC RS400
FS: 4xRythmik FV15HP
ahmedreda is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 07:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,700
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1702
Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyoAJB View Post

Is it safe to assume that any app/channel that works with the Chromecast will work with this? Or will they have to develope two versions of the same app?

 

I'm pretty sure chromecast doesn't run full blown android, so no. But just about anything available already on android should be an easy port, especially anything running on kindle fire. I expect the software library will grow exponentially over the next week or two.


Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 08:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Radio81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Pretty sweet and should run XBMC very well with those specs
Radio81 is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
DavidMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Just ordered one to try out. Can anyone tell if it lets you stream video from your PC or network (NAS)?
DavidMP is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 11:11 PM
Member
 
lament's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidMP View Post

Just ordered one to try out. Can anyone tell if it lets you stream video from your PC or network (NAS)?
Yes, via the Plex app.

oh hi.
lament is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 01:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tank_PD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by lament View Post

Yes, via the Plex app.

Does that include downloaded amazon video files or do you have to use their stupid Unbox player still?
Tank_PD is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 03:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 6,694
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2035 Post(s)
Liked: 1804
Nice specs and features but just one last touch xbmc cool.gif.
losservatore is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 04:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, West of desert
Posts: 2,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 683 Post(s)
Liked: 597
The question is will this stream Amazon better than a 50 dollar Roku 2. Also Dolby Digital Plus can't be sent over an optical connection but the optical connection has uses say for music streaming so you don't have to have the TV on all the time, which is why Apple TV's have them. Why Roku didn't add an optical out is a mystery.
Another thing that makes me wonder is lack of DLNA support. of this device. If this device was 50 dollars they have a winner at 99 dollars not so much so. Now if they has a deal with Prime and and a discounted box bundle that would change things.

"Oooh a puzzle box, I love puzzles"/ "Are you familiar with 'The Lament Configuration"/ "Actually I'm lousy at puzzles..."
tenthplanet is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 05:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phrehdd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 206
This unit looks like a decent step for Amazon into the likes of Roku and ATV3 etc. For me it is a no go for some very simple reasons -

Does not support DTS or for that matter any HD audio. Between my TV, TiVo and Blu Ray player, I pretty much have a full line of net services such as Amazon Prime, Netflix etc. I don't fancy bluetooth remotes as I prefer the traditional IR or RF set ups.

I do how ever look forward to some intelligent reviews on this new item with a contrast and compare to devices already in the market (again Roku, Chromecast and ATV etc.). Amazon should consider unloading these at half price for those that have Amazon Prime to keep them in the Amazon eco system (just strategic marketing practice).
Phrehdd is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 05:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 263
I recently upgraded my 2 Rokus to Roku 3 and love them, but I still ordered a Fire TV to try it out.

Panasonic 65VT60
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-103
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 05:03 AM
Member
 
shrktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St Louis, Mo
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i ordered one yesterday and should be able to mess with it tonight. Will let you know my hands on opinion tomottor
shrktank is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 05:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NetworkTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 16,653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 1178
The one missing feature that is most likely to push me away from this and toward the Roku 3 is the lack of the headphone jack on the remote control like the Roku 3 remote has. I've been looking for a device for my bedroom TV and being able to easily plug in headphones without cables or add on devices would be very welcome.
NetworkTV is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 06:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 4,020
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkTV View Post

The one missing feature that is most likely to push me away from this and toward the Roku 3 is the lack of the headphone jack on the remote control like the Roku 3 remote has. I've been looking for a device for my bedroom TV and being able to easily plug in headphones without cables or add on devices would be very welcome.
I recently bought wireless surround headphones (XP400 Turtle Beach, on sale) and a TOSLINK switcher, so I expect to plug in the Fire TV optical output into the switcher. The headphones have dual band wireless which works fine.
imagic likes this.

Greg Lee
GregLee is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 06:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 4,020
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmedreda View Post

Seems like a good device but this may be a deal breaker for me. I try to use devices I can control with my harmony.
The Fire TV remote uses bluetooth and the Harmony Ultimate is said to support bluetooth. So it might work.

Greg Lee
GregLee is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 4,020
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrehdd View Post

Does not support DTS or for that matter any HD audio.
We know that how? The spec says it does HDMI audio pass through up to 7.1.

Greg Lee
GregLee is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 07:13 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
bgarcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Waterloo, IL
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Has anyone seen any documentation / information to indicate whether IP Control is supported for this unit? Looks very interesting but I keep all of my devices in an equipment room and control it with my crestron system.

Thx
Bryan
bgarcia is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 07:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NetworkTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 16,653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 1178
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregLee View Post

I recently bought wireless surround headphones (XP400 Turtle Beach, on sale) and a TOSLINK switcher, so I expect to plug in the Fire TV optical output into the switcher. The headphones have dual band wireless which works fine.
One of my requirements is no add-on equipment (aside from the actual headphones). The Roku allows me to plug any headphones into the remote, right where I'm sitting. Further, if I'm not mistaken, the main audio mutes when you plug headphones into the remote, though I can't be certain on that one.

Plus, using wireless headphones means one more device to charge.
NetworkTV is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkTV View Post

. Further, if I'm not mistaken, the main audio mutes when you plug headphones into the remote, though I can't be certain on that one.

I can confirm that on the Roku 3. It does mute all other audio.

I don't really care for the earbuds that come with the Roku, but I have a good pair that works well with it.
snowcat is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,660
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

It seems to be mostly redundant to the Roku, although gaming might be interesting for casual gaming. I'm glad they put an Ethernet port on there, that's the biggest failing of the Chromecast... if your 2.4ghz band is a mess, good luck getting good connectivity to the thing...
Or simple 5ghz dual band antenna to the Chromecast would have fixed that. I already ordered this thing when I found out it has Ethernet and 5ghz dual band support.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.3-138 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Streaming Devices: Fire TV Stick (2nd Gen), PS4 (1st Gen), Roku Premier, TiVo Roamio OTA.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 38
They say it will be the most hackable box. What about jailbreaking to install xbmc.? A quadcore box for xbmc would be awesome.
Paulo72 is online now  
Old 04-03-2014, 09:19 AM
Member
 
yesnomaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would also like to know if this can run XBMC.

Thank You
yesnomaybe is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 09:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,700
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo72 View Post

They say it will be the most hackable box. What about jailbreaking to install xbmc.? A quadcore box for xbmc would be awesome.

That's what I'm going to do as soon as it's available. I'm barely even concerned with its stock capabilities. XBMC supports everything, and even lowly mpeg2 decoding should be a breeze on this SoC.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off