Dolby Atmos is Coming to Blu-ray - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 93Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 10:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Writer @ AVS
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,056
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1479 Post(s)
Liked: 2771
Dolby Atmos is Coming to Blu-ray



Are you anxious to try Dolby Atmos at home? The good news is Blu-ray discs will feature the object-oriented surround-sound format starting this year.

-------

Today is definitely Dolby Atmos day in the news. TWICE.com reports that the object-based surround-sound format will be available on select Blu-ray released as early as this fall.

"Dolby said consumers likely won’t need a new Blu-ray player to play Atmos-encoded discs because “existing players that fully conform to the Blu-ray specification will be able to support Dolby Atmos content on a Blu-ray Disc,” - See more at TWICE.com

According to Dolby, the main requirement to enjoy Atmos at home is a compatible AVR. Fortunately, both Onkyo and Pioneer announced new Atmos-compatible receivers today. The format is compatible with HDMI 1.3 and above, as well as current-generation Blu-ray players. It looks like the future of home AV audio is finally here.

Are you planning to upgrade to Atmos?

Like AVS Forum on Facebook
Follow AVS Forum on Twitter
+1 AVS Forum on Google+

Find out more about Mark Henninger at www.imagicdigital.com

Last edited by imagic; 06-23-2014 at 01:05 PM.
imagic is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 10:22 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,073
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 916
Can't wait to know what movies are going to be released with an Atmos compatible audio track.
Mfusick likes this.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #3 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Writer @ AVS
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,056
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1479 Post(s)
Liked: 2771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
Can't wait to know what movies are going to be released with an Atmos compatible audio track.
I bet Godzilla is the first!
Daniel Chaves and MikeTV69 like this.

Find out more about Mark Henninger at www.imagicdigital.com
imagic is online now  
post #4 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 10:28 AM
 
JWagstaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Are there any technical documents released yet for it? Since the specs are already set on blu-rays for it, I wonder if current AVR's will be able to receive firmware updates eventually for Atmos? Or if you could buy a new blu-ray player that decodes Atmos and sends it to your receiver that isn't Atmos capable to give ceiling speakers or whatever.
JWagstaff is offline  
post #5 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Is dolby atmos for HT will be fine with just 5.1 set up? Or any specific numbers of speakers?

I hope ps3 will get the firmware update for dolby atmos.
caloyzki is offline  
post #6 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 10:42 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Writer @ AVS
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,056
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1479 Post(s)
Liked: 2771
Quote:
Originally Posted by caloyzki View Post
Is dolby atmos for HT will be fine with just 5.1 set up? Or any specific numbers of speakers?

I hope ps3 will get the firmware update for dolby atmos.
Supposedly it works with existing Blu-ray players, so it should work with a PS3. The player is "blind," it only sees the bits, the key is in the decoder—that's why a new AVR or processor is needed, but not a new disc format or player.
Scott Simonian likes this.

Find out more about Mark Henninger at www.imagicdigital.com
imagic is online now  
post #7 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
DRaven72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wolverine Lake, Mi
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I wonder if Steaming networks like Vudu instead of the HDX format will have an Atmos selection?

Cool Beans.
DRaven72 is offline  
post #8 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:16 AM
Member
 
WayneJoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I believe that your player will have to be able to bitstream the atmos signal, so PS3's that have to send PCM might not work.
WayneJoy is offline  
post #9 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,131
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 864
what's the recommended version of atmos?


seems like there's a lot of options here, but let's say you have a 11ch receiver. what's better, 7.1.4 or 9.1.2?


I'm assuming 4 is the max for 'height' speakers, and that it would be two in the front and two in the rear?


if you run only 2 height speakers, does the sound that would have gone to the rear height speakers end up going to the rear speakers, or the front height speakers? like should you keep the front height speakers at the front of the room, or move them to directly overhead?
Bigham16 and skads_187 like this.

Last edited by fierce_gt; 06-23-2014 at 11:32 AM.
fierce_gt is online now  
post #10 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,918
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Doesnt Atmos utilize dozens of speakers? How could you achieve this at home, especially in a room much smaller than a theater auditorium?

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #11 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
kevon27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Nice.. Studios can re-re-release movies "Now Encoded with Dolby Atmos".. So all your blu-ray action movies will have to repurchased to get the extra 5 channels.. Oh, hollywood, take our money, please..
kevon27 is offline  
post #12 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
AllenA07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Right now I'm about a year out from upgrading my AVR. My next AVR upgrade will involve some degree trying to future proof it somewhat by making sure it is something that I can expand into. For that reason, I would like to get a AVR that has Atmos, even if I don't intend to initially use it. If I like what I'm hearing about it, then I can consider making the necessary changes to making it work for me. At this point though, I'm just not sold on people buy modules for the top of their speakers.

AVR: Denon 2112
Speakers: EMP Tek e55ti, Center- EMP Tek e56ci, Side Surrounds- EMP Tek e55wi, Rear Surrounds- KLH 911b, Sub- SVS PC12 Plus
Display: BenQ w1070 on a 92in fixed screen
Blu-Ray Player:Samsung BD-EM59C;
Playstation 4, Apple TV, Harmony Remote
AllenA07 is offline  
post #13 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
Can't wait to know what movies are going to be released with an Atmos compatible audio track.
Here's a list of possibilities...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dolby_Atmos
KidHorn is offline  
post #14 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWagstaff View Post
Are there any technical documents released yet for it? Since the specs are already set on blu-rays for it, I wonder if current AVR's will be able to receive firmware updates eventually for Atmos? Or if you could buy a new blu-ray player that decodes Atmos and sends it to your receiver that isn't Atmos capable to give ceiling speakers or whatever.

You really need a new AVR because the AVR has to be calibrated based on your speaker setup. The format isn't channel based like everything else. It's object location based. I suppose it's possible for the Blu-ray player to have a speaker setup like the AVR, but I think that would be pretty high on the unlikely scale.
KidHorn is offline  
post #15 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:29 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,073
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevon27 View Post
Nice.. Studios can re-re-release movies "Now Encoded with Dolby Atmos".. So all your blu-ray action movies will have to repurchased to get the extra 5 channels.. Oh, hollywood, take our money, please..
I'm totally fine with this. Better that we as a consumer to have a choice. It's up to you not to purchase a new release.

I choose to buy what I want AND support Hollywood in the process.
esappy, peschiNL and johnmi like this.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #16 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
what's the short version of atmos?


are we talking more speakers? different configuration of speakers? or what?


atmos in theatres is like 32 channels is it not? just wondering what the home version boils down to, if it's apparently backwards compatible with the hardware...

I believe it will work with any speaker setup although I would think you would need at least 5.1 for any practical use and you really need some height channels to utilize it to its potential.
KidHorn is offline  
post #17 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevon27 View Post
Nice.. Studios can re-re-release movies "Now Encoded with Dolby Atmos".. So all your blu-ray action movies will have to repurchased to get the extra 5 channels.. Oh, hollywood, take our money, please..

It's not channel based. Each sound has a X,Y,Z center coordinate and a size and volume. The receiver will utilize all available speakers to try to place the correct sound in the correct location.


But you will need to buy a Blu-ray that outputs this information.
bulls likes this.
KidHorn is offline  
post #18 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,131
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post
Doesnt Atmos utilize dozens of speakers? How could you achieve this at home, especially in a room much smaller than a theater auditorium?
I was confused as well, more so about how any of this could be the least bit backwards compatible. but from reading the article it appears that what's it's doing is adding the 'height' dimension to surround sound. it achieves this by re-allocating 2 or 4 channels to height speakers. so if you have a 7.1 speaker system now, you could turn 2 of those rear speakers into height speakers instead, and have a 5.1.2(5main, 1LFE, 2 height) setup. obviously the height speakers would need to be relocated.


i'm still unsure of the nitty gritty details, like where these height speakers should be placed if using 2 of them, or 4 of them for that matter. and whether or not a 5.1.2 is preferable to 7.1
fierce_gt is online now  
post #19 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,131
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidHorn View Post
It's not channel based. Each sound has a X,Y,Z center coordinate and a size and volume. The receiver will utilize all available speakers to try to place the correct sound in the correct location.


But you will need to buy a Blu-ray that outputs this information.
this sounds pretty cool for the future. really forward looking imo. 10yrs from now, these same BD's could potentially be used in 15.4.8 speaker systems and still work! the only thing that changes is the processor and number of speakers. neat!
BNestico likes this.
fierce_gt is online now  
post #20 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
what's the recommended version of atmos?


seems like there's a lot of options here, but let's say you have a 11ch receiver. what's better, 7.1.4 or 9.1.2?


I'm assuming 4 is the max for 'height' speakers, and that it would be two in the front and two in the rear?


if you run only 2 height speakers, does the sound that would have gone to the rear height speakers end up going to the rear speakers, or the front height speakers? like should you keep the front height speakers at the front of the room, or move them to directly overhead?

The recommended setup that you can actually implement with 2014 AVRs is 9.4. You replace the 2 heights that neo:x and audyssey currently use with 4 heights that are on the ceiling and close to the corners.
KidHorn is offline  
post #21 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,636
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWagstaff View Post
I wonder if current AVR's will be able to receive firmware updates eventually for Atmos?
Unfortunately not, since it requires new DSP chipsets to run.
David Susilo likes this.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #22 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:42 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,073
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
this sounds pretty cool for the future. really forward looking imo. 10yrs from now, these same BD's could potentially be used in 15.4.8 speaker systems and still work! the only thing that changes is the processor and number of speakers. neat!
This will be true for any object information. Not 100% of what you will hear is purely objects but also legacy channel information 'beds' in 5/7.1 audio.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #23 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 92
the bluray spec say 8 channel 192khz/24bit LPCM and these codecs:
DRA
DD
DD plus
DD TRUE HD
DTS
DTS MA HD
LPCM

so they are going to use the DD TRUE HD part? HDMI 1.4 is limited to 8 channel no matter what so maybe bitstreaming is a needed.

and on the link 5.1.2 is listed as a ATOMES "version" this should work they simply need different DD TRUE HD information not the standard layout. so 8 channel audio plus Layout for atomes looks possible with current BD player and BD spec.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #24 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:48 AM
 
JWagstaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidHorn View Post
You really need a new AVR because the AVR has to be calibrated based on your speaker setup. The format isn't channel based like everything else. It's object location based. I suppose it's possible for the Blu-ray player to have a speaker setup like the AVR, but I think that would be pretty high on the unlikely scale.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
Unfortunately not, since it requires new DSP chipsets to run.
All companies would have to do is have the blu-ray player have the new atmos DSP chipsets and then send the information over LPCM or however they choose to the receiver. The blu-ray player would have to know the speaker set-up.

Last edited by JWagstaff; 06-23-2014 at 11:54 AM.
JWagstaff is offline  
post #25 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,636
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
so they are going to use the DD TRUE HD part? HDMI 1.4 is limited to 8 channel no matter what so maybe bitstreaming is a needed.
Yes, it will be bitstreamed as TrueHD (no such thing as "DD TrueHD").

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #26 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,636
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWagstaff View Post
source?
New TI and AD chipsets in the new receivers that are not in current receivers.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #27 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Aaron Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Castle, IN
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.twice.com/news/components...by-atmos/45748

"Onkyo became one of the first audio suppliers to announce plans to ship audio electronics components with built-in Dolby Atmos decoding. The first three Onkyo products, shipping in August, are the $1,699-suggested TX-NR1030 and $2,399 TX-NR3030 A/V receivers and the $2,499 PR-SC5530 preamp/surround processor. The company will also bring the technology into lower price points with a firmware update, targeted in September, to enable Dolby Atmos decoding by its midprice TX-NR636, TX-NR737 and TX-NR838 networked A/V receivers, which are already available at suggested retails of $699, $899 and $1,199, respectively. - See more at: http://www.twice.com/news/components/onkyo-going-big-dolby-atmos/45748#sthash.5teYhtBi.dpuf"
Aaron Davis is offline  
post #28 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 11:57 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,073
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
Yes, it will be bitstreamed as TrueHD (no such thing as "DD TrueHD").
What sucks is I still have this hope that maybe... just maybe we have been supplied Atmos tracks without knowing on current movies. However almost everything is DTS-MA. No chance on that, Sanjay you think? Probably not but I have to hope for something new now!


Ugh... also.... this news is so awesome but we still have yet to hear of DTS-UHD sound and when that will be available and on what.

Oye.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #29 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Has anyone heard if there will be multiple types of Dolby Atmos encodings (e.g. both lossy and lossless versions) from the various sources or are all Dolby Atmos soundtracks going to be lossless?
HockeyoAJB is offline  
post #30 of 425 Old 06-23-2014, 12:03 PM
Member
 
cembros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So if you setup your speakers to take advantage of Atmos how does that affect other source material, DTSHDMA, TRUE HD etc...
imagic likes this.
cembros is offline  
Reply Latest Industry News

Tags
frontpage

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off