Condo HT/Music/Gaming Setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 08-25-2010, 10:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
minazaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nothing too crazy, but it certainly gets the job done for me! Promised the Mrs. that I'd keep it as minimalistic and unimposing as possible. Would love to hear your thoughts...

Display
Pioneer Kuro 6020FD

Receiver/Amp
Integra DTR-70.1

Speakers
Left/Right: B&W CM-5
Center: B&W CMC-2
Surround L/R: B&W FPM-2

Subwoofer
Velodyne DEQ-10R

Components
All placed in a dedicated media cabinet in the master bedroom closet.
60GB PS3
XBOX360
Wii
Comcast Motorola HD-DVR
HTPC
- Custom built. Running XBMC on Win7 64bit
- Custom built 8TB media server running Windows Home Server. Over 500GB of albums archived in FLAC.

Remote
Logitech Harmony 890


Pics
Fronts (Grills On)


Fronts (Grills Off)




Fronts (Close Up)


CM-5


CMC-2


Rears


Rears (Close Up)


Media Cabinet






minazaki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 07:46 AM
Member
 
Agman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking about doing something similar to this in my new house so I have a few questions.

How do you deal with your Wii in the media cabinet? Do you just have to go there manually and turn it on/off? What product did you use to "forward" the IR commands to the different components

And GREAT setup by the way :-) Looks very sleek and nice
Agman is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 07:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
msmCutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Send a message via AIM to msmCutter Send a message via Skype™ to msmCutter
Where is the cabinet? How do you route your wires?

Very nice stuff sir.
msmCutter is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
The Wii uses bluetooth, no? I don't need to point wii-mote at the console to turn it on...just press the power button...try it sometime...go into the next room and turn it on from the wii-mote...

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
minazaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agman View Post

I'm thinking about doing something similar to this in my new house so I have a few questions.

How do you deal with your Wii in the media cabinet? Do you just have to go there manually and turn it on/off? What product did you use to "forward" the IR commands to the different components

And GREAT setup by the way :-) Looks very sleek and nice

Wii controllers are Bluetooth, so a press of the power button on one of the Wiimotes powers up the Wii. Same for off. PS3 - same, Bluetooth. XBOX360 - RF, but same principle applies.

As for the control of the components, it's all RF via the Logitech Harmony 890 and RF base stations. Pretty much any RF capable remote will help you achieve the same.
minazaki is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
minazaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by msmCutter View Post

Where is the cabinet? How do you route your wires?

Very nice stuff sir.

Wires are run over the divider wall that the TV is mounted on, into the adjacent wall, and into the master closet, where I had a custom media cabinet installed. Will try to take some additional pics when I get home today.
minazaki is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
msmCutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Send a message via AIM to msmCutter Send a message via Skype™ to msmCutter
Would you do the speakers again? I'm big B&W fan but I've only heard big ones.
msmCutter is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 10:09 AM
Member
 
KahunaCanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: White Rock, BC
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice looking setup, great job!

Have you tried pulling the CM5s forward just a few inches? If they were near the end of your unit along with the center channel, I bet you would get more depth in your soundstage...I know it may be a WAF thing though...

Enjoy your setup!
KahunaCanuck is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
minazaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by msmCutter View Post

Would you do the speakers again? I'm big B&W fan but I've only heard big ones.

To be completely honest, the CM-5s were a compromise, as the speakers that I really fell in love with in my price range were the CM-9s. Unfortunately, part of the deal with the wife was no floor-standing speakers in this space. So I went with the CM-5s to leave an upgrade path open in the future (CM-9s up front and CM-5s delegated to surround duty).

Now, I'm no audiophile, but with that said, I've been really pleased with the performance of the CM-5s! They produce a much more full sound than I ever would have expected from a speaker that size. And the FPM-2s are doing great on surround duty.

Overall, I'm really happy.
minazaki is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
its phillip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: fort worth, tx
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Great looking system. I'm kind of wary about the consoles being in there considering how hot they get, but if it works for you, that's cool

its phillip is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
minazaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KahunaCanuck View Post

Nice looking setup, great job!

Have you tried pulling the CM5s forward just a few inches? If they were near the end of your unit along with the center channel, I bet you would get more depth in your soundstage...I know it may be a WAF thing though...

Enjoy your setup!

Hey, thanks! The compliment means a lot coming from someone with a system like yours!

And thanks for the tip - will definitely try what you suggested and bring the L/R forward a few inches.
minazaki is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
minazaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by its phillip View Post

Great looking system. I'm kind of wary about the consoles being in there considering how hot they get, but if it works for you, that's cool

Heat was a huge issue for me when deciding where to put all the components (especially with Integra/Onkyo's reputation for hot AVRs). The only thing in the cabinet that's on 24/7 is the server. The remainder of the components are on only intermittently. Also, the cabinet is rear and top vented, and I generally leave the one door open on each side for more airflow. Thankfully, so far, heat hasn't been an issue.
minazaki is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 04:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
knight_40k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice system! Very clean and modern looking.

I'm most curious to the specs of your HTPC. I also use XBMC, but on Win XP though I plan to upgrade to Win7 64 once I get a 5 Series Radeon for HD Audio capabilities.

What Skin are you using?
What motherboard/CPU are you using?
Do you have a seperate Video card and which one? or are you using onboard?
Do you have many blurays ripped and how are you going about it? (in folder structure? .iso? .mkv?)
knight_40k is offline  
post #14 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifisponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 7,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks fantastic Minazaki! Very tastefully done. The B&W CM series look right at home in your modern dwelling.

Do get to display your speakers naked often? They look best that way I think.
hifisponge is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 08:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
minazaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by knight_40k View Post

Nice system! Very clean and modern looking.

I'm most curious to the specs of your HTPC. I also use XBMC, but on Win XP though I plan to upgrade to Win7 64 once I get a 5 Series Radeon for HD Audio capabilities.

What Skin are you using?
What motherboard/CPU are you using?
Do you have a seperate Video card and which one? or are you using onboard?
Do you have many blurays ripped and how are you going about it? (in folder structure? .iso? .mkv?)

Skin: Cirrus

System Specs:
- ZOTAC IONITX-A-U Atom 330 1.6GHz Dual-Core with ION NVIDIA onboard
- 2GB DDR2

Media server is an Atom, ITX form factor. I love the small footprint and low consumption. Runs WHS like a charm. For HDDs I have 4x2TB. Of the 8TB, about 2TB BluRay and DVD Rips, 1TB of TV shows (downloaded/ripped), and about 500GB of albums archived in FLAC.

Regarding BluRay rips, there's probably better people than me to ask regarding the current best methods. Personally, my format of choice for BluRay rips is mkvs with lossless audio tracks converted to FLAC.
minazaki is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 08:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
minazaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifisponge View Post

Looks fantastic Minazaki! Very tastefully done. The B&W CM series look right at home in your modern dwelling.

Do get to display your speakers naked often? They look best that way I think.

Thanks!

I agree - naked is way better. Unfortunately, there's already been a small mishap with the CMC-2 tweeter. Diaphragm got pushed in by a guest. The local dealer where I bought them got me a replacement tweeter for $75 shipped. Needless to say, the speakers now get "dressed up" whenever we have company.
minazaki is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 08-26-2010, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifisponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 7,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't know what it is about tweeters, they just seem to be finger magnets.

At least the replacement cost was reasonable.
hifisponge is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 08-27-2010, 03:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by minazaki View Post

Unfortunately, there's already been a small mishap with the CMC-2 tweeter. Diaphragm got pushed in by a guest. The local dealer where I bought them got me a replacement tweeter for $75 shipped. Needless to say, the speakers now get "dressed up" whenever we have company.

UUUUUGH !!! You musta been piiiissssed!! I just got a replacement tweeter for one of my energy's for $40 shipped...loose connection inside housing I believe...

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 08-27-2010, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
hikarate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That looks like the perfect condo setup to me. Thanks for sharing!
hikarate is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 08-29-2010, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pcweber111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 3,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Very clean, very stylish, I like it a lot.

lol it's funny that people just can't seem to not touch speaker diaphragms. What is it about them that makes people act like they're 2 years old and just have to touch it?
pcweber111 is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 08-29-2010, 10:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
btf1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice system. I don't understand women. The CM5 on stands are not taking up any less space than the CM9 would.
btf1980 is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 08-30-2010, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifisponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 7,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by btf1980 View Post

Very nice system. I don't understand women. The CM5 on stands are not taking up any less space than the CM9 would.

The footprint is pretty much the same, but visually a floorstander still occupies more territory. There is more air around a standmount.
hifisponge is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 08-30-2010, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
minazaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifisponge View Post

The footprint is pretty much the same, but visually a floorstander still occupies more territory. There is more air around a standmount.

Quote:
Originally Posted by btf1980 View Post

Very nice system. I don't understand women. The CM5 on stands are not taking up any less space than the CM9 would.

Believe me, I'm aware that the footprint is identical. But I'm not complaining...it gives me an upgrade to look forward to!

btf1980, how long have you had your CM9/1s? How do you like them?
minazaki is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 08-30-2010, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
minazaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hikarate View Post

That looks like the perfect condo setup to me. Thanks for sharing!

Hey, thanks! Glad you like it!
minazaki is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 08-31-2010, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
btf1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by minazaki View Post

Believe me, I'm aware that the footprint is identical. But I'm not complaining...it gives me an upgrade to look forward to!

btf1980, how long have you had your CM9/1s? How do you like them?

I've had a CM based system for the last 3 years, starting with the CM7, and later upgrading to the CM9. I think they offer a tremendous value for their price point. I love the series. The CM9 is a great speaker for $3K. Prior to the CM series, I was a 2 channel guy. Had B&W 805s.

Odd thing, I'm reverting back to 2 channel. Sold my CM1 and CMC2 center channel. I'm a music guy at heart. I can live with watching movies in stereo. I'm sticking with the CM9 for now, but I would not rule out moving up to the new 800 diamond series in the near future.

I think all the upgrading from hifisponge is contagious!
btf1980 is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 08-31-2010, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifisponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 7,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by btf1980 View Post

I've had a CM based system for the last 3 years, starting with the CM7, and later upgrading to the CM9. I think they offer a tremendous value for their price point. I love the series. The CM9 is a great speaker for $3K. Prior to the CM series, I was a 2 channel guy. Had B&W 805s.

Odd thing, I'm reverting back to 2 channel. Sold my CM1 and CMC2 center channel. I'm a music guy at heart. I can live with watching movies in stereo. I'm sticking with the CM9 for now, but I would not rule out moving up to the new 800 diamond series in the near future.

I think all the upgrading from hifisponge is contagious!

Hey bt -

Yes, I'm a bad influence, but you know I can only unlock what was already waiting inside you.

So why sell the center and surrounds? Will the cash recouped go to something else for your stereo-only listening?
hifisponge is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 08-31-2010, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
btf1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifisponge View Post

Hey bt -

Yes, I'm a bad influence, but you know I can only unlock what was already waiting inside you.

So why sell the center and surrounds? Will the cash recouped go to something else for your stereo-only listening?

Yes. Getting rid of the multichannel amp too. I'll put the money towards a stereo amp. Classe or McIntosh. I just have to demo Pass Labs to reach a final decision.

Sorry for the slight derail OP.
btf1980 is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 08-31-2010, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifisponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 7,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I haven't heard the Pass myself, but I have yet to find anyone that didn't consider those amps to be among the best, or even THE BEST they have heard. I guess there is something special about their sound. Good luck!
hifisponge is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 08-31-2010, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
minazaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by btf1980 View Post

Sorry for the slight derail OP.

Ha! Are you kidding, I'm relatively new to all of this. Love the discussion, trying to learn whatever I can pick up.

By the way, if you did ever decide to part with your CM9s (and, if only they were piano black), I know of the perfect home where they'd fit right in... with the exception of the occasional curious guest pushing the tweeter diaphragm like a power button, of course.
minazaki is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 09-05-2010, 05:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
btf1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by minazaki View Post

Ha! Are you kidding, I'm relatively new to all of this. Love the discussion, trying to learn whatever I can pick up.

By the way, if you did ever decide to part with your CM9s (and, if only they were piano black), I know of the perfect home where they'd fit right in... with the exception of the occasional curious guest pushing the tweeter diaphragm like a power button, of course.

I think I will upgrade eventually to the new 800 series. It's just a matter of time. For my room size, the 804D would be an ideal floorstander.
btf1980 is offline  
Reply What's Your System Configuration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off