TheAstronaut's First 5.1 setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 10-18-2011, 10:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hey all, I've been admiring all the great set ups here, so I thought I'd finally post the results of my first build. I'm fairly new to HT setups so be gentle in your criticisms, but feel free to give me some pointers.

Unfortunately, my point-and-shoot camera takes somewhat grainy pictures, I'll try to see if I know someone with a better camera so I can upload some better quality pics here.

Display: Sceptre X42 42" LCD
Receiver: Yamaha RX-V765

Center: Polk Audio RM8 (center model)
Speakers: Two Polk Audio RM7's for front, two Polk Audio RM8's for rear.
Subwoofer: Polk Audio PSW110

Media Players: Popcorn Hour C-200 with slimline BluRay drive, AppleTV 2G (jailbroken) with XBMC, Dish Network ViP722k DVR

File Server: AMD Quad-core running OpenSUSE 11.4 with 6TB storage in RAID5 array. Soundproof case by Fractal Designs.

Networking: Gigabit Ethernet, D-Link DGL-4500 wireless router, D-Link 8-port Gigabit switch.

Here is what the whole setup looks like.

Side close-up.

Rear-view, it's actually neater than it looks.

File server with Fractal Designs Define R3 case. Also, one of the best PC cases I've ever owned.

Inside of file server, taken during build process.

Close-up of the receiver.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-19-2011, 02:57 AM

Liked: 11
Sounds good... Looking forward to the pics!
Old 10-20-2011, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter

Pics are now up! Don't have pics of the rears up yet, will get those later today or tomorrow.
Old 10-20-2011, 12:20 PM

Liked: 10
HA I have the same speaker/sub setup. First time I've seen anyone else with that.
Old 10-20-2011, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCUENGR View Post

HA I have the same speaker/sub setup. First time I've seen anyone else with that.