Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 01-23-2012, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Hello everyone,

Been living in my first new home for almost a year now and have decided its time to turn one of my spare rooms into a home theater. By all means though I am no professional at any of this. I am just a 10 year service member so my budget on this build is only around 5k.

I'll provide before pictures shortly but the room this is going into is around 22' by 14'. I'm painting the side walls a red velvet color with egshell enamel finish. The ceiling is being painted a evening hush color which is like a dark gray color. Part of the ceiling has an angle that comes down to the wall and I'm thinking of putting up some medium density fiberboard covered with black fabric to help with the acoustics. Where the screen is going is a window but that entire wall is going to be covered by black velvet giant curtains that I'm making my self. If I want to use the window I can easly pull back the curtains and movie time I'll cover up the window. I plan on having the screen come down electronically infront of the curtain, giving it that cinema look.
I want to do recessed lighting but I have no idea how to do it.

Here is my equipment list that I have selected so far. I hope its ok if I have it all linked to Amazon, I couldn't find the forum rules.
Any advice or comments would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 8350
http://www.amazon.com/Epson-PowerLit...d=N5MO1GD1O18A

Yamaha RX-V671BL 7.1-Channel Network AV Receiver
http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-RX-V671...d=N5MO1GD1O18A

Definitive Technology Pro Cinema 800 System Black
http://www.amazon.com/Definitive-Tec...d=N5MO1GD1O18A

I can't decide between these two screens.

Elite Screens VMAX120UWH2 Electric Projection Screen (120" 16:9 AR)
http://www.amazon.com/Elite-Screens-...d=N5MO1GD1O18A

FAVI 16:9/120-Inch Electric Projector Screen (HD-120)