MoviePoster - Virtual movie poster display software. - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 885 Old 06-16-2013, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by loma View Post

meyer: Is there any merit in being able to open settings from the web remote?

I don't really see what the benefit would be. I do have plans to make more of the settings changes available through the web interface though.
meyer64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 885 Old 06-16-2013, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
loma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post

I don't really see what the benefit would be. I do have plans to make more of the settings changes available through the web interface though.

Thanks. I think that approach could work for me.
loma is offline  
post #363 of 885 Old 06-16-2013, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by loma View Post

Thanks. I think that approach could work for me.

Which settings in particular do you want to be able to change?
meyer64 is offline  
post #364 of 885 Old 06-17-2013, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
loma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post

Which settings in particular do you want to be able to change?

Maybe display and or any other that you consider appropriate.
loma is offline  
post #365 of 885 Old 06-20-2013, 08:40 AM
Member
 
jhsfosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NE
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great job meyer! This is a really cool idea! I haven't downloaded the program yet but I should be able get my hands on a windows 7 box in the next few weeks.

What size of display are most people using with MoviePoster? I am trying to find a cheap display on craigslist but don't know what size to look for.

Also, I don't typically use xbmc to watch movies (usually bluray), but this allows me to load a custom list of posters without the xbmc integration, right? Also, it will be awesome for other events like the superbowl, nba finals, nhl finals, world series, etc.
jhsfosho is offline  
post #366 of 885 Old 06-20-2013, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhsfosho View Post

Great job meyer! This is a really cool idea! I haven't downloaded the program yet but I should be able get my hands on a windows 7 box in the next few weeks.

What size of display are most people using with MoviePoster? I am trying to find a cheap display on craigslist but don't know what size to look for.

Also, I don't typically use xbmc to watch movies (usually bluray), but this allows me to load a custom list of posters without the xbmc integration, right? Also, it will be awesome for other events like the superbowl, nba finals, nhl finals, world series, etc.

I use a 32" lcd I got off of Craiglslist. When I started this project, I wanted it to be nice and cheap until I proved the concept would work well. Including he motion detection hardware, I only spent about $150 on the poster display itself. However, now that I've had it in place for a while, I would eventually like to move up to a larger, higher quality screen. Probably something around the 42" size. I did do the math though. and if you want the posters to display at 'real' poster size, you need a 55" screen.

Yes. You can set up a folder with any images in it that you want to be displayed as custom posters. You can either have them cycle through the rotation at your desired frequency, or manually choose a specific custom poster using the webremote. If you don't want it to cycle through the other posters in the cache, you can 'pause' the poster rotation.
For movies, you can manually add a movie poster to the cache using the webremote. The poster and available metadata will be downloaded from themoviedb.org and stored in the cache for display. The only downside is you wont get any media playback metadata like you would with the xbmc integration. When connected to an xbmc instance, it automatically shows the poster for the currently playing media, even if it isn't in your poster cache and also pulls the audio format, video resolution, start time, end time and player progress.
Custom lists can be used to restrict the posters that are shown to only the ones you want. You can have multiple custom lists configured and enable/disable/switch between them whenever you want.
I had the same thought as you about sporting events. I even did my custom poster testing with GB Packer posters smile.gif. I had a thought to pull data from an rss feed and show live updates about the events too. who knows if i'll ever get that implemented, but it would be cool.
meyer64 is offline  
post #367 of 885 Old 06-20-2013, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I stumbled upon some information today that might make it possible to integrate MoviePoster with a Dune HD media player. However, I don't have one and don't plan on buying one for my personal use so it will make testing a bit difficult. Is there anyone who would be willing to donate one for development?
meyer64 is offline  
post #368 of 885 Old 06-21-2013, 08:13 PM
Member
 
Samuraijones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Meyer, if I had another one I would gladly send it to you. By the way where are you located.

If only I knew more.
Samuraijones is offline  
post #369 of 885 Old 06-22-2013, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuraijones View Post

Meyer, if I had another one I would gladly send it to you. By the way where are you located.
I'm in western Wisconsin. About an hour east of the twin cities. I may try to implement a class to pull info from a dune player just based on the info I found. Would you be willing to test it and provide me with test logs?
meyer64 is offline  
post #370 of 885 Old 06-22-2013, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Samuraijones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will do anything you need. No problem.

If only I knew more.
Samuraijones is offline  
post #371 of 885 Old 06-23-2013, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
dukedallas2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newburgh, NY
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hi meyer64 Version 6 looks great, how can I remove the coming soon banner?
dukedallas2005 is offline  
post #372 of 885 Old 06-23-2013, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: The OC
Posts: 4,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I'm enjoying the new version, just downloaded it today. It seems to be bug free.

How do I get the registration code (I donated previously if that is what is required)?

Robert Clark
Robert Clark is online now  
post #373 of 885 Old 06-23-2013, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Clark View Post

I'm enjoying the new version, just downloaded it today. It seems to be bug free.

How do I get the registration code (I donated previously if that is what is required)?

check your email address that you used for paypal. You should have gotten an email from movieposterapp@gmail.com a couple weeks ago. if not, pm me your email address and I'll make sure you get another one.
meyer64 is offline  
post #374 of 885 Old 06-23-2013, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukedallas2005 View Post

Hi meyer64 Version 6 looks great, how can I remove the coming soon banner?

I didnt make an explicit option to remove the banners. but you can modify them. Under the Images/Themes/themename/Banners directory (replace themename with the name of the theme you are using), just edit the banner you don't want to appear. you can use an imaging program like Paint.NET to just make it a blank, transparent .png.
meyer64 is offline  
post #375 of 885 Old 06-27-2013, 09:37 AM
Senior Member
 
loma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi meyer. Seems pretty quiet. Any update re MB3? I also noticed that bringing up the about screen it does not scroll to the top. Just checking to see if this is intended.
loma is offline  
post #376 of 885 Old 06-27-2013, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Evilpenguinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this was mentioned in another part of this thread, but for those of you who have your displays up on the wall, where are you hiding the computer? Is it just sitting on the floor with a cable going to the LCD display?

Jason
Evilpenguinj is offline  
post #377 of 885 Old 06-27-2013, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilpenguinj View Post

Sorry if this was mentioned in another part of this thread, but for those of you who have your displays up on the wall, where are you hiding the computer? Is it just sitting on the floor with a cable going to the LCD display?

Jason

I have my pc in an adjacent room, where the rest of my theater equipment is, with a cable ran through the wall.
meyer64 is offline  
post #378 of 885 Old 06-27-2013, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by loma View Post

Hi meyer. Seems pretty quiet. Any update re MB3? I also noticed that bringing up the about screen it does not scroll to the top. Just checking to see if this is intended.

I've been working on finishing up the showtimes feature the past few days. Then I need to finish re factoring the code to allow for different media interfaces to be 'plugged in' as they are developed. After that support for MediaBrowser (and possibly plex, dune, etc) should come fairly quickly.
meyer64 is offline  
post #379 of 885 Old 06-27-2013, 12:42 PM
Member
 
Evilpenguinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 26in lcd that will work right now, are there vertical mounts out there that will work? Or is there another way to mount this?

Jason
Evilpenguinj is offline  
post #380 of 885 Old 06-27-2013, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Depending on the hole pattern on the back of your tv, you might be able to use a normal vesa wall mount. I know a lot of the smaller lcds actually have a square mount pattern. So you could simply turn it sideways
meyer64 is offline  
post #381 of 885 Old 06-27-2013, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
loma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post

I've been working on finishing up the showtimes feature the past few days. Then I need to finish re factoring the code to allow for different media interfaces to be 'plugged in' as they are developed. After that support for MediaBrowser (and possibly plex, dune, etc) should come fairly quickly.

Thanks. You may have missed my comment re the non scrolling of the about screen.
loma is offline  
post #382 of 885 Old 06-28-2013, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by loma View Post

Thanks. You may have missed my comment re the non scrolling of the about screen.

I'm not sure i understand the issue, can you explain a little more what you are seeing?
meyer64 is offline  
post #383 of 885 Old 06-28-2013, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
loma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post

I'm not sure i understand the issue, can you explain a little more what you are seeing?

Sure will try. When entering "About" the about screen does not go to the top of the screen on my iPodtouch. I hope this helps.
loma is offline  
post #384 of 885 Old 06-28-2013, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by loma View Post

Sure will try. When entering "About" the about screen does not go to the top of the screen on my iPodtouch. I hope this helps.
ok. I don't have that problem on my iPad. I'll test it out on my daughter's iPod and see what I can do.
meyer64 is offline  
post #385 of 885 Old 06-28-2013, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
loma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post

ok. I don't have that problem on my iPad. I'll test it out on my daughter's iPod and see what I can do.

Thanks. I have set up my iPodtouch as a remote to control my receiver and want to also set it up to control MP that's when I noticed the about issue.
loma is offline  
post #386 of 885 Old 06-28-2013, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by loma View Post

Thanks. I have set up my iPodtouch as a remote to control my receiver and want to also set it up to control MP that's when I noticed the about issue.

What gen iPod is it and what iOS version? I tested with my daughter's gen 2 iPod touch on iOS 4.2.1 and ran into all sorts of issues with pages not loading correctly. but on my old iphone 3gs on iOS 5.0.1 everything seems to work fine. Also works ok on my iPad 2.
meyer64 is offline  
post #387 of 885 Old 06-28-2013, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
loma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post

What gen iPod is it and what iOS version? I tested with my daughter's gen 2 iPod touch on iOS 4.2.1 and ran into all sorts of issues with pages not loading correctly. but on my old iphone 3gs on iOS 5.0.1 everything seems to work fine. Also works ok on my iPad 2.

4th gen - ios 6.1.3
loma is offline  
post #388 of 885 Old 07-01-2013, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
Kgraer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone get the eventghost plugin working... I'm getting a list of errors... I checked IP and ports, also checked firewall.
Kgraer is offline  
post #389 of 885 Old 07-01-2013, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kgraer View Post

Anyone get the eventghost plugin working... I'm getting a list of errors... I checked IP and ports, also checked firewall.

What kind of errors are you getting?
meyer64 is offline  
post #390 of 885 Old 07-01-2013, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
loma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by loma View Post

4th gen - ios 6.1.3

Here is an image:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19298307/about.jpg
loma is offline  
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off