MoviePoster - Virtual movie poster display software. - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 885 Old 05-28-2014, 09:24 PM
Member
 
jeffbab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I believe I just did a Google search for motion posters. Some of them had to be downloaded using a site like keepvid if I remember correctly. Im on my phone right now but ill see if i can find where I got them all tomorrow and will post the links.
jeffbab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 885 Old 05-29-2014, 09:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Chaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA (Valley Village)
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 58
its funny I was at the Americana Pacific Theater and they have LCD movie posters but the way it looked and the way it over lapped movie trailers for the movie posters on display, looked exactly like your system... maybe they are using it, if so I would be like sooo wheres my kick back / credit =p

Daniel Chaves is offline  
post #813 of 885 Old 05-30-2014, 06:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Colton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I would love to find a good source of Motion Posters. I've Googled and didn't find much. Why is it so hard to find them?
Colton is offline  
post #814 of 885 Old 05-30-2014, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colton View Post

I would love to find a good source of Motion Posters. I've Googled and didn't find much. Why is it so hard to find them?

There are links to several motionposters on the 'more' page of the movieposter web site here: http://movieposterapp.com/more.html

Some have direct download links, others will require you to use a tool like the 'Video DownloadHelper' add on for firefox in order to save them.

I have not updated the list in a while so if you have links to others, please let me know and I'll add the link to the web page.
meyer64 is offline  
post #815 of 885 Old 05-31-2014, 06:20 AM
Member
 
jeffbab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here are all the ones I have found. Forgive the site, it is rather crude. I literally just threw it together in the last hour this morning.

http://classicgamescanada.com/motion-posters/

Some of them are rather low res, but most of them still look OK. I guess it will depend on the size of the monitor you are using for your poster.
BCRSS likes this.
jeffbab is offline  
post #816 of 885 Old 05-31-2014, 06:25 AM
Member
 
jeffbab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Actually I don't think the one for Captain America 2 is properly formatted, but I think the rest work OK.
jeffbab is offline  
post #817 of 885 Old 05-31-2014, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
BCRSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffbab View Post

Here are all the ones I have found. Forgive the site, it is rather crude. I literally just threw it together in the last hour this morning.

http://classicgamescanada.com/motion-posters/

Some of them are rather low res, but most of them still look OK. I guess it will depend on the size of the monitor you are using for your poster.

Thanks for putting the site up and have a simple and single place to grab the motion posters at.

I also found one on youtube for Through the Never by Metallica which is pretty cool.

Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 SE (L/R)---Ascend 340 SE Center---Ascend CBM-170 SE (surrounds 9.2)---SVS PB 12 Plus---SVS PC 12 Plus---AVR Denon 4311CI---TV Vizio 70---Unraid 32TB Network Storage---Gateway SX 2370 HTPC with 120 SSD
BCRSS is online now  
post #818 of 885 Old 05-31-2014, 08:20 AM
Member
 
jeffbab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks. I think that video will have the same issue as my Captain America 2 motion poster. When they uploaded it they did it in a widescreen format and added their logo in the corner, so it is impossible to use properly in the software. It ends up not being the proper aspect ratio. Sucks because that is a cool poster.
jeffbab is offline  
post #819 of 885 Old 05-31-2014, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
BCRSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 32
^^
Do you happen to know what res is needed for it to show properly?

Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 SE (L/R)---Ascend 340 SE Center---Ascend CBM-170 SE (surrounds 9.2)---SVS PB 12 Plus---SVS PC 12 Plus---AVR Denon 4311CI---TV Vizio 70---Unraid 32TB Network Storage---Gateway SX 2370 HTPC with 120 SSD
BCRSS is online now  
post #820 of 885 Old 05-31-2014, 09:27 AM
Member
 
jeffbab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
As long as they are in the correct aspect ratio they will work. Some examples of resolutions on the motionposters I have found are 720 high X 400 wide, or 1080 high by 608 wide.

As long as you don't get something that shows up in a widescreen format that is wider than it is high, because then you are going to get the black bars on the sides of the image that will screw it all up.
jeffbab is offline  
post #821 of 885 Old 05-31-2014, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
BCRSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I opened up the through the never in Handbrake and got it to 600 wide x 900, so that should work then. It also cropped out the ign logo, will be adding that to my collection. smile.gif
ellisr63 likes this.

Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 SE (L/R)---Ascend 340 SE Center---Ascend CBM-170 SE (surrounds 9.2)---SVS PB 12 Plus---SVS PC 12 Plus---AVR Denon 4311CI---TV Vizio 70---Unraid 32TB Network Storage---Gateway SX 2370 HTPC with 120 SSD
BCRSS is online now  
post #822 of 885 Old 06-02-2014, 07:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Chaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA (Valley Village)
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 58
wow great list, thanks for your efforts, that really helped a lot.

Daniel Chaves is offline  
post #823 of 885 Old 06-03-2014, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Penetronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Got an old x86 netbook on eBay with Windows 7 starter edition to use in this project. My family is a collector of official Lego movie themes like Star Wars, Lotr. Going to build a shadow box enclosure and cover it with Lego bricks to hang above our mantel display with our various movie scenes. Found some official light bulb Lego blueprints to use as a border for a matinee look. Screen is an old 22 inch Samsung LCD. I'll post pictures as I progress for everyone in case there are other Lego lovers in here.
ellisr63 and bronnie23 like this.
Penetronn is offline  
post #824 of 885 Old 06-03-2014, 06:58 PM
Newbie
 
bronnie23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

 The more I read of this thread, the more I forsee my next project...right after I learn how to use Adobe After Effects for my theatre intro, This seems like a more enjoyable venture with less brain cramping.

bronnie23 is offline  
post #825 of 885 Old 06-03-2014, 08:57 PM
Newbie
 
bronnie23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

 Just downloaded and made a donation, nice so far!    Beginning frame assembly for my monitor and reading the 23 pages I haven't read yet.

 

Thanks

bronnie23 is offline  
post #826 of 885 Old 06-03-2014, 10:58 PM
Newbie
 
Javlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Awesome App just found this as Im putting the finishing touches on my new theatre room. Lucky I have not and gone poster frames yet! thankgod they are so expensive to import to Australia! 

 

Setup a old 20 Inch monitor to debug in corner of room and got my display port adapter for Intel Nuc. Just hope it plays nice with "Extending desktop" and my projector setup =S

 

Looking at 42 inch TV's now might compromise for a 32 as the room isn't the biggest.. Opinions?

 

Also noticed app is missing a force to foreground command, as if you hit the show desktop button on Windows 8 the poster display is minimised. Is there a possibility of a force to top option meyers?

 

Should consider making a simple android control app and charging for it, I would certainly pay. Perhaps a plugin for Yatsee XBMC remote. Also another +1 for raspberry port.

 

I understand time is precious though as a developer so I thank you for all the time spent so far.

Javlin is offline  
post #827 of 885 Old 06-04-2014, 01:13 AM
Newbie
 
bronnie23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

 Ok, I do need xmbc, which I have configured to the same 8080 port and password as listed in the connection settings. Now for the dumb questions. Can I use the remote to dl new posters and trailers on the same pc on which I am running movieposter, or do I need to be running 2 machines?  Trying to figure out how to acess the remote while running xmbc.  Excuse my ignorance on this, as I just installed xmbc after I read of this program on a second pc as my main is being upgraded.

 

 Thanks

 

Brian

I checked firewall acess, I entered my IP on the xmbc settings tab.... File log still says TCP Listener Unable to Connect No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it 127.0.0.1:9090 or my IP when I changed it.

bronnie23 is offline  
post #828 of 885 Old 06-08-2014, 08:53 PM
Member
 
mutheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I ordered at 39 inch LCD from Tigerdirect the other day for $199 which seems to be the perfect size. I have the software up and running just fine...I need to make a donation at some point. Is anyone concerned about the screen burn from the static "Coming Soon" image?

Also, I need to figure out a way to have my LCD TV turn on when power is applied to the unit. So far, no luck.

Thanks for a great app!
mutheater is offline  
post #829 of 885 Old 06-08-2014, 08:56 PM
Member
 
sraptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
mutheater, build a sensor PIR. you have instruction how to do it in the forum.
sraptor is offline  
post #830 of 885 Old 06-08-2014, 08:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Chaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA (Valley Village)
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutheater View Post

I ordered at 39 inch LCD from Tigerdirect the other day for $199 which seems to be the perfect size. I have the software up and running just fine...I need to make a donation at some point. Is anyone concerned about the screen burn from the static "Coming Soon" image?

Also, I need to figure out a way to have my LCD TV turn on when power is applied to the unit. So far, no luck.

Thanks for a great app!

I didnt know LCD can have screen burn? o.O I thought that was only from the glass used on Plasmas and CRTs, but I could be wrong I suppose, however I have never seen it happen.
ellisr63 likes this.

Daniel Chaves is offline  
post #831 of 885 Old 06-09-2014, 07:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Colton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yeah, old Plasma's were notorious for image burn, but that was resolved. Plasma screens are also much warmer than LED screens.
Colton is offline  
post #832 of 885 Old 06-09-2014, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Chaves View Post

I didnt know LCD can have screen burn? o.O I thought that was only from the glass used on Plasmas and CRTs, but I could be wrong I suppose, however I have never seen it happen.
I have never heard of screen burn with a LCD... I have had LCD monitors on for over 12 hrs at a time with the same image and never seen any image burn, but when I do a search they do say they have image burn ib... I guess I have been lucky?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Screen_burn-in

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #833 of 885 Old 06-09-2014, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
My 30" has bad burn in on the left side from my years of web browsing on it. Even with a screen savers.
Killroy is offline  
post #834 of 885 Old 06-09-2014, 11:04 AM
Member
 
jeffbab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have an old Phillips 32" LCD from back in the day when a 32" LCD still cost over $2000 CAD.

I used to have it in my bedroom and it would end up with the taskbar showing up on it after a few hours of use. I think it was more a case of image "retention" rather than burn-in, since if I watched a movie or something afterwards the burned in image would disappear with no trace.

I always thought you never had to worry about permanent burn-in on LCDs.

I haven't had an issue with any modern TV at all, so maybe it is a thing of the past?
jeffbab is offline  
post #835 of 885 Old 06-09-2014, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffbab View Post

I always thought you never had to worry about permanent burn-in on LCDs.

I haven't had an issue with any modern TV at all, so maybe it is a thing of the past?

I knew I had a picture of it somewhere on my archives....

Killroy is offline  
post #836 of 885 Old 06-10-2014, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,184
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 566
back in the day when I worked at mcd's we had lcd monitors where the orders came up. I remember one day the power going down and watching the system reboot and the outline for the menu system(that had probably be on constantly for like 10 000hrs at that point, haha) being clearly defined ghosted over the start up screens.


anyway, wondering if anybody is having issues with the custom lists in the latest version? I never really got around to doing anything until today, and I'm not able to add any titles to any custom lists. I can add movies fine to the cache, but when I try to add them to a custom list, nothing loads up. I've tried with IE(which hardly worked at all) and chrome(which appears to work, just never loads my list of movies to select from). seems to be a browser issue maybe? but I don't feel like installing firefox on a whim.

I'd like to be able to store 'my movies' in a custom list, and still let the program automatically download the new releases. I like letting the new releases play so I can see if there's anything I'm interested in, but I like playing just the ones I own when I have company over so I don't have to go through the whole 'let's watch that one!", "I don't actually have THAT one" thing over and over tongue.gif

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #837 of 885 Old 06-10-2014, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

I knew I had a picture of it somewhere on my archives....

Last time I saw a line like that was the old Sony CRTs... Which you could see from day one if you knew it was there.

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #838 of 885 Old 06-10-2014, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post

Last time I saw a line like that was the old Sony CRTs... Which you could see from day one if you knew it was there.

This is a HP LP3065c 30" screen so its on the high end. It built up over years of use (I think I have owned this thing for almost 6-7 years). I get between 12-16 hours of daily use so I am sure it gets more abuse than the usual LCD panel.
Killroy is offline  
post #839 of 885 Old 06-13-2014, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
dukedallas2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newburgh, NY
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
In between all of this back and forth about specs and etc...

I just want to say this software is probably one of the TOP 3 things I've ever come across for my Theater. I still look at my poster box and absolutely love the fact I'm not hunting down posters from movie theaters etc!
The quality of the images are so good that when people have come to watch a movie and see my poster light box a few of them thought it was really a physical poster they are looking at. Hats off to you Meyer64!!!!


Last edited by dukedallas2005; 06-13-2014 at 05:08 AM. Reason: forgot something
dukedallas2005 is offline  
post #840 of 885 Old 06-14-2014, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
me23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Nice setup Duke! You mind sharing how you made the light box that's encasing the tv? Very cool.
me23 is offline  
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off