MoviePoster - Virtual movie poster display software. - Page 30 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #871 of 898 Old 07-04-2014, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
me23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Meyer did you ever ID that bug that causes it to freeze after playing awhile?
I have this on a dedicated machine, and after running for about a day and a half it will throw the ol BSOD and I have to reboot.
me23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #872 of 898 Old 07-04-2014, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Yes. The freezing issue is fixed for the next release. I'm also happy to say that mb3 integration is almost 100% complete.
Barrettmr and Daniel Chaves like this.
meyer64 is offline  
post #873 of 898 Old 07-04-2014, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
me23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Very nice. I know I donated to you already, but on the next release you SHALL HAVE ANOTHER!!!!
Daniel Chaves likes this.
me23 is offline  
post #874 of 898 Old 07-08-2014, 12:57 PM
Member
 
Penetronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Got the software working just fine on my Windows 8.1 laptop today. Anyone know a reason why this wouldn't work with the miracast integration they added in the dot1 update? I would just need to get a receiver for my poster monitor and configure it as a second screen. Would be nice to have everything controlled from my PC rather than purchasing a second just for the poster cabinet. In fact, I'll try and test and let everyone know the results.
Penetronn is online now  
post #875 of 898 Old 07-11-2014, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
me23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Meyer, don't mean to bug you, but do you have a eta on the next release. A lot of good bug fixes and features added in there, cant wait to see it!
me23 is offline  
post #876 of 898 Old 07-11-2014, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I'm guessing next week sometime. I should have a few hours to work on it each day and get the kinks worked out.
meyer64 is offline  
post #877 of 898 Old 07-12-2014, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
me23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
That's great. Thank you, looking forward to it
me23 is offline  
post #878 of 898 Old 07-12-2014, 07:43 AM
Member
 
eecyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm getting a service unavailable error when I try to go to the movieposter app webpage. Can anyone else get the page to load?
eecyclone is offline  
post #879 of 898 Old 07-12-2014, 05:14 PM
Member
 
Barrettmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by eecyclone View Post
I'm getting a service unavailable error when I try to go to the movieposter app webpage. Can anyone else get the page to load?
Same here, the site seems to be down right now...
Barrettmr is offline  
post #880 of 898 Old 07-13-2014, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrettmr View Post
Same here, the site seems to be down right now...
The site is up again now. Sorry. My web host doesn't seem to be the most reliable.
meyer64 is offline  
post #881 of 898 Old 07-24-2014, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
BCRSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
I'm guessing next week sometime. I should have a few hours to work on it each day and get the kinks worked out.
Any updates on this? Thanks

Tux's Elusive 1099 (L/C/R)---Ascend CBM-170 SE (surrounds 9.2)---SVS PB 12 Plus---SVS PC 12 Plus---AVR Denon 4311CI---TV Vizio 70---Unraid 32TB Network Storage---Gateway SX 2370 HTPC with 120 SSD
BCRSS is online now  
post #882 of 898 Old 07-24-2014, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Sorry guys life events strike again.... Water Pump went out in my car so I only made about half the progress I intended to.
meyer64 is offline  
post #883 of 898 Old 07-24-2014, 07:07 AM
Member
 
Barrettmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
Sorry guys life events strike again.... Water Pump went out in my car so I only made about half the progress I intended to.
Sorry to hear that...hope you got it sorted out now. I find life just keeps throwing these challenges for us, had a mini water related leak event myself this week which completely turned everything I planned upside down so I know how it feels lol


I'll check back in another week or two, can't wait for this next release - having this working with my MB3 setup will be just amazing and well worth a donation to keep things going....


Quick question on the Mediabrowser3 integration, and sorry if this has already been discussed...will we be able to select which user profile will be used for the 'Now Showing' feature. I was thinking about this the other day when I saw in the MB3 dashboard that both my kids were watching movies and thought ok which would show in VMP as the now showing with the end time.


Thanks!
Barrettmr is offline  
post #884 of 898 Old 07-24-2014, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrettmr View Post
Sorry to hear that...hope you got it sorted out now. I find life just keeps throwing these challenges for us, had a mini water related leak
Quick question on the Mediabrowser3 integration, and sorry if this has already been discussed...will we be able to select which user profile will be used for the 'Now Showing' feature. I was thinking about this the other day when I saw in the MB3 dashboard that both my kids were watching movies and thought ok which would show in VMP as the now showing with the end time.
The way that I have it working now, it watches a specific MB3 Client instance, regardless of the user profile that's using it. So anything that plays on that instance will be displayed. For example, you have an MB3 Client in the Theater and you set MoviePoster to watch that instance. MoviePoster will display posters for anything played on that instance, but if your kids watch a movie on a client in their bedroom, it will be ignored. I don't think it would be difficult to watch a user profile instead if that would be preferable.
meyer64 is offline  
post #885 of 898 Old 07-24-2014, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Barrettmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
The way that I have it working now, it watches a specific MB3 Client instance, regardless of the user profile that's using it. So anything that plays on that instance will be displayed. For example, you have an MB3 Client in the Theater and you set MoviePoster to watch that instance. MoviePoster will display posters for anything played on that instance, but if your kids watch a movie on a client in their bedroom, it will be ignored. I don't think it would be difficult to watch a user profile instead if that would be preferable.

May be something to think about for a future release, thinking about multiple screens showing data from different clients may be cool :-) at this rate I may as well build a multiplex theater at home lol... For my needs now I think having the theater client linked would be cool.

Thanks!
Barrettmr is offline  
post #886 of 898 Old 07-31-2014, 07:48 AM
Member
 
sraptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
The way that I have it working now, it watches a specific MB3 Client instance, regardless of the user profile that's using it. So anything that plays on that instance will be displayed. For example, you have an MB3 Client in the Theater and you set MoviePoster to watch that instance. MoviePoster will display posters for anything played on that instance, but if your kids watch a movie on a client in their bedroom, it will be ignored. I don't think it would be difficult to watch a user profile instead if that would be preferable.
Meyer I sent you a private message. Can you check it

Thanks
sraptor is offline  
post #887 of 898 Old 08-08-2014, 05:33 AM
Newbie
 
subzeromk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I need help building a frame for my led tv for the digital poster. Are they any instructions?
subzeromk84 is offline  
post #888 of 898 Old 08-09-2014, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: The OC
Posts: 4,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by subzeromk84 View Post
I need help building a frame for my led tv for the digital poster. Are they any instructions?
I got a large shadowbox from Michaels (40% off coupon) and mounted my lcd in that after drilling some ventilation holes. I`ll post some pics...

Robert Clark

Last edited by Robert Clark; 08-11-2014 at 10:52 PM.
Robert Clark is online now  
post #889 of 898 Old 08-11-2014, 07:50 AM
Newbie
 
subzeromk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Clark View Post
I got a large shadowbox from Michaels (40% off coupon) and mounted my lcd in that after drilling some ventilation holes. I`ll post some picks...
Please do
subzeromk84 is offline  
post #890 of 898 Old 08-12-2014, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
macboyrules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PlexHT JSONRPC

I know a lot of people would love for this to work with Plex. I also know that Meyer has talked about adding the functionality, but is busy working on MP3 integration right now.

My question is, has any one tried pointing MoviePoster to the JSONRPC port on the PlexHT client?

I know this won't work for older Plex clients, but I believe that JSONRPC is still there (albeit in limited form) in the PlexHT client. Because PlexHT is based on XMBC Frodo, would MoviePoster really know the difference?
macboyrules is offline  
post #891 of 898 Old 08-14-2014, 10:45 AM
Member
 
SeveredDime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just thinking out loud.

I wonder if the status can be pulled off the Plex Server instead of the Client?

XBMC is used the theater when I'm home along with Movie Poster. My wife was never a fan of XBMC so I put a ROKU in the theater for her to access movies and tv via Plex Media Server. It would be nice if Movie Poster also functioned with the Plex Server.
SeveredDime is online now  
post #892 of 898 Old 08-14-2014, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeveredDime View Post
Just thinking out loud.

I wonder if the status can be pulled off the Plex Server instead of the Client?

XBMC is used the theater when I'm home along with Movie Poster. My wife was never a fan of XBMC so I put a ROKU in the theater for her to access movies and tv via Plex Media Server. It would be nice if Movie Poster also functioned with the Plex Server.
Yes, the status can be gotten from the plex server. I've done enough research /testing to determine that it can be done in the way you describe. The nice thing is that it won't matter which plex client you use. I did my testing using an old roku running the plex client. I will be making a plex plug in for movie poster when time permits. .. I'm actually considering moving from xbmc to either plex or mediabrowser3 for my own theater.
meyer64 is offline  
post #893 of 898 Old 08-14-2014, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
loma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
Yes, the status can be gotten from the plex server. I've done enough research /testing to determine that it can be done in the way you describe. The nice thing is that it won't matter which plex client you use. I did my testing using an old roku running the plex client. I will be making a plex plug in for movie poster when time permits. .. I'm actually considering moving from xbmc to either plex or mediabrowser3 for my own theater.
Make it MediaBrowser3.
loma is offline  
post #894 of 898 Old 08-14-2014, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,514
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by loma View Post
Make it MediaBrowser3.
I agree, just because I assume you'll keep this program up to date with whatever you personally use


but I am quite happy with mediarbrowser3 for sure.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
post #895 of 898 Old 08-14-2014, 02:52 PM
Member
 
SeveredDime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by loma View Post
Make it MediaBrowser3.
I haven't look at it in quite some time. I'll have to install it tonight and give it a go.
SeveredDime is online now  
post #896 of 898 Old 08-14-2014, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xzener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
Yes. The freezing issue is fixed for the next release. I'm also happy to say that mb3 integration is almost 100% complete.
Thought I would stop by and see how the thread was doing... To my surprise your almost done with the MB3 integration?!?! If you need a tester, let me know. Keep up the great work Meyer64
xzener is online now  
post #897 of 898 Old 08-18-2014, 09:45 PM
Member
 
intertan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how are these tv's getting mounted?
intertan is offline  
post #898 of 898 Old 08-19-2014, 06:05 AM
Member
 
eecyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
Yes, the status can be gotten from the plex server. I've done enough research /testing to determine that it can be done in the way you describe. The nice thing is that it won't matter which plex client you use. I did my testing using an old roku running the plex client. I will be making a plex plug in for movie poster when time permits. .. I'm actually considering moving from xbmc to either plex or mediabrowser3 for my own theater.
This is great news meyer! Although XBMC has great plugins (MoviePoster and Cinema Experience), I have never been a fan of XBMC because I haven't been able to get it to work as reliably as Plex. I have also been doing some experimenting with media browser 3. I wish MB3 had an Apple TV plugin like plex connect. MB3 just doesn't seem as friendly to apple devices.
eecyclone is offline  
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off