MoviePoster - Virtual movie poster display software. - Page 40 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2015, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by loma View Post
@Meyer

When starting MP a black screen with "Coming Soon" flashes and then goes to the "Welcome" screen. How can I remove the flash "Coming Soon"?
Thats just from the UI initializing. I'll see if maybe i can hide it until its fully ready or something.
meyer64 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2015, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 104
My first batch of PCBs for the motion sensors came in today. I should have my first fully assembled unit done in the next day or two.

They turned out pretty good:

harrytasker1 and Joshua Spann like this.
meyer64 is online now  
Old 03-20-2015, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Ok,I'm missing something here.. Are these posters you put on a wall that change poster pics like an active billboard you see on the highway? And what do you use to accomplish this? I'm not understanding the concept here.
LowTech1 is offline  
Old 03-20-2015, 12:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
the_abbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
My first batch of PCBs for the motion sensors came in today. I should have my first fully assembled unit done in the next day or two.

They turned out pretty good:

@meyer64 will you be selling sensors? If so, I want one!
the_abbot is offline  
Old 03-20-2015, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
loma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
Thats just from the UI initializing. I'll see if maybe i can hide it until its fully ready or something.
Thanks. Maybe a startup user customizable screen.

Last edited by loma; 03-20-2015 at 07:30 PM.
loma is offline  
Old 03-20-2015, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Barrettmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
Ok,I'm missing something here.. Are these posters you put on a wall that change poster pics like an active billboard you see on the highway? And what do you use to accomplish this? I'm not understanding the concept here.
Yes - that's how I would say it - way more cool than a paper poster :-) I only have interest for coming soon and now playing features but the trailers and other features seem cool depending on your theater set up and what you want from it!
Barrettmr is offline  
Old 03-21-2015, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_abbot View Post
@meyer64 will you be selling sensors? If so, I want one!

+1 me too!

Al
Al Sherwood is online now  
Old 03-22-2015, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: The OC
Posts: 4,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I get freezes on 2.0 when a trailer starts to play. If I turn off trailers it works fine. Going back to 1.6...

Robert Clark
Robert Clark is offline  
Old 03-22-2015, 12:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Clark View Post
I get freezes on 2.0 when a trailer starts to play. If I turn off trailers it works fine. Going back to 1.6...
Care to elaborate a bit? What happens that indicates that something is frozen? I'd be interested to see a log file as well. thanks.
meyer64 is online now  
Old 03-22-2015, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
JamesVG81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Winston Salem NC
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 27
So have a little issue here. Trying to run dual displays for this off of my HTPC. One display is my projector and the other is a 22inch monitor that the program is displayed on. It works fine till I open a movie in Kodi. It want's to open another instance of it's self or move it's self to the projector. I haven't figured out how to keep this from happening. If I run Movieposter on a separate computer and link it to my HTPC it works with no issues. Just when I try to run it on the same computer I'm trying to run Kodi on also . Thanks for any input any one has on this.
JamesVG81 is offline  
Old 03-22-2015, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: The OC
Posts: 4,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Well I get a black square where the trailer would play. The slides never advance past that. Where do I find the log?

Robert Clark
Robert Clark is offline  
Old 03-22-2015, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Clark View Post
Well I get a black square where the trailer would play. The slides never advance past that. Where do I find the log?
on 2.0 the logs are in your document folder under MoviePoster/Logs.

I have discovered that trailer streaming is broken, probably in all the past releases also. They play just fine after they are downloaded and saved to the cache though. That could be why you are seeing the black box pop up. If you let the program run for a while and save the trailers, it will probably be just fine.
I am working on a fix for the trailer streaming.
harrytasker1 likes this.
meyer64 is online now  
Old 03-25-2015, 07:18 AM
Member
 
rmilyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Any updates? Also I haven't been able to download 2.0 getting error.
rmilyard is offline  
Old 03-26-2015, 03:41 PM
Newbie
 
samcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Meyer,


Love your software. Been using it on a 50" screen just outside my recently finished theater for a couple months now. It works and looks fantastic!
Can you tell me how I can donate and also get a registration code? Maybe put a little something on the first post to let everyone know how to do it...


Thanks!
samcat is offline  
Old 03-26-2015, 03:43 PM
Member
 
rmilyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Getting error when try to download:


File Blocked for Violation.

The file you requested has been blocked for a violation of our Terms of Service.

Still have questions, or think we've made a mistake? Please contact support for further assistance.
rmilyard is offline  
Old 03-26-2015, 06:31 PM
Member
 
impmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilyard View Post
Getting error when try to download:


File Blocked for Violation.

The file you requested has been blocked for a violation of our Terms of Service.

Still have questions, or think we've made a mistake? Please contact support for further assistance.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/17...+2.0+Setup.msi

The link on the site still works.
impmonkey is offline  
Old 03-27-2015, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Could it be a browser issue? I don't see any error message either.. Tested it on multiple devices.
meyer64 is online now  
Old 03-27-2015, 07:17 AM
Member
 
MarsRup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilyard View Post
Getting error when try to download:


File Blocked for Violation.

The file you requested has been blocked for a violation of our Terms of Service.

Still have questions, or think we've made a mistake? Please contact support for further assistance.
For what it's worth, I get the same error using the direct link on the first page of this thread. Going to the Movie Poster App site and downloading there works fine.
MarsRup is offline  
Old 03-27-2015, 07:42 AM
Member
 
rmilyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I after about 30 tries I got it.


So issues I see is the trailer playback doesn't look right. Think I saw something about that but need to read.


And the cache in the webremote doesn't load. Tried IE and Chrome.


Also not sure if you got the timing for Trivia working yet, Seeing some still playing out of order or not playing the q and the a slide.
rmilyard is offline  
Old 03-27-2015, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilyard View Post
I after about 30 tries I got it.


So issues I see is the trailer playback doesn't look right. Think I saw something about that but need to read.
Yes, I updated the included version of mplayer, which caused some problems. you can replace it with the version forma previous release to fix the issue if you want. It will be fixed in the next release though.

Quote:

And the cache in the webremote doesn't load. Tried IE and Chrome.
not sure about this one. does the page not load at all, or are you just not seeing the available posters. There are known issues using IE. So chrome would be the recommended browser to use. Safari also works on Apple devices.

Quote:
Also not sure if you got the timing for Trivia working yet, Seeing some still playing out of order or not playing the q and the a slide.
I have reworked some of the trivia timing. can you send me some examples of slides that are showing out of order? it should show, question, clue, then answer, as long as the files are named appropriately.
meyer64 is online now  
Old 03-27-2015, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by samcat View Post
Meyer,


Love your software. Been using it on a 50" screen just outside my recently finished theater for a couple months now. It works and looks fantastic!
Can you tell me how I can donate and also get a registration code? Maybe put a little something on the first post to let everyone know how to do it...


Thanks!
Glad you like it! i'd love to see pics of your installation.

donations can be made using paypal. there are links on the website http://movieposterapp.com or on the about page in the app. Registration codes get sent out as soon an I can after I get the notice from paypal.
meyer64 is online now  
Old 03-27-2015, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
riddlescott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minnesota, twin cities
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I got to say this little app is gotta be the best idea I’ve seen on AVS for my HT to date. The app site is back up and you can download v2.0 now. I will be donating just as soon as I get a PC ready, the software loaded and a TV for it.


Here is my question. What TV should I get that has the best picture quality with a wide viewing angle? I’m looking for a 40” HD 1080 tv to buy and use in portrait as my movie poster display as well as horizontal as a TV from time to time. I know there are rotating mounts as well. Any recommendations?
riddlescott is offline  
Old 03-27-2015, 05:53 PM
Member
 
rmilyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Installed 2.0 and messing around. The dim doesn't seem to work watching tv shows in kodi. Works for movies.
rmilyard is offline  
Old 03-27-2015, 09:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
the_abbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by riddlescott View Post

Here is my question. What TV should I get that has the best picture quality with a wide viewing angle? I’m looking for a 40” HD 1080 tv to buy and use in portrait as my movie poster display as well as horizontal as a TV from time to time. I know there are rotating mounts as well. Any recommendations?
I just went out and snagged a 32" LED from craigslist for $80. Nothing special or expensive. Just a 1080p tv that works.
the_abbot is offline  
Old 03-29-2015, 04:36 PM
Member
 
rmilyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilyard View Post
Installed 2.0 and messing around. The dim doesn't seem to work watching tv shows in kodi. Works for movies.

Any ideas why not working?
rmilyard is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,623
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 130
meyer64, is the poster window a fixed area or resolution? And can I pull posters from an internal database
collection I have built up? And can the same be done for the top and bottom windows?


I have a 1300+ (and growing) 1080x1600 digital movie poster collection, and am wondering if I could avoid
scaling and using outside sources.


I also have a 12 poster hdtv "accessment" folder, if anyone wants these. They are native resolution for a 1080P
hdtv and they look pretty darn sharp on my 4 year old Samsung. Give me a personal message if anyone is interested.
Stick them on a usb jump drive. They are in a 27x40" poster format to reflect a standard movie poster and they view
at 20x27" on my 40" Samsung. I'd also be interested in hearing what size, and about their visual quality on larger
hdtvs, if anyone would give them a try.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12 test files.JPG
Views:	37
Size:	161.9 KB
ID:	635114  
Tedd is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 06:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedd View Post
meyer64, is the poster window a fixed area or resolution? And can I pull posters from an internal database
collection I have built up? And can the same be done for the top and bottom windows?


I have a 1300+ (and growing) 1080x1600 digital movie poster collection, and am wondering if I could avoid
scaling and using outside sources.


I also have a 12 poster hdtv "accessment" folder, if anyone wants these. They are native resolution for a 1080P
hdtv and they look pretty darn sharp on my 4 year old Samsung. Give me a personal message if anyone is interested.
Stick them on a usb jump drive. They are in a 27x40" poster format to reflect a standard movie poster and they view
at 20x27" on my 40" Samsung. I'd also be interested in hearing what size, and about their visual quality on larger
hdtvs, if anyone would give them a try.
The poster area in portrait mode is designed for posters at 1500 x 1000 pixels as thats the native res of the files it gets from themoviedb.org. They are scaled to whatever resolution display you are running, maintaining the aspect ratio. so your files should work just fine. I am playing with the idea of allowing full screen posters, but I havent finished it yet. The top an bottom areas are fixed.

You can point movieposter to use a folder of images using the 'custom posters' feature. it will just display the files in the specified folder at random. but you wont get any of the metadata, like mpaa ratings, studio, or rottentomatoes scores.
meyer64 is online now  
Old 03-30-2015, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,623
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Thank you for the clarifying those points for me.
Tedd is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 05:59 PM
Newbie
 
samcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
Glad you like it! i'd love to see pics of your installation.

donations can be made using paypal. there are links on the website http://movieposterapp.com or on the about page in the app. Registration codes get sent out as soon an I can after I get the notice from paypal.


Here are two pictures of my installation. Originally I had 2 light boxes in place but when I found the Movie Poster App software I removed the left one and bought the TV on a Christmas sale. It’s a Proscan TV mounted to the wall via a very low profile TV mount that was screwed into the vesa mount on the TV 90 degrees. The left side is the top of the TV. I made a small frame the same profile as the top of the TV and the wall and covered it with black fabric. It’s wedged in between the wall and TV and held in place with industrial strength Velcro. It gives the TV a full square box look.
The TV is about 40 feet from the pc so I used a cat5 vga extender by Sewell to extend the audio and video.
Samcat
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MoviePoster.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	131.0 KB
ID:	636449   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cinema Entrance.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	131.5 KB
ID:	636457  

Last edited by samcat; 03-30-2015 at 06:05 PM.
samcat is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by samcat View Post
Here are two pictures of my installation. Originally I had 2 light boxes in place but when I found the Movie Poster App software I removed the left one and bought the TV on a Christmas sale. It’s a Proscan TV mounted to the wall via a very low profile TV mount that was screwed into the vesa mount on the TV 90 degrees. The left side is the bottom ofthe TV. I made a small frame the same profile as the bottom of the TV and the wall and covered it with black fabric. It’s wedged in between the wall and TV and held in place with industrial strength Velcro. It gives the TV a full square box look.
The TV is about 40 feet from the pc so I used a cat5 vga extender by Sewell to extend the audio and video.
Samcat
Looks great! Very clean install.
meyer64 is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off