MoviePoster - Virtual movie poster display software. - Page 52 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 231Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 2273 Old 08-15-2015, 09:16 PM
GCS
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mechanicsville, VA
Posts: 1,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
Interesting. which OS are you running? Win7, 8 or 10? 32 bit or 64?
8.1 32 bit

XBL Gamertag - blowfish7494

"Pull up your big boy pants and deal with it" - The Wife!

 

"Put on your man suit and fake it" - The Wife

GCS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 2273 Old 08-15-2015, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Is there a way to send the posters to a TV using an existing HTPC without it interfering with the main display/projector and such, or does it require a dedicated pc?
optimatez is offline  
post #1533 of 2273 Old 08-16-2015, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by optimatez View Post
Is there a way to send the posters to a TV using an existing HTPC without it interfering with the main display/projector and such, or does it require a dedicated pc?
I suspect that most folks use a dedicated PC for MoviePoster, but you can set it to only show on a second display if you want to run it on an existing HTPC. You just need a graphics card capable of running two screens and a cable long enough to reach your poster display.
optimatez likes this.
meyer64 is offline  
 
post #1534 of 2273 Old 08-17-2015, 03:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys,

I'm in the process of setting a dedicated display for this app but I'm a little confused in terms of setting it up. I run Plex on a Mac Mini and movieposterapp on a Windows 8 mini pc on the same network. I'd like for the display to only show posters for movies I've added recently, can you give me some input as to how to set this up within the app?

Thank you for the hard work!
whitedwarf is offline  
post #1535 of 2273 Old 08-17-2015, 04:13 PM
Member
 
krh1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitedwarf View Post
Hey guys,

I'm in the process of setting a dedicated display for this app but I'm a little confused in terms of setting it up. I run Plex on a Mac Mini and movieposterapp on a Windows 8 mini pc on the same network. I'd like for the display to only show posters for movies I've added recently, can you give me some input as to how to set this up within the app?

Thank you for the hard work!
I also use the Plex plug-in; I don't think there is a method to automatically determine what movies are in your plex library and ONLY display those movies. The plug-in only works for the "Now Playing" screen when a movie is being shown on the player entered when you set up the plug-in (in your case I guess that's a Mac mini).

But I think it would be a great feature; especially limiting to those movies that were recently added.

However, you can make a custom list of movies and then only display that custom list. That's what I do for movie night when company is coming over and we need to choose which movie to watch. You can (manually) add your recent movies to a list and display only those posters.
krh1009 is offline  
post #1536 of 2273 Old 08-19-2015, 10:45 AM
Member
 
dabsabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just picked up a QuantumByte that came with Windows7 installed. When I open the webremote and try to create a new custom list I just get the spinning/busy icon in the middle of the screen. any ideas?
dabsabre is offline  
post #1537 of 2273 Old 08-19-2015, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabsabre View Post
I just picked up a QuantumByte that came with Windows7 installed. When I open the webremote and try to create a new custom list I just get the spinning/busy icon in the middle of the screen. any ideas?
Are you using IE as your browser? if so, please try chrome, Firefox, or safari.
meyer64 is offline  
post #1538 of 2273 Old 08-19-2015, 11:33 AM
Member
 
dabsabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
Are you using IE as your browser? if so, please try chrome, Firefox, or safari.
ah, yes.. forgot about that.. all is working now.
dabsabre is offline  
post #1539 of 2273 Old 08-19-2015, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
AXLCMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Jersey - USA
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I of course am reading through every post again on this thread in order to master this program and be ready for when I fully implement it with my HTPC and XBMC starting again from page 1 to page 52 and I was reminded that Movie Poster will scrape the Movie Poster for whatever movie you play on XBMC if you settings and connections are correct..

I'm just curious though. Does it matter what naming format I give the movie? Let's say I like to name my movies by some kind of personal system like acronyms such as JurPrk2 (which would be Jurassic Park 2).

How does Movie Poster know which movie that XBMC is playing as far as which Movie Poster to scrape in order to scrape the Movie Poster from XBMC and put it into the Movie Poster cache folder if everyone names the title of their movie differently? Also, does it scrape the poster from that movie database that you have it connect to (I forget, is it mpdb.com?) or from somewhere else?


Last edited by AXLCMT; 08-19-2015 at 02:42 PM.
AXLCMT is offline  
post #1540 of 2273 Old 08-19-2015, 02:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXLCMT View Post
I of course and reading through every post again on this thread from page 1 to page 52 and I was reminded that Movie Poster will scrape the Movie Poster for whatever movie you play on XBMC if you settings and connections are correct..

I'm just curious though. Does it matter what naming format I give the movie? Let's say I like to name my movies by some kind of personal system like acronyms such as JurPrk2 (which would be Jurassic Park 2).

How does Movie Poster know the movie in order to scrape the Movie Poster from XBMC and put it into the Movie Poster cache folder? Also, does it scrape the poster from that movie database that you have it connect to (I forget, is it mpdb.com?) or from somewhere else?

the xbmc / Kodi database contains the IMDB id for the movie. thats what movieposter uses to know exactly whats playing. you can change file names name all you want, as long as Kodi scraped the right data to its database, MoviePoster will know what it is.
By default MoviePoster will try to pull updated posters and metadata from themoviedb.org since they are usually higher resolution, but if for whatever reason that fails, the poster art from Kodi will be shown.
meyer64 is offline  
post #1541 of 2273 Old 08-20-2015, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
AXLCMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Jersey - USA
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
the xbmc / Kodi database contains the IMDB id for the movie. thats what movieposter uses to know exactly whats playing. you can change file names name all you want, as long as Kodi scraped the right data to its database, MoviePoster will know what it is.
By default MoviePoster will try to pull updated posters and metadata from themoviedb.org since they are usually higher resolution, but if for whatever reason that fails, the poster art from Kodi will be shown.
I have to be honest with you. I have Kodi/XBMC installed but I have never actually used it. So my question about XBMC/Kodi is, will it play movies that I ripped from my DVD collection/Blu-ray collection? Those are the movies that I have renamed and I don't think there is any IMDB ID tagged with any of my DVD rips, so that was why I was asking how Movie Poster will know what the heck my Kodi/XBMC is playing and how the heck will Movie Poster identify my personal DVD/Blu-ray rips if I have no IMDB ID associate with my ripped DVD files.
AXLCMT is offline  
post #1542 of 2273 Old 08-20-2015, 09:30 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXLCMT View Post
I have to be honest with you. I have Kodi/XBMC installed but I have never actually used it. So my question about XBMC/Kodi is, will it play movies that I ripped from my DVD collection/Blu-ray collection? Those are the movies that I have renamed and I don't think there is any IMDB ID tagged with any of my DVD rips, so that was why I was asking how Movie Poster will know what the heck my Kodi/XBMC is playing and how the heck will Movie Poster identify my personal DVD/Blu-ray rips if I have no IMDB ID associate with my ripped DVD files.
Yes, kodi can play pretty much any kind of video, including rips you have made of your dvd's and blurays. You have to have your media added to the Kodi library for the MoviePoster integration to work. when you add media to the library, kodi will scrape the metadata, including the cover art, summary, etc. as well as the imdb id, from online sources.
meyer64 is offline  
post #1543 of 2273 Old 08-20-2015, 11:25 AM
Member
 
sucher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Showtimes

Is there any documentation someone can point me to on how to use the "Showtimes" feature?

I assume that it is used to display specific posters along with planned showtimes prior to them becoming "Now Playing" but I have not had success getting that to happen so I am probably doing it wrong (or misunderstand the intent of the feature).
sucher is offline  
post #1544 of 2273 Old 08-31-2015, 05:37 PM
Member
 
DenverMDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Any chance of getting MoviePoster to work with "The Trailers" add-in? Right now when I play a trailer MoviePoster just goes to the home "Great Dane" logo. After the trailer plays it reverts back to normal operation of displaying posters. I see that you are working with CinemaVision? Should we just wait for this type of execution, which honestly looks awesome!
DenverMDM is offline  
post #1545 of 2273 Old 09-02-2015, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
BCRSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
So.. I got an idea in my head and whipped together a quick demo program tonight. I know a couple of these already exist, but I plan to integrate this functionality into the showtimes feature of MoviePoster as well as a standalone application. Its still VERY rough... but not bad for a couple hours effort.

I present the first prototype of the GDC TicketMaker:



Planned features include:
configurable XML defined layout engine.
Image download from themoviedb.org
Automatic ticket creation based on MoviePoster Showtime data.
There used to be a webpage you could print out tickets from but has long gone away.


Also there is an Excel ticket maker that I use. Just thought I would put a screenshot for comparison value. I am not sure if it can be downloaded anymore but I have it saved.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ticket.jpg
Views:	616
Size:	146.5 KB
ID:	920482  

The Elusive 1099 (L/C/R)---DIY Volt 10 (surrounds 9.4)---SVS PB 12 Plus---SVS PC 12 Plus---2 DIY 18's sealed--2 Pico Wreckers (tapped horns)---AVR Denon 4311CI---Emotiva Xpa-3---Behringer Nu6000DSP & Nu3000DSP iNuke---TV Vizio 70---110" Motorized Screen---Epson 8350 Projector---Unraid Network Storage---Gateway SX 2370 HTPC with 120 SSD
BCRSS is offline  
post #1546 of 2273 Old 09-02-2015, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
AXLCMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Jersey - USA
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCRSS View Post
There used to be a webpage you could print out tickets from but has long gone away.


Also there is an Excel ticket maker that I use. Just thought I would put a screenshot for comparison value. I am not sure if it can be downloaded anymore but I have it saved.


Can you provide the link to download this Excel Ticket App?
AXLCMT is offline  
post #1547 of 2273 Old 09-02-2015, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
BCRSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXLCMT View Post
Can you provide the link to download this Excel Ticket App?

Ticket Maker by MikeWH
http://www.jasonhilton.us/ticket.htm


And also the thread it can be found in.
Excel HT Ticket Maker rev. 4.1.2 (9/2/04)

The Elusive 1099 (L/C/R)---DIY Volt 10 (surrounds 9.4)---SVS PB 12 Plus---SVS PC 12 Plus---2 DIY 18's sealed--2 Pico Wreckers (tapped horns)---AVR Denon 4311CI---Emotiva Xpa-3---Behringer Nu6000DSP & Nu3000DSP iNuke---TV Vizio 70---110" Motorized Screen---Epson 8350 Projector---Unraid Network Storage---Gateway SX 2370 HTPC with 120 SSD
BCRSS is offline  
post #1548 of 2273 Old 09-08-2015, 03:19 PM
Member
 
tha_kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I tried the xls file but I'm running office 64 bit and the macro fails. I'll try this is a 32 bit vm and see if it works.
tha_kid is offline  
post #1549 of 2273 Old 09-10-2015, 08:06 PM
Member
 
Penetronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ran into a critical windows phone home error and program closed. Running a Pentium Dual Core with windows 10 8 gb of RAM and I can no longer open the program. Uninstalled, reinstalled, reset pc, tried running as Admin and with with compatibility settings - nothing working. Anyone else experienced this error?

Samsung LN46C630K1F
Samsung HW-C700
Xbox One
Xbox 360 E
Xbox Live: Penetronn
Penetronn is offline  
post #1550 of 2273 Old 09-10-2015, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Penetronn View Post
Ran into a critical windows phone home error and program closed. Running a Pentium Dual Core with windows 10 8 gb of RAM and I can no longer open the program. Uninstalled, reinstalled, reset pc, tried running as Admin and with with compatibility settings - nothing working. Anyone else experienced this error?
chances are something is corrupt in the appdata settings.

try deleting or renaming the MoviePoster folder in appdata\Local, for example: C:\Users\meyer\AppData\Local\MoviePoster

MoviePoster will regenerate the settings the next time its run.
dabsabre likes this.
meyer64 is offline  
post #1551 of 2273 Old 09-10-2015, 10:15 PM
Member
 
Penetronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
chances are something is corrupt in the appdata settings.

try deleting or renaming the MoviePoster folder in appdata\Local, for example: C:\Users\meyer\AppData\Local\MoviePoster

MoviePoster will regenerate the settings the next time its run.
Bingo! Thanks Meyer. Great program and thanks for the continued support.

Samsung LN46C630K1F
Samsung HW-C700
Xbox One
Xbox 360 E
Xbox Live: Penetronn
Penetronn is offline  
post #1552 of 2273 Old 09-24-2015, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
ConradC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL.
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Strange. I started completely from scratch. Posters seem to be downloading, but nothing shows when a movie is playing. Looking though the logs, I see many lines with:

Error Retrieving data from Rotten Tomatoes: The remote server returned an error: (403) Forbidden.

I've attached a copy of the log.

On a side note, I can't seem to figure out what image is used for the top and bottom. I've changed all background images to solid black, but they continue to show up with gradient blue. Thanks in advance!!
Attached Files
File Type: txt logfile.9-24-2015.txt (9.2 KB, 11 views)
ConradC is offline  
post #1553 of 2273 Old 09-24-2015, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
ConradC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL.
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 80
I'm also now seeing:

9/24/2015 6:10:28 PM - Error in GetBipmapFromImage
9/24/2015 6:10:28 PM - Error in GetBipmapFromImage
9/24/2015 6:10:28 PM - Error in GetBipmapFromImage
9/24/2015 6:10:28 PM - Error in GetBipmapFromImage
9/24/2015 6:10:28 PM - Now Playing:
9/24/2015 6:10:28 PM - Error Retrieving data from Rotten Tomatoes: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
9/24/2015 6:10:29 PM - Error Applying default flags: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
ConradC is offline  
post #1554 of 2273 Old 09-24-2015, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 231
What media player are you using? The current 2.0 and 2.1 rc1 releases do have a known issue working with kodi 15. 14 and below should work fine though. This is fixed for the next release which is almost ready. I am planning on finishing up the first release of the ticket maker first though.
meyer64 is offline  
post #1555 of 2273 Old 09-25-2015, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
ConradC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL.
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
What media player are you using? The current 2.0 and 2.1 rc1 releases do have a known issue working with kodi 15. 14 and below should work fine though. This is fixed for the next release which is almost ready. I am planning on finishing up the first release of the ticket maker first though.
I'm on the current 2.0 release.
ConradC is offline  
post #1556 of 2273 Old 09-25-2015, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConradC View Post
I'm on the current 2.0 release.
OK, What media player are you trying to show the 'Now Playing' posters for? Kodi? Plex? Emby? if your using Kodi 15, its not going to work correctly on MoviePoster 2.0. You'll either need to roll back to Kodi 14 or wait for the next release of MoviePoster.
meyer64 is offline  
post #1557 of 2273 Old 09-26-2015, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
ConradC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL.
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
OK, What media player are you trying to show the 'Now Playing' posters for? Kodi? Plex? Emby? if your using Kodi 15, its not going to work correctly on MoviePoster 2.0. You'll either need to roll back to Kodi 14 or wait for the next release of MoviePoster.
Yes, I'm using Kodi 15.
ConradC is offline  
post #1558 of 2273 Old 09-27-2015, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
memmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barrie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 66
With my theater construction officially finished, turned to a couple of other small projects including the poster display. I used an Intel Compute Stick that sits in the back of the wood frame. Seems to work nicely for the purpose.


The Big Bay Home Theater Build Thread
My personal theater build on Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie Ontario Canada
memmo is offline  
post #1559 of 2273 Old 09-27-2015, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
memmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barrie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post
OK, What media player are you trying to show the 'Now Playing' posters for? Kodi? Plex? Emby? if your using Kodi 15, its not going to work correctly on MoviePoster 2.0. You'll either need to roll back to Kodi 14 or wait for the next release of MoviePoster.
Any idea when that next release will be available? Having Now Playing Support with Kodi 15 would be swell.

Nice job on the app. Its terrific.

The Big Bay Home Theater Build Thread
My personal theater build on Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie Ontario Canada
memmo is offline  
post #1560 of 2273 Old 09-27-2015, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Probably a few weeks. There isn't that much more to do, but I want to get the ticket maker finished up. Then I'll get back to MoviePoster. I just need to do a little cleanup testing and package it all up.
meyer64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off