Asrock H77M-ITX Connection Problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-12-2012, 07:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
banquar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

New to HTPC builds and am experiencing a problem powering up a recently completed build.

Case: Streacom FC8 Evo
Motherboard: ASRock H77M-ITX
GPU: Intel i3-3225
Memory: 4GB G-Skill Ripjaws DDR RAM
HDD: 2 TB WD Green Caviar
Power: Wesena Pico PSU 80
ODD: Sony BC-5640H Blu-Ray Slot Load (Internal)

I'm guessing the issue is with the front panel connection with the power header. The power button has two connections (+/-), yet the Mobo has only (+) and (ground) dedicated to the power button. The LED comes on when powering up, but nothing else does. The optical drive and HDD do not power up.

In theory all cables are wired up correctly.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
banquar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-13-2012, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Chimera2345's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Barre, VT
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this will sound weird but try the power pins on the opposite mobo pins (+ to GND, - to +). I've had cases where the pins were switched. Your PSU is obviously working or the LED wouldn't function however I've also had cases where a mobo wouldn't power on if the CPU wasn't seated right, but if you've already done all of the heat piping, thermal compound etc then don't take all that off until you've exhausted other possibilities. I like the design of that case, very neat. Another thing, try unplugging power for both the optical and HDD and see if you get video...are you certain that the Wesena PSU (I'm assuming the 80 is 80 watts) has enough power for an i3 + mechanical HDD + BD drive??


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Chimera2345 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-13-2012, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
banquar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Chimera2345,

I'll certainly give that a try. I found a diagram on 'perfecthometheater.com' that suggests something similar.

http://techsupport.perfecthometheater.com/Manuals/Important%20information.pdf

I am really hoping to avoid removing the heat pipes to check the CPU. Given the design of this case, it was messy business installing these with thermal paste.

The Wesena Pico PSU is 150w, so should be plenty to run the included hardware.

I'll let you know how I go.

Thanks again.
banquar is offline  
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off