TEXAS DIY NOOB NEEDS HELP!!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 02-07-2013, 03:29 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello Forum Members.

I must first start off by saying that I am new to the world of forums and theater rooms. With that said any help that you guys can provide would be greatly appreciated.

So I have recently built a new home that has a dedicated theater room (12'X17') which is upstairs and above the master bathroom. I have already started by painting the walls a dark burgundy and building a riser (6'x9x6") for the second row seating. I am thinking about going with the Epson 3020 due to budget and I am not sure on a decent Surround System (Speakers, AV Receiver) that would also be in my budget of $1000.

I have been looking at floor standing/in-wall systems and I need some type of help on what would be best for the room. Ive heard that in-wall speakers causes sound to travel throughout the walls into other rooms and that is not cool.

Also I am thinking about building my own screen 120" with blackout fabric instead of buying the elite screen. Would the DIY Screen be a good choice and would it provide me with the same quality movies as the Elite Screen.

Once again this is all new and the researching is getting overwhelming.

Thanks in advance. biggrin.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 02-07-2013, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Welcome! Couple of quick questions for you..