Component video splitter 1 tv @ 1080p and one @ 720p? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-23-2013, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nickpowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I hope this is OK topic for this forum. If not please suggest which might be better.

My goal: Keep all my gear in a single room while being able to watch it on multiple TVs with varying resolution.

I know there is a BIG problem doing this with HDMI but I'm thinking I might be able to split HD Component to signal to accomplish this. I have 1 TV that is 1080p and one that is only 720p. I want to be able to split signal from my receiver going to both TVs without loosing resolution on either ( I want to be able to watch it @ 1080p on one TV while simultaneously watching it @ 720p on the other).

Is this possible by splitting the component signal? If not is it possible at all?

Thanks,

Nick
nickpowers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-23-2013, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
myoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickpowers View Post

Hello,

I hope this is OK topic for this forum. If not please suggest which might be better.

My goal: Keep all my gear in a single room while being able to watch it on multiple TVs with varying resolution.

I know there is a BIG problem doing this with HDMI but I'm thinking I might be able to split HD Component to signal to accomplish this. I have 1 TV that is 1080p and one that is only 720p. I want to be able to split signal from my receiver going to both TVs without loosing resolution on either ( I want to be able to watch it @ 1080p on one TV while simultaneously watching it @ 720p on the other).

Is this possible by splitting the component signal? If not is it possible at all?

Thanks,

Nick

Hi Nick:

If you're splitting the signal, both televisions need to be at the same resolution. It would work if both sets were 1080p displays.
myoda is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-23-2013, 02:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nickpowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by myoda View Post

Hi Nick:

If you're splitting the signal, both televisions need to be at the same resolution. It would work if both sets were 1080p displays.

I knew that was the case with HDMI but component video doesn't do a handshake does it?
nickpowers is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-23-2013, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
weaselfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home of the Hawkeyes
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
most newer 720p native resolution TVs will render an incoming 1080p signal, just displaying it at the lower resolution. Check your owner's manual. If your 720 display won't recognize 1080p then you have no choice but to dial back your source resolution.
No handshaking with analog video so the lower resolution TV will have no effect on your source device or other display.

underachiever extraordinaire
weaselfest is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-24-2013, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,641
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickpowers View Post

Hello,

I hope this is OK topic for this forum. If not please suggest which might be better.

My goal: Keep all my gear in a single room while being able to watch it on multiple TVs with varying resolution.

I know there is a BIG problem doing this with HDMI but I'm thinking I might be able to split HD Component to signal to accomplish this. I have 1 TV that is 1080p and one that is only 720p. I want to be able to split signal from my receiver going to both TVs without loosing resolution on either ( I want to be able to watch it @ 1080p on one TV while simultaneously watching it @ 720p on the other).

Is this possible by splitting the component signal? If not is it possible at all?

Thanks,

Nick

I am not 100% sure but I don't thin you can do 1080p over component.
The issues with using HDMI is only that of distance. An HDMI Active Matrix switch will let you view all your display devices at the same time with the same input as well as watch different inputs on different TVs at the same time.. i.e. Wife in the kitchen watching TV you in the other room watching BR player. or both watching TV or BRP. A 4x4 matrix give you 4 different inputs and 4 outputs in any combination simulations.

Remember with analog you will need 5 cables 3 video and 2 audio.
airscapes is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-25-2013, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a similar setup to what you described. One Roku outputting over component to a powered component splitter, which is then connected to one 720p display and one 1080p display. Sadly I can never get the 1080p resolution to stick. It always resorts back to 720p. I'm not sure why as it's an analog signal. I'll play around with it again tonight.
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off