Which surge protector? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-15-2013, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nygiant75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm going to be getting a new Panasonic ST60. I have a Directv receiver, Apple TV, will be getting a JBL sound bar and a blue ray player. I found this surge protector on Amazon which received great reviews. However, is it imperative to have a surge protector that allows coax cable and ethernet cable to also run through it? I was in Lowes yesterday and also saw this one. Any opinions on which one to get or should I be looking at something different?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0000511U7/ref=ox_sc_act_image_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER



http://www.lowes.com/ProductDisplay?partNumber=131973-66906-UTHT8002&catalogId=10051&storeId=10151&langId=-1&productId=3158685
nygiant75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-15-2013, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phil17108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I have used Panamax for years, they can cost a bid more and what they call floor models have add on modules to expand the capabilities of them. Is your DirecTV a SWM or the older 2 wire one, thats how I got to Panamax in the first place they were the only one that had the 2 wire DirecTV system.
http://www.panamax.com/Products/index.php
Phil17108 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-15-2013, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nygiant75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil17108 View Post

I have used Panamax for years, they can cost a bid more and what they call floor models have add on modules to expand the capabilities of them. Is your DirecTV a SWM or the older 2 wire one, thats how I got to Panamax in the first place they were the only one that had the 2 wire DirecTV system.
http://www.panamax.com/Products/index.php

Its the new Genie Directv. I guess it's the SWM?
nygiant75 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-15-2013, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nygiant75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I guess the main question is; do I NEED to run the coax and ethernet or just have all the sources plugged into it and leave it at that?
nygiant75 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-15-2013, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nygiant75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
nygiant75 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-15-2013, 10:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Phil17108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by nygiant75 View Post

I guess the main question is; do I NEED to run the coax and ethernet or just have all the sources plugged into it and leave it at that?

I use to run it all through the surge protector coax cat3 phone and cat5e, now I just plug everything into it and forget it.
The Tripp-lite should be all you ever need.
Phil17108 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-16-2013, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bobpaule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: US
Posts: 1,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Older Panamax models with the analog backlit gauges (pre-outsourced days) for the prosumer.

Shunyata Research for the Class A monoblockistas.

I use two Panamax 5510 Pros with one in "isolated" mode for low current components, while the amps and sub get "balanced" power feed. This seggregation resufts in less EMI/RFI to the amps.

$15 3ft hospital grade cords are sufficient for me, after all I have no plans to change my house's standard 20A wiring anytime soon.
bobpaule is offline  
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

Tags
Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off