LED Strip Lights As Screen Accent Lights? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2013, 12:42 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Terminator840's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Frankfort, KY
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is anybody using LED Strip Lights above or below their screen as accent lights on the screen?

I've been thinking about doing this, and I've been looking for pics. I did a search but I didn't turn up anything.

They have a nice set of LED strips at Parts Express with a programmer and remote for changing colors.
Terminator840 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-24-2013, 12:45 PM
Member
 
rp-knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have them around the top of the stage kind of like foot lights. I will post a picture this evening.
Merry Christmas.

Rick
rp-knight is offline  
Old 12-24-2013, 09:18 PM
Member
 
rp-knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a hard room to photograph with all the dark walls.



Hope you all have a Merry Christmas!

Rick
rp-knight is offline  
Old 12-26-2013, 09:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Terminator840's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Frankfort, KY
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the reply and pics. Rick. Great looking home theater, I love your stage!
Terminator840 is offline  
Old 12-27-2013, 10:50 AM
Member
 
rp-knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks

The grand kids love it too. They run their cars & trucks on it. Later I hope they will sing & dance on it.

Rick
rp-knight is offline  
Old 12-27-2013, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,596
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 963
hard to photograph, but I have some in my room as well. I don't think they'd be suitable for anywhere near the screen though, this is the dimmest setting they have. just WAY too bright, even where I have them, they cast a very noticeable light on the bottom left corner of the screen.




Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 01-03-2014, 09:50 PM
Member
 
wingzfan61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I did this on my front speakers. For the first 30 minutes my eyes kept looking at them but after that i never notice them. I tried blue but it was too bright, the red was alot easier to fade out of sight. I used 12" led usb strips plugged into a usb hub connected to the tv's usb port so they turn off when the tv turns off.

wingzfan61 is offline  
Old 01-10-2014, 11:56 AM
Member
 
hjnaidu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Saskatoon, SK, CA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingzfan61 View Post

I did this on my front speakers. For the first 30 minutes my eyes kept looking at them but after that i never notice them. I tried blue but it was too bright, the red was alot easier to fade out of sight. I used 12" led usb strips plugged into a usb hub connected to the tv's usb port so they turn off when the tv turns off.


Because the human rods are least sensitive to the longer red wavelength, it helps preserve our night vision. That's why flashlights used by amateur astronomers in the backyard are red.
hjnaidu is offline  
Old 01-26-2014, 02:23 PM
Member
 
100pr00f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I did a review on a brand called hitlights where you can buy in strips or in 16' kits...that can be cut down.

These are pretty much my only LED sets Ive tried except some rope lights from walmart.
The ones in review seem pretty bright.

100pr00f is offline  
Old 01-27-2014, 06:54 PM
Member
 
dictator92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sc
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You have 3528 leds 5050 leds 5630 leds higher up in number you go more light output(brighter) they also make double strips leds never tried them but just means more soldering.
dictator92 is offline  
Old 01-30-2014, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,596
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by 100pr00f View Post

I did a review on a brand called hitlights where you can buy in strips or in 16' kits...that can be cut down.

These are pretty much my only LED sets Ive tried except some rope lights from walmart.
The ones in review seem pretty bright.

those what i used.

one thing i noticed(unintentionally) is that bending them sharply, or putting a staple through them instead of around them, can make certain colors not work so well... haha.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 02-02-2014, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Waterbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I'm about to order quite a few from hitlights.com. I liked what I saw on their website. I looked around and from the research I've done, they seem to have a pretty good solution. I need about 75' run around the perimeter of my theater. Hopefully it will turn out well!
Waterbird is offline  
Old 02-24-2014, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Matt Weldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do these lights hold their memory? In other words if you set it to a color you want and then the power supply is plugged into a switched outlet will the same color and brightness come back?
Matt Weldy is offline  
Old 03-05-2014, 04:16 AM
Member
 
Waterbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Matt - My lights just went up yesterday so I did this last night and yes they hold their memory.
Waterbird is offline  
Old 03-05-2014, 07:12 PM
Newbie
 
craftbrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got set of 5050 RGB LEDs in the 24volt version. The remote works fine but doesn't have enough options. I want to upgrade from the 24 to the 44 button remote.
I can't seem to find one that isn't 12 volts. I know they're cheap...am I missing something?
craftbrewer is offline  
Old 03-06-2014, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,596
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 963
what are you missing on the remote exactly? i don't know what version i have, as i just set the color to what i wanted, programmed the on/off command into my harmony, and tossed the supplied remote in a drawer somewhere. i'll take a look at it, and if it's got what you need, maybe we can do a swap? i can't imagine them being tough to ship

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off