hdmi wall plates with cat6 or long hdmi cable - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-12-2014, 03:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jrcrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hdmi wall plates with cat6 or long hdmi cable

i have a two rooms that are 22 meters aparts but would want the other room to receive the same hd source.

what is a better choice? hoping quality wont degrade and will work well with a hdmi splitter

a cat6 cables with hdmi wall plates
http://www.monoprice.com/Product/?pg...mat=4#feedback

or a very long hdmi cable?
http://www.amazon.com/PTC-Premium-ca...0ft+hdmi+cable

thanks!
jrcrunch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-14-2014, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 159
22 meters? That seems too far for an HDMI cable to me. People like the redmere cables, myself included, but they only go up to 60 ft on Monoprice.

I think you're at the balun length here, your first option.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-14-2014, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,081
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 496
But don't use the HDMI wall plate versions of the baluns. Those tend to be cheap, "passive" implementations that are hit-or-miss. If you can run wires, run two cat5e/cat6 lines and use a powered HDMI extender (balun). HDBaseT would be the best solution, but is more expensive.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-15-2014, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,422
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1272 Post(s)
Liked: 1278
fyi, I'm running 30FOOT lengths of hdmi to my projector and a tv in an adjacent bathroom out of my powered splitter, that would apparently be about the max. I rearranged the room, which required me to add a 15ft extension to the cable going to the bathroom, and it no long works properly. it will NEVER work if any of the other displays are on, and it only works about 25% of the time if it's the only display on. I haven't quite figured out what the issue is, it seems to work ok for my computer desktop, but not at all for video.


for a 22 meter run, it's probably cheaper to buy a second source, or maybe one of the wireless transmitters will work over that distance(still pretty doubtful though). that hdbaset or whatever it's called is crazy expensive, and seem to be what's required for those kind of lengths.
fierce_gt is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-25-2014, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jrcrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys, thanks for inputs do you have any product in mind? i only need one source and hoping to have 2 to 3 outputs. IR capability to control source is required. thanks
jrcrunch is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 06-22-2015, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jrcrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry need to bump this. are there any new devices for devices that are far from each other? hdmi to hdmi? or hdbaset but it is still expensvie?
jrcrunch is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-22-2015, 06:14 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 22,780
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1197 Post(s)
Liked: 1089
HDbaseT adapters might get this job done.

Last edited by BIGmouthinDC; 06-22-2015 at 06:21 AM.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #8 of 9 Unread 06-28-2015, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jrcrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post
HDbaseT adapters might get this job done.

thanks for the reply. are they still expensive? where is the best place to purchase them???
jrcrunch is offline  
post #9 of 9 Unread Today, 07:27 PM
Member
 
bpassman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrcrunch View Post
i have a two rooms that are 22 meters aparts but would want the other room to receive the same hd source.

what is a better choice? hoping quality wont degrade and will work well with a hdmi splitter

a cat6 cables with hdmi wall plates
http://www.monoprice.com/Product/?pg...mat=4#feedback

or a very long hdmi cable?
http://www.amazon.com/PTC-Premium-ca...0ft+hdmi+cable

thanks!
At work, we use the MP HDMI over Cat all the time in our conference rooms to run TV\Cable to the TVs. They work great.

Brad
AVR - Pioneer SC-85 Sources - Oppo 103D, FiOS
Speakers - Polk RTI70s (LR), CSI40 (C), FXI30 (R), Velodyne CT100 (S)
PJ - Epson 8350 Screen - 110" Carada Criterion 16:9
Seats - Berkline 090s
Room - 16x22
bpassman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off