behind TV outlet box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By jayn_j
  • 1 Post By oman321
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2014, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Cool behind TV outlet box

hello everyone and thanks for reading. I am looking to wall mount my TV and wanted to have an outlet installed behind the TV for power. I was wondering if someone here might be able to suggest the best option for this. I found a picture of a 4 plug outlet online but i cannot seem to find the maker, does anyone know where to buy this? The link is below for the image. Thanks!


http://media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/23...5fa860a554.jpg
reflexred is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2014, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jayn_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Can't help with that particular outlet, but I've never been accused of holding back on opinions, so...

First, not sure why the box has to be 'perfect' since it is hidden behind the TV. As long as it is clean and functional, it should be form over function.

Second, and much more important, I always say that you should separate the power and the low voltage signals but at least one stud. Never put them in the same cavity as that is just asking for crosstalk issues.

Third, I have never been a fan of low voltage outlets that end in sockets. I prefer the ones that have the 'hairbrush' style where you can pass a cable through. My reasoning is that any place you insert a connector is another opportunity for a failure. Most cable issues are actually connector issues. I would much rather string a longer cable directly from the TV to the AV receiver, or BluRay player.

Take it with whatever grains of salt you choose, but the above has worked well for me.
reflexred likes this.
jayn_j is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,771
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Bam!!! http://www.amazon.com/Pass-Seymour-T.../dp/B009VYDHF6

The original posters linked product does have the brushed pass-thru as you mention jayn_j as does the one that I linked to.

Alternatively you can do a power bridge, you really only need 2 at most actual outlets behind a tv. 2 would only be needed if you are connecting another device like a mini HTPC that you plan to hide behind tv or something like that.
http://www.powerbridgesolution.com/
reflexred likes this.
oman321 is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 12:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,598
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 964
some other options
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2


http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2


I've been using the top one with my projector for a few years now. no problems so far, but I don't really see how a digital cable is going to be affected by electrical interference. probably a different case if you're running speaker wires next to it or something analog like that

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is online now  
Old 08-29-2014, 06:35 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,492
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 735
it is the un-amplified analog signal wires that are prone to picking up the interference, like a subwoofer cable.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I knew I came to the right place! Thank you all very much for the information and @oman321 thank you for finding the exact panel I was looking for, I'm buying it now. Thanks again everyone, tv went on the wall on Friday and now I can get the electrician out to wire some plugs!
reflexred is offline  
Old 10-05-2014, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
The powerbridge works well...I have a similar solution that I plan to wire up myself.
cyberphox is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off